We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 130 Sydney accommodations

Base Backpackers

1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   477 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Wanderers on Kent)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Base Backpackers to your Saves list
Base Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 10 more sites!
44%
Ranked #55 of 130 Specialty lodging in Sydney
A recent review
Write a Review

249 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    82
    68
    33
    41
See reviews for
2
35
100
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This has a great location for backpackers, but in terms of atmosphere it's not amazing. We stayed in the Sanctuary room but we still had to go through two swipe access doors to get to a bathroom, not very convenient.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeroen B, Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review behind for Base Sydney. Im sorry to hear that you didnt have the best time her at Base and thought it was lacking atmosphere. We do have a bar that is open 7 days a week, a free Beach BBQ on Thursdays and a free city tour on Tuesdays... More

Cairns, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was my first hostel i stayed in Australia so i had no expectations. The rooms were basic and cleaned by backpackers so they do a 2 minute hoover job thats it. Carpet is covered in goon so dont sit on the floor! It has an atmosphere they always have something on and the bar next door is good it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeroen B, Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for choosing to stay at Base Sydney. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. I noticed in your response that you noted you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of your room @ Base Sydney which is not good news. Here at Base we go to great lengths to keep everything clean. Sometimes we... More

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Only good thing to say about this place is that it is in a v central location. Rooms are small, cramped, dirty with absolutely no air conditioning or even a fan to help cool down. Beds are not comfortable at all, showers and toilets ok. Staff was drunk at 6am when we were checking out. Do not go here!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeroen B, Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi David, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I noticed in your response that you noted you were not satisfied with the cleanliness and the space of your room @ Base Sydney which is not good news. Here at Base we go to great lengths to keep everything clean. Sometimes we do not get everything right and... More

Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was very lucky and met great people in my dorm. There are very limited places to socialise during the day so it makes it difficult to meet people. I had a dorm directly above the attached club but I'm a heavy sleeper so didn't mind too much. Location is perfect, you can walk to all the main attractions and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeroen B, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Alex, Thanks so much for choosing to stay at Base Sydney. We take these reviews super seriously, and are really appreciative of you taking the time to complete one for us. It sounds like you had a great stay with us which was fantastic to read and exactly what we would hope for. Great to hear that you met... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Was greeted by around 10 young lads hanging around outside smoking and generally getting in the way. Check in was quick. Room very pokey with poor lighting. Drain in sink and floor smelt badly of sewage. I was situated on the first floor above the bar/club which played exceedingly loud music until the early hours. All six people in my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeroen B, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your on line feedback with us here at BASE Sydney! I'm sorry to hear that you got greeted by a group of guys at our door step. We have a non smoking policy in our building and for that reason it sometimes can get a bit crowded with smokers upfront.... More

Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

- Base is in a decent location, about 10 blocks from Darling Harbor, the Aquarium, etc. - The internet is not fast. There are two types on internet that can be purchased - one that only works in the lobby and one that works int he rooms. - There are 10 million people staying here, and it's crazy busy at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BaseSydney, Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave your valuable feedback with us here at BASE Sydney! we do take it very seriously, as we are constantly striving to improve what we do! The internet connection is having double the bandwidth installed in the near future, as when it was installed in our building 7 years ago not nearly as... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

I didn't expect much for what I was paying per night for my stay the rooms were tidy and had the bare necessities, although I would have expected a PowerPoint within the room so I didn't have to sit in the hallway or lounge area to charge laptops, phones etc. Maybe something for the company to think about.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BaseSydney, Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave your on line feedback with us here at BASE Sydney! at present there a handful of rooms in the older section of the building (which was built about 130 years ago!) which do only have x2 power points. We are in the process of getting electricians to work through the building the... More

Hervey Bay, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We booked base along with the Greyhound mini traveller ticket so we got 10nights really cheap accomodation to use on our travels. (worked out at $6.50 per person per night with a special they had) the hostel was fine, not dirty but not spotless either. The 8 bed room we shared had its bin emptied each day we were there,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BaseSydney, Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave your valuable online feedback with us here! Just as an FYI every single dorm room does get vaccumed and receives a surface wipe every day, while getting a full spring clean to every surface at least twice a month! also, every bed features a large under bed storage locker for all of... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I stayed in base for over two weeks during my year visit to Australia. After staying in a not so great hostel in Bondi I was very impressed when i arrived. It is lovely and clean and have a nice reception area. The wifi is very good as well however it wasn't that great in my room. It also has... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BaseSydney, Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave your awesome feedback with us! It is great to see that you enjoyed yourself here! the Scary Canary does have some awesome food deals, and it was really good to hear that you came in an enjoyed it, though it sure does get busy some nights as well! All the best on... More

Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

The rooms were fine, beds comfortable and en suite bathrooms were clean. Good lockers underneath the beds for valuables, however there was not a lot of room for any larger luggage. There were always cleaners about, but they became incredibly annoying as they were entering my room each morning, up to ten times! All the while they were in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BaseSydney, Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review

HI, thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback with us here at BASE Sydney! It's great to know you enjoyed the comfortable beds, and the ensuite bathrooms were up to scratch in terms of cleanliness! It is disappointing that the cleaners caused such a disturbance, as they should have only come in once for the bathroom clean, once... More

Been to Base Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Backpackers

Also Known As:
Base Backpackers Hotel
Base Backpackers Hotel Sydney
Address: 477 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Wanderers on Kent)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 130 Specialty lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Base Backpackers 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Base Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Base Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.