We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sydney Central Backpackers

16 Orwell St | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Hotel amenities
Sydney Central Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #52 of 119 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
giorgio c
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    13
    13
    8
    11
See reviews for
Families
0
17
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (58)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

the place is located in a central area in kings cross. it's nice and clean with a beautiful top roof. kitchen is not too big, might get busy, but tidy and clean, still ok.. there is breakfast and free WiFi (not one of the best). the staff is not well organized; I've been stopped at the reception four times in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good location as it is within walkable distance to King Cross Station. Room is ok, no bed bug but there is a slight smell (like sewage/cockroach smell) if you open the window. Got personal fridge in the room so it's a plus as I could store my fruit, yogurt. The kitchen is ok to cook but will have to squeeze... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Porto Alegre, RS
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I would NEVEEEEEEEEEEEEER recommend this place to a friend because of one reason: THE RECEPCIONIST... There are many nice hostels in King Cross, avoid the stress here, trust me.. We stayed there as a couple for two nights... The place is very chilled, clean and has a nice atmosphere... Has a rooftop and a kitchen and they allow people to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SydneyCentral, Front Office Manager at Sydney Central Backpackers, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. To the effort to keep our prices as low as possible we advertise breakfast between the hours 7:30am and 9:30am. Due to the high volume of guests it is difficult to make special arrangements for people to eat breakfast outside these times. Our receptionists make every effort... More 

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Cairns, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Me and two of my friends stayed here for the full two and a half months we were in Sydney. The kitchen is quite small but it gives it a cosy feel and there was never a shortage of pots, pans, plates, cups, cutlery etc. We stayed in a 3 bed room which was great, quite small but still enough... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

I stayed here for 2 night on my way from the Gold Coast to Melbourne. You get 400MB of internet each day, but it should be unlimited compared to how bad it is. It works, but just half the time. The room i stayed in was a 4 coed room and it was really tight. Just 2 people could stand... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

It does everything you need a backpackers to do. The kitchen is a bit on the small side considering the maximum capacity of guests. The roof top provides lovely views of the Sydney opera house. Location is good, 5 minute walk to the royal botanical gardens which provide access to the opera house and the harbour.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

I arrived in may and since that day I never moved in another place. the hostel is in a perfect location, 20 minutes to bondi beach an 10 minutes from the city. the people here are friendly, every night there is something to do ( club with free entry , free drinks ) The rooftop is wonderful , perfect for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

I've been in 3 three hostel in a week and i can say this is the best one. The woman from the reception helped me a lot in many times always smiling. This for me it's the most important thing, find people who are ready to listen you without considering you a number.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

This was definitely a shock and surprise after staying in several hostels all over Australia. After experiencing THE worst hostel I have ever been in (do NOT stay at Asylum Hostel in either Cairns OR Sydney - the owners are giant, thieving cokeheads), this one definitely surpassed all of my expectations and then some. Great, friendly staff that actually answered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week , had a great time. The bedroom was clean and tidy, the location was good only a short walk to the sites of Sydney. Staff were efficient and helpful, kitchen was a bit small but had all the facilities. Other guests were fun and the hostel organized nights out, at some of the local bars... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities