We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 134 Sydney accommodations

Westend Backpackers

3.5 of 5 Hostel   |   412 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Footprints Westend)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Westend Backpackers to your Saves list
Westend Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
  • Overview
  • Reviews (199)
  • Photos (61)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (28)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    26
    21
    41
    81
See reviews for
11
35
60
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 2 weeks at Xmas and it was poor. Stayed again last month for a discounted price but booking was messed up and check in took forever late at night. Wasn't best pleased and was offered a private room for our next booking, which actually was really lovely to have and completely appreciated, as well as 24 hours free... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This time I will write a different review. The place is ok, nothing special, some problems with the lift but fine. I would like to say that here I met beautiful people (my room mates!), I had a great time of sharing about life's visions and politics, ideas on abortion, sexual freedom, gender equality and many other stuff! It is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Elevators very old.kitchen very dirty.Shortage of utensils. The movie room very dirty. Zero cleanliness. Too much noise. Unable to sleep.20 mins walk to sydney harbour n china town n darling harbour................

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed an additional night and didn't paid right away.... I figured because they didn't say anything in the morning, there was no problem for me to pay when I check out..... The security guy came at 3am to look for me.... Waking everybody in my room.... Saying that I have to pay right away! At 3am!!!! I went downstairs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I must start this by saying we did only pay around 60 dollars for a double room with a private bathroom, so please take that into account. The staff were really nice so that's a plus. The hostel was awful. The worst hostel I have ever stayed in. The reception area smelt like a overflown nightclub toilet. You have to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Canberra, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here recently for a night with three friends whilst making a stopover in Sydney and it was the perfect location to do so. The location is excellent, within walking distance of the big landmarks and shopping locations. When we arrived the staff were very helpful and friendly, which I had also found when emailing them about my friends... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

great staff, good people, good area, good times, central to train stations, markets centers, various cultures, many restaurants, museums, lots of random shops for a good a buy, safe area, very old part of australia.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Queenstown, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Great central location, a lot of partying, easy to make new friends (great place for people travelling on their own) free rice and pasta! Not the best option for tidy people and families though as rooms are a bit messy and it's quite noisy as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
nomads w, Manager at Westend Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and wish you safe travels :) see you next time :) More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The overall experience was terrible. The shower didn't work properly. The housekeeping just came in to your room, so no privacy. Also the elevator takes ages to go up and down. At night you get at least 6 times an intercom about drunk activities. When we decided to travel further and our bus leaves at 6 pm, the staff wouldn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
nomads w, Manager at Westend Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving your feedback. It was horrible to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us at Westend backpackers. Our Housekeepers do have to access shared rooms daily to ensure the rooms are cleaned for new guests arriving however they will always knock prior to entering, this is a standard process for all hostels in Australia. We offer... More

Bunbury, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Worst hostel I've stayed in! Common areas, room & bathroom were dirty, a cleaner does come through the room daily however all that is done is a light vacuum and spray the toilet with spray & wipe. There was mould on the walls in the bathroom and the floor and walls of the shower were absolutely filthy and in need... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
nomads w, Manager at Westend Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving your feedback :) To start with our cleaners Deep clean the showers, basin and toilet daily to ensure they are up to standards however we will look into this . No one like suspicious white stains, if this was brought to our attention i'm sure we could of serviced this for you. We are also in the... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Westend Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Westend Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westend Backpackers

Address: 412 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Footprints Westend)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westend Backpackers 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Westend Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westend Backpackers Hotel Sydney

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Sydney with
any amenities

Amenities

Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The legend that is Westend Backpackers welcomes allHere at Westend we have an awesome vibe, friendly staff, a rocking 7 nightly party planner and we located right in the middle of Sydney….it just keeps getting better.. Westend offers travelers, backpackers, students and groups, funky, cheap, budget style accommodation. We have 4 to 6 shared dorms, double, triple and family rooms – most en suite and for those after something a little bit different you can't forget the world famous 32 bed dorm, "The Church".We want you to get excited about where you sleep so we've put together the BEST 7 nightly/daily party planner which includes a Free BBQ at Coogee beach, Pub crawls and the Stunning Bondi to Coogee coastal walk as well as pub quiz night and the legendary Killer Pool nights.So what are you waiting for book Westend today we are more than just a place to stay…. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
90

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Westend Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer