We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sydney Central Backpackers

16 Orwell St | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sydney Central Backpackers
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Even though the rooms are quite small, as well as the kitchen, we had a great time at Sydney Central! The atmosphere is really cool, every night there was something going on. The rooftop is amazing and you can get to the city easily by public transport or walking. We were very very happy and had an amazing time!

Helpful?
1 Thank 2305Denise
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place is not too far from Kingcross station which have a lot of good resturants. There are friendly staffs. If you like night-life and party, you will be happy here. But if you want to take a rest, this place is not suitable.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ploy T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2015 via mobile

Comfortable beds, in a convenient location however, didn't feel very welcome or get much help from anyone. Do not recommend staying here if you want to sleep... There are signs saying be respectful and keep noise down after 10pm but there were people yelling and thumping around until 5:30am making it difficult to sleep

Helpful?
4 Thank Sally S
SydneyCentral, Owner at Sydney Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for comments relating to the comfort quality of our beds. A review of CCTV footage indicates that the Rugby World Cup was being viewed live by a number of guests that became overly excited and for a short time noisy. Whilst no complaint was made by the guest at time of check out we have now rostered 2... More 

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015 via mobile

the place is located in a central area in kings cross. it's nice and clean with a beautiful top roof. kitchen is not too big, might get busy, but tidy and clean, still ok.. there is breakfast and free WiFi (not one of the best). the staff is not well organized; I've been stopped at the reception four times in... More 

Helpful?
Thank giorgio c
SydneyCentral, Owner at Sydney Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear guest We are the new owners of the Hostel as from 22nd May 2015. We agree that security is very important and we have imposed a strict no visitors policy. We have arranged new rosters so that staff will be on our 24 hour reception to assist with guest needs. The Hostel is very popular and gets busy at... More 

Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

Good location as it is within walkable distance to King Cross Station. Room is ok, no bed bug but there is a slight smell (like sewage/cockroach smell) if you open the window. Got personal fridge in the room so it's a plus as I could store my fruit, yogurt. The kitchen is ok to cook but will have to squeeze... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elsie_nguyen
SydneyCentral, Owner at Sydney Central Backpackers, responded to this review

We are the new owners of the hostel since 22nd May 2015. One of our top priority is to ensure that the hostel is clean. We have now identified effective cleaning and pest control products that do not offend. We have appointed a full time Housekeeping Manager and he has arranged meal times for our long term guests. A kitchen... More 

Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

I would NEVEEEEEEEEEEEEER recommend this place to a friend because of one reason: THE RECEPCIONIST... There are many nice hostels in King Cross, avoid the stress here, trust me.. We stayed there as a couple for two nights... The place is very chilled, clean and has a nice atmosphere... Has a rooftop and a kitchen and they allow people to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leonardo B
SydneyCentral, Front Office Manager at Sydney Central Backpackers, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. To the effort to keep our prices as low as possible we advertise breakfast between the hours 7:30am and 9:30am. Due to the high volume of guests it is difficult to make special arrangements for people to eat breakfast outside these times. Our receptionists make every effort... More 

Cairns, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

Me and two of my friends stayed here for the full two and a half months we were in Sydney. The kitchen is quite small but it gives it a cosy feel and there was never a shortage of pots, pans, plates, cups, cutlery etc. We stayed in a 3 bed room which was great, quite small but still enough... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cree W
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

I stayed here for 2 night on my way from the Gold Coast to Melbourne. You get 400MB of internet each day, but it should be unlimited compared to how bad it is. It works, but just half the time. The room i stayed in was a 4 coed room and it was really tight. Just 2 people could stand... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vkk1994
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015 via mobile

It does everything you need a backpackers to do. The kitchen is a bit on the small side considering the maximum capacity of guests. The roof top provides lovely views of the Sydney opera house. Location is good, 5 minute walk to the royal botanical gardens which provide access to the opera house and the harbour.

Helpful?
Thank Rach_11_W
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

I arrived in may and since that day I never moved in another place. the hostel is in a perfect location, 20 minutes to bondi beach an 10 minutes from the city. the people here are friendly, every night there is something to do ( club with free entry , free drinks ) The rooftop is wonderful , perfect for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leonardo S
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
0.0 mi away
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
#38 of 126 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Original Backpackers Hostel
0.0 mi away
Eva's Backpackers
Eva's Backpackers
#15 of 126 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Casa Central Accommodation
0.1 mi away
Funk House Backpackers Hostel Sydney
0.0 mi away
Zing Backpackers
Zing Backpackers
#34 of 126 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay