We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Westend Backpackers

412 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Footprints Westend)
Hotel amenities
Westend Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    28
    28
    52
    97
See reviews for
14
40
76
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (241)
  • Mar-May only
    (64)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (54)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (62)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (61)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A friend booked us in for one night at nomads sydney The lifts are faulty and dangerous, a group of us decided to take fire stairs ! No apparent emergency lighting and no proper markings on wall. Fifth floor just has a no.5 drawn on wall and very small. Surely a disaster waiting to happen! I know it's cheap but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hostel is sociable but the rest is extremely poor. Cockroaches everywhere. Limited space in the dorms. Poorly cleaned rooms daily, we went back as we had no choice (apparently there is poorer hostels). Funnily enough we were in the same dorm, a dirty tissue was in the exact same place a week or so later. However reception staff are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

By far the best hostel to stay at in sydney when traveling solo, Staff are friendly and very helpful, Stayed there for two weeks and met plenty of new friends and if your looking to party this is the place to stay, have something on every night for people to do, will be back in sydney in 3 months and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thailand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

By far, this is the worst hostel i have EVER stayed at. filthy, damp and FULL of bed bugs. We booked through STA travel, so we had no idea what to expect...the staff were great. facilities were terrible. we were shoved in a small box room with 4 other guests. it was full of mould, smelt and had no window... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

Wandering around Sydney on my first day in being in Australia, I happen to pass by 'NOMADS' on Pitt St. Keen to take a look at the deals on offer with regards to the Whitsundays and Fraser Island Tour I stepped inside, a HUGE mistake in hindsight. As I walked in i was offered help my one of the staff,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sam B, General Manager at Westend Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Jules P, Thank you for taking to the time to review your recent experience at Nomads Westend Travel Desk and I sincerely apologise if you feel let down with your encounter with our staff. I would like to begin by saying that the feedback you have provided here is certainly not like any other we have received in the... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

Nomad/Westend Backpackers is a cool and hip place for the true, genuine backpacker. The location is good since it is right in Pitt Street and approximately a 5 minute walk from Central Station. Check in was quick and smooth. There was also free rice and pasta for the guests to cook. Our room was in the 9th floor with window... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sam B, General Manager at Westend Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Kiangky, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Nomads Westend Backpackers.I am pleased you were satisfied with your stay. As you say we do provide an amazing experience for backpackers providing a very social environment with good activities for guests during the day and evenings giving them the opportunity to meet other travellers. We... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

We arrived at 9 am and check in is available at 2 pm. This might have saved our lives. The reason? This way we did not already paid the full price when we arrived. We put our bags in the storage room and my wife already complaint about dirtiness. Next we needed to go to the (public) toilet and found... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sam B, General Manager at Westend Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Jan A, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at Nomads Westend Backpackers. I sincerely apologise that you were disappointed with your experience. During the time you were at Nomads Westend our lifts were undergoing maintenance, I apologise for any delays or inconvenience this may have caused you. I appreciate your comments about the housekeeping... More 

Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

Forced to stay here for 3 haunting nights as every other hostel was fully booked for Easter weekend. I thought the reviews were an exaggeration but they truly aren't. 2 lifts in a 13 story building and 1 broke down the day we got there so took an age to get anywhere. The room looked like it hadn't been cleaned... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sam B, General Manager at Westend Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Nick G, Thank you for commenting on your stay at Nomads Westend Backpackers. I was pleased to read that you found our staff great, they do work hard to ensure all guests enjoy their stay. In contrast, I was obviously disappointed to read the rest of your review and I apologise if you were not satisfied with your stay.... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

This place is horrendous. Truly. Hostels are reputed of course for being run down, scummy - anything but luxurious. This hostel however should plain and simple be shut down. Everything is dirty, the lifts don't work and I'm sure are dangerous to use. Some staff members are very polite, friendly and helpful. Others were very rude. There are other options... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sam B, General Manager at Westend Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear LittleSophieH, I was obviously disappointed to ready your review, as our staff do put in an effort to ensure that all guests have an enjoyable experience when staying with us. This was clearly not the case for you based on your comments, I apologise for any inconvenience caused by our lifts being under maintenance while you were staying with... More 

Daventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

when i first arrived at nomads i stayed in the 32 bed dorm which i immediately made friends. I was only planning on staying in sydney for 3 weeks at the most but because of all the day and night time activities that go on there was always so much to do and so many people to meet. i ended... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sam B, General Manager at Westend Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear toursimgraduate, Thank you very much for taking the time to review Nomads Westend Backpackers! Your comments truly describe what our hostel is all about, creating an environment to meet other travelers and having an activity schedule that show cases the best Sydney has to offer. I am super stoked you enjoyed your time, so much so that you ended... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay