We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Zing Backpackers

156 Victoria St | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (Formerly Travellers Rest)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Zing Backpackers
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed here for a few weeks in 2011. I was in a private room and then a dorm. I liked how the private room had a wardrobe and a kitchenette. That was cool. I also liked the condition of the place in general. The showers from what I remember were good. The dorm wasn't as good. It was small... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lizzie S
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

i'm in Sydney since 1 week, i have already try some backpackers hotel before but this one is really great i have take a single room inside their was a lot of space with a washbasin, air conditioning, a fridge and tv. the wifi is free for 100mb connection. the breakfast is including. i really recommend this hotel to all... More 

Helpful?
Thank anthozoi
Ekeren, Antwerpen, Belgium
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here 10 days during the christmasholidays and had a good time. Great location, near the city center and botanical gardens. Very friendly staff and the people who stayed there were easy going and social. It's an older building but everything is clean, nice outdoor area. Very cosy atmosphere. I would definitely stay here again!

Helpful?
Thank Aline L
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015

Zing is a nice little hostel with a decent free breakfast, wi-fi and bathrooms for each room. Good location too. Staff were friendly, when I checked in the guy seemed quite stressed but apologised for the wait and upgraded me to a 4 bed room instead of a 6, without charging me extra. He also gave me more wi-fi as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eloise2312
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015 via mobile

First of all this has potential to be a very good hostel. The free breakfast is great, the rooms are nice, the fridge and the sink are a nice touch and the facilities are all fine. What's not so good... When entering our room all we could smell was damp/mould, the carpet was wet all around the fridge area. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jenniferlouisea

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Sicily, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015

One of the worst Hostel I've ever stayed. No one clean the rooms, no safety inside. People come and go, and the rooms stay the same, they just give you the sheets. No lockers, I stayed few days and run away.

Helpful?
1 Thank Giandiving
Bruce K, Manager at Zing Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately when you stayed with us we did not have lockers. We agree with your complaint about this and now all of our dorms have lockers present. Our hostel is cleaned thoroughly twice a day also bathrooms and communal... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2015 via mobile

I really love this hostel ! It's quite and nice. Nice staff members ,clean rooms, clean bathrooms! Everybody who likes a quite and small hostel, I would definitely recommend it! Free wifi, TV room, nice kitchen , nice people, big bathrooms, and reception is open until midnight.!

Helpful?
Thank Bibejj
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend had a private room here for a week. The room was fairly small but manageable with a handy unit for storing stuff. We also had a heater which was definitely needed as the room was pretty cold. The sink and fridge in the room were also really handy. The room was quite damp however and was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sam B
HOng Kong
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

The receptionist is very friendly and helpful. There is no lift. However, the staff helped us to pick up our heavy luggage to our room in first floor. We felt cold at night and asked one more blanket. This spare blanket need to be cleaner.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank applechanhk
Bruce K, Manager at Zing Backpackers, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you were not satisified with the blanket. We are currently changing all our blankets, so we will can ensure this will not happen again. We are a family run business and we really care about our guests. We walk all our guests to their rooms to ensure they are happy with the room .... More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights and it provided a good base to explore Sydney, mainly due to its close location to the King's Cross Underground Stop. If you are prepared for a full day exploring all the centre highlights are walkable (about 45 mins). The hostel seemed pretty geared to long term residents rather than the stopover traveller but... More 

Helpful?
Thank KatnDavid
Bruce K, Manager at Zing Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi KatnDavid, Thank you for your review! Your feedback is thoroughly appreciated. We do apologise for the inconvenience of having your door broken again, but I am very pleased you were happy with Michaels response to this situation. He is one of our best staff members and we love having him on reception as he is completely customer focused. He... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Eva's Backpackers
#14 of 126 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
#38 of 126 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wake Up! Sydney
#9 of 126 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 942 reviews
The Rocks
Sydney Harbour YHA
Sydney Harbour YHA
#3 of 126 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 826 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#16 of 126 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay