We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 132 Sydney accommodations

Westend Backpackers

3.5 of 5 Hostel   |   412 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Footprints Westend)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Westend Backpackers to your Saves list
Westend Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
  • Overview
  • Reviews (193)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (61)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (28)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    24
    21
    38
    80
See reviews for
11
35
59
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

great staff, good people, good area, good times, central to train stations, markets centers, various cultures, many restaurants, museums, lots of random shops for a good a buy, safe area, very old part of australia.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Queenstown, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great central location, a lot of partying, easy to make new friends (great place for people travelling on their own) free rice and pasta! Not the best option for tidy people and families though as rooms are a bit messy and it's quite noisy as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
nomads w, Manager at Westend Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and wish you safe travels :) see you next time :) More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The overall experience was terrible. The shower didn't work properly. The housekeeping just came in to your room, so no privacy. Also the elevator takes ages to go up and down. At night you get at least 6 times an intercom about drunk activities. When we decided to travel further and our bus leaves at 6 pm, the staff wouldn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
nomads w, Manager at Westend Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving your feedback. It was horrible to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us at Westend backpackers. Our Housekeepers do have to access shared rooms daily to ensure the rooms are cleaned for new guests arriving however they will always knock prior to entering, this is a standard process for all hostels in Australia. We offer... More

Bunbury, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Worst hostel I've stayed in! Common areas, room & bathroom were dirty, a cleaner does come through the room daily however all that is done is a light vacuum and spray the toilet with spray & wipe. There was mould on the walls in the bathroom and the floor and walls of the shower were absolutely filthy and in need... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
nomads w, Manager at Westend Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving your feedback :) To start with our cleaners Deep clean the showers, basin and toilet daily to ensure they are up to standards however we will look into this . No one like suspicious white stains, if this was brought to our attention i'm sure we could of serviced this for you. We are also in the... More

Orange, Australia
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
42 hotel reviews
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I think this hostel is underrated on TripAdvisor. There was something wrong with one of the elevators and the other was very slow. I stayed on the 6th floor, so this was a big problem, but other than that, I had a comfortable stay there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
nomads w, Manager at Westend Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving your feed back on trip advisor and for staying at Westend backpackers :) Unfortunately during your stay our secondary lift was out of order which meant the primary lift was working overtime and did unfortunately take its time to access all floors, We apologise for the inconvenience but stoked that you enjoyed other aspects of your stay.... More

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for 5 nights at the start of November 2013. I chose the hostel due to its central location and easy access to the train station. I spent 2 nights in a 4 bed dorm and 3 in a 6 bed dorm. The dorms were kept clean and the beds were comfy enough. However, the rest of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
nomads w, Manager at Westend Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving your feedback :) More

Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

where to begin?! myself and a friend booked into the 32 bed dorm for a week. it was a wee bit smelly from someone's shoes but i think that pretty much was the worst of it. just open a window or the door for a while and no bother. the room was always quiet to allow for those who slept... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
nomads w, Manager at Westend Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your detailed feedback, We loved reading about your stay with us ! we pride ourselves on offering more then just a bed and en experience to suit any type of backpacker. Thanks again I guess we will see you soon :) More

Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The hostel is cheap, but you get what you pay for. We had a private room, not the nicest but it was ok. Clean sheets and all. But the bathroom was across the hall, witch sucked, beacuse we still had to get dressed to go to the toilet at night... One thing we really didn't like was that we saw... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
nomads w, Manager at Westend Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving your review with us :) We understand that the external bathroom can be frustrating at times but its better then no bathroom at all :) We do offer an ensuited private room for just an extra $10 per night :0. We apologise for the disruption of your privacy and for your information This particular staff member is... More

London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Nomads Sydney is in a pretty good location along with a few other hostels, with about a half an hour walk to the harbour and main attractions and huge shopping malls and convenient stores on the door step. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the travel information and facilities were really good. However the building is very cramped... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
nomads w, Manager at Westend Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving your review. Our secondary lift currently out of order definitely affects us and unfortunately its not an overnight fix. We apologise for any inconvenience but We are glad you were satisfied with the staff and other aspects of the hostel :) See you next time :) More

Orange, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I stay in private ensuit but someone come in my room and stolen my perfume. Toilet light broken. I ask staff to get someone to fix but none. My family have to took shower in the dark. When see one of staff at reception, he saw me but I have to wait him about 3 mins until he turn his... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
nomads w, Manager at Westend Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving your feedback. It's horrible to hear that you felt there was a theft in your room and that the staff were unhelpful. we pride ourselves on customer service and this is exactly why we love feedback. We wish it was brought to management so we could of actioned this problem ASAP. We hope the rest of your... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Westend Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Sydney with
any amenities

Been to Westend Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westend Backpackers

Address: 412 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Footprints Westend)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westend Backpackers 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Westend Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westend Backpackers Hotel Sydney

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Amenities

Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The legend that is Westend Backpackers welcomes allHere at Westend we have an awesome vibe, friendly staff, a rocking 7 nightly party planner and we located right in the middle of Sydney….it just keeps getting better.. Westend offers travelers, backpackers, students and groups, funky, cheap, budget style accommodation. We have 4 to 6 shared dorms, double, triple and family rooms – most en suite and for those after something a little bit different you can't forget the world famous 32 bed dorm, "The Church".We want you to get excited about where you sleep so we've put together the BEST 7 nightly/daily party planner which includes a Free BBQ at Coogee beach, Pub crawls and the Stunning Bondi to Coogee coastal walk as well as pub quiz night and the legendary Killer Pool nights.So what are you waiting for book Westend today we are more than just a place to stay…. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
90

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer