We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Funk House Backpackers Hostel Sydney

23 Darlinghurst Rd | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Funk House Backpackers Hostel Sydney
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my partner had a private room. It was stuck right in the corner at the end of the corridor, it had a fridge which was vile! I almost vomited from the smell when i opened it, there was mould and spilt juice or sauce on the inside. The whole place had a funky smell to it so I'm... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kirsty P
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Bedrooms were basic but clean and tidy with a television, fan and even a mini fridge. Bathrooms however were rather dirty. Staff were all friendly and helpful but the reception was a bit disorderly and very busy at times. Very close to Kings Cross train station (about 300 meters) and about a 30 minute walk to the Opera House. Great... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank megthemooch
bangkok
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015

many diferent kind of big insects on the room. horrible, disgusting!!! room are like no clean. smell very very bad. it's a shame to rent this kind of room on developped country. bathroom are terrible, I was lost on many africain countries and it was cleaner. the location is ok but I am sure than you can find something else

Helpful?
Thank GLADIATOR1234

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Greater Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2015

Stayed at this hostel for 6 months on/off during my time in Sydney. Very homely,Relaxed hostel with friendly staff and good facilities. Big rooftop which is excellent to chill out and have a beer in the sun.

Helpful?
1 Thank Colin M
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2015 via mobile

This place was smelly and dirty. We didnt cook here due to the grimy kitchen. Plus you have to leave your room in reception to even get a chopping board to use!! It stunk of weed all the time despite being warned the smoke detectors were so sensitive we couldnt even spray deodrant in our rooms!!! Only good thing was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alex K
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2015 via mobile

The hostel has a good location and the staff is friendly, however imo the standards there are fairly low. The hostel has a weird smell to it and everything from the carpets to the bathrooms is dirty and sticky. I know that there are cockroaches in Sydney, but this building has a lot of them. There were at least three... More 

Helpful?
Thank Selina_Strayed
Port Douglas, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2015

I stayed several times at this very friendly backpacker. It has a "family" atmosphere. ALL the Staff very friendly, helpful any time. Very well located close to train station, shops. The place is very clean/ clean sheet given at arrival if not on the beds. Bathroom and kitchen also very clean. Dishes provided. Free breakfast.Transport from the airport iarranged with... More 

Helpful?
Thank claudia s
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2015 via mobile

Firstly, the free weekly bbq was good :) However...It was filthy everywhere! The rooms, corridors and kitchen smelt damp and were ingrained with dirt. The kitchen was unusable due to too much dirt and therefore so many flies. There was noise throughout the whole night every night, e.g. people playing guitar and singing every night until at least 3am. It's... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank HolidayLover124
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2015

Where to begin? When we arrived at the reception, the first person we talked to couldn't find our booking so we had to wait 10mijn outside in the cold for the boss to arrive. The smell inside the hostel is awful, as if the windows were never left open... The carpet was dirty, full of disgusting spots (food or grease....)... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Manon E
MarcusFunk, Manager at Funk House Backpackers Hostel Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Manon, If we recall correctly, you did arrive before our reception opened, so the person to greet you would have been our night security manager. We're unsure why you waited outside in the cold as we allow our guests yet to check-in to wait inside at our reception area. You were one of the last bookings we could accept... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2015

We thought it was a nice place to stay but it was a nightmare. First, we arrived and we received our blankets that seemed to be dirty. Then, we went to our room (three bedroom room) an it smelt like if nobody cleaned it never before. The carpet was really dirty and disgusting. We almost got sick with that smell.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diana L
MarcusFunk, Manager at Funk House Backpackers Hostel Sydney, responded to this review

Hi, Sorry to hear the hostel wasn't up to your standard. I would like to address a couple of things you have mentioned in your review. The sheets you receive at check-in are fresh and washed after every use, same with the blankets that are provided on all guests bed. We also have professional cleaners in everyday to clean all... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
1:19
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Jackaroo Hostel
#28 of 126 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#16 of 126 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 318 reviews
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
#38 of 126 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wake Up! Sydney
#9 of 126 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 933 reviews
Eva's Backpackers
#15 of 126 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay