We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sydney Central Backpackers

16 Orwell St | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Sydney Central Backpackers
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

61 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    14
    13
    13
    9
    12
See reviews for
1
18
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (61)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

This hostel was unorganized and way overcrowded, 16/room with people coming and going at all times. Rooms were messy and the bathrooms were pretty gross as well. The location is very good, pretty central city. Not bad for the true hostel going backpacker but not at all worth the price!

Was this review helpful? Yes
SydneyCentral, Owner at Sydney Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are the new owners of Sydney Central Backpackers effective 22nd May 2015. We note you stayed at the hostel in January this year-the busiest time. We note your comment that there was a 16/room. We have no room with that amount of beds. Our largest room has 6 beds. We have implemented a management plan that deals... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

the place is located in a central area in kings cross. it's nice and clean with a beautiful top roof. kitchen is not too big, might get busy, but tidy and clean, still ok.. there is breakfast and free WiFi (not one of the best). the staff is not well organized; I've been stopped at the reception four times in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SydneyCentral, Owner at Sydney Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear guest We are the new owners of the Hostel as from 22nd May 2015. We agree that security is very important and we have imposed a strict no visitors policy. We have arranged new rosters so that staff will be on our 24 hour reception to assist with guest needs. The Hostel is very popular and gets busy at... More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

Good location as it is within walkable distance to King Cross Station. Room is ok, no bed bug but there is a slight smell (like sewage/cockroach smell) if you open the window. Got personal fridge in the room so it's a plus as I could store my fruit, yogurt. The kitchen is ok to cook but will have to squeeze... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SydneyCentral, Owner at Sydney Central Backpackers, responded to this review

We are the new owners of the hostel since 22nd May 2015. One of our top priority is to ensure that the hostel is clean. We have now identified effective cleaning and pest control products that do not offend. We have appointed a full time Housekeeping Manager and he has arranged meal times for our long term guests. A kitchen... More 

Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

I would NEVEEEEEEEEEEEEER recommend this place to a friend because of one reason: THE RECEPCIONIST... There are many nice hostels in King Cross, avoid the stress here, trust me.. We stayed there as a couple for two nights... The place is very chilled, clean and has a nice atmosphere... Has a rooftop and a kitchen and they allow people to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SydneyCentral, Front Office Manager at Sydney Central Backpackers, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. To the effort to keep our prices as low as possible we advertise breakfast between the hours 7:30am and 9:30am. Due to the high volume of guests it is difficult to make special arrangements for people to eat breakfast outside these times. Our receptionists make every effort... More 

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Cairns, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

Me and two of my friends stayed here for the full two and a half months we were in Sydney. The kitchen is quite small but it gives it a cosy feel and there was never a shortage of pots, pans, plates, cups, cutlery etc. We stayed in a 3 bed room which was great, quite small but still enough... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

I stayed here for 2 night on my way from the Gold Coast to Melbourne. You get 400MB of internet each day, but it should be unlimited compared to how bad it is. It works, but just half the time. The room i stayed in was a 4 coed room and it was really tight. Just 2 people could stand... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

It does everything you need a backpackers to do. The kitchen is a bit on the small side considering the maximum capacity of guests. The roof top provides lovely views of the Sydney opera house. Location is good, 5 minute walk to the royal botanical gardens which provide access to the opera house and the harbour.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

I arrived in may and since that day I never moved in another place. the hostel is in a perfect location, 20 minutes to bondi beach an 10 minutes from the city. the people here are friendly, every night there is something to do ( club with free entry , free drinks ) The rooftop is wonderful , perfect for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

I've been in 3 three hostel in a week and i can say this is the best one. The woman from the reception helped me a lot in many times always smiling. This for me it's the most important thing, find people who are ready to listen you without considering you a number.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

This was definitely a shock and surprise after staying in several hostels all over Australia. After experiencing THE worst hostel I have ever been in (do NOT stay at Asylum Hostel in either Cairns OR Sydney - the owners are giant, thieving cokeheads), this one definitely surpassed all of my expectations and then some. Great, friendly staff that actually answered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
1.3 mi away
Bounce Sydney
Bounce Sydney
#4 of 121 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 515 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wake Up! Sydney
Wake Up! Sydney
#9 of 121 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 781 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eva's Backpackers
Eva's Backpackers
#13 of 121 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Parrot Backpackers
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#5 of 121 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sydney Harbour YHA
Sydney Harbour YHA
#3 of 121 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 740 reviews
0.1 mi away
Funk House Backpackers Hostel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay