We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Zing Backpackers

156 Victoria St | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (Formerly Travellers Rest)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Zing Backpackers
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

95 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    26
    32
    18
    11
    8
See reviews for
1
35
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (95)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Sicily, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

One of the worst Hostel I've ever stayed. No one clean the rooms, no safety inside. People come and go, and the rooms stay the same, they just give you the sheets. No lockers, I stayed few days and run away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bruce K, Manager at Zing Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately when you stayed with us we did not have lockers. We agree with your complaint about this and now all of our dorms have lockers present. Our hostel is cleaned thoroughly twice a day also bathrooms and communal... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I really love this hostel ! It's quite and nice. Nice staff members ,clean rooms, clean bathrooms! Everybody who likes a quite and small hostel, I would definitely recommend it! Free wifi, TV room, nice kitchen , nice people, big bathrooms, and reception is open until midnight.!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

Me and my boyfriend had a private room here for a week. The room was fairly small but manageable with a handy unit for storing stuff. We also had a heater which was definitely needed as the room was pretty cold. The sink and fridge in the room were also really handy. The room was quite damp however and was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HOng Kong
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

The receptionist is very friendly and helpful. There is no lift. However, the staff helped us to pick up our heavy luggage to our room in first floor. We felt cold at night and asked one more blanket. This spare blanket need to be cleaner.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bruce K, Manager at Zing Backpackers, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you were not satisified with the blanket. We are currently changing all our blankets, so we will can ensure this will not happen again. We are a family run business and we really care about our guests. We walk all our guests to their rooms to ensure they are happy with the room .... More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

We stayed here for 6 nights and it provided a good base to explore Sydney, mainly due to its close location to the King's Cross Underground Stop. If you are prepared for a full day exploring all the centre highlights are walkable (about 45 mins). The hostel seemed pretty geared to long term residents rather than the stopover traveller but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bruce K, Manager at Zing Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi KatnDavid, Thank you for your review! Your feedback is thoroughly appreciated. We do apologise for the inconvenience of having your door broken again, but I am very pleased you were happy with Michaels response to this situation. He is one of our best staff members and we love having him on reception as he is completely customer focused. He... More 

Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

A less than 5 minute walk to Kings Cross station. But there were bars and pubs nearby so it may not be safe for female travellers especially on Friday and weekend nights. There were a group of men sitting right outside my room on a night drinking and chit chatting which was very inconvenient when I needed to use the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bruce K, Manager at Zing Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We value all feedback at Zing. Kings Cross is one of the most famous and well known party and night-life districts of Sydney and we pride ourselves in being so close to all of the action! The fact that we are only 150 meters from Kings Cross train station and 10 minutes from the city... More 

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

The location is excellent, in the heart of Kings Cross with dozens of bars, restaurants and nightclubs in the area; a 15 min walk to the city centre and right next to a train station. Our double-room was clean, spacious and comfortable (for hostel standards). The vast majority of guests are young backpackers with a good amount of long-term residents.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

Clean,happy place.quiet too.Iam more that happy to recomend this hostel.there is nothing bad about the place.helpfull staff and free breakfast.Its working travelrs place so there is quiet after 10pm.I recomend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

This hostel was a great crack! The staff were grand, so helpful! Especailly seamus, the strawberry blonde guy. The rooms & kitchen were very clean. Awesome location, 2 minutes walk from Kings Cross station & tonnes of restaurants/cafes. Good thai food next door! The atmopshere was cool, everyone was friendly and the tv room was really comfortable. deadly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

I really enjoyed my stay at Zing. They organised transport to and from the airport at a fair price. The location is great. about a 30 min walk to the city centre and the opera (goes faster if you take the train) and many small shops and food places closly around. Further, the hostel offers free wifi and breakfast, as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
0.0 mi away
The Original Backpackers Hostel
0.1 mi away
Eva's Backpackers
Eva's Backpackers
#14 of 121 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
#34 of 121 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 stars 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sydney Star Backpackers
Sydney Star Backpackers
#38 of 121 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Funk House Backpackers Hostel Sydney
1.2 mi away
790 on George
790 on George
#39 of 121 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay