We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Base Backpackers

Hotel website
477 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Wanderers on Kent)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Base Backpackers
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Base Backpackers
Add Photo Write a Review

377 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    58
    122
    95
    51
    51
See reviews for
3
48
143
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (377)
  • Mar-May only
    (104)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (96)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (75)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (102)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Myself and some girlfriends stayed here in a female 6 bunk room. We were heading out for a night out and only used the room for getting ready and then sleep. had everything we needed for our overnight stay including lockable draws under the beds for our items. We had no issue coming back in at god knows what hour... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed her with a friend from 22nd – 25th (3 nights), we were in room 302, a room of 4. The first impressions were very good with a large, well decorated lounge downstairs and welcoming staff. We checked in a little early but were given a room straight away so we didn’t need to store our suitcases anywhere else.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A really great place to stay. We stayed here before and after going overseas as the location is perfect for airports and bus travelers. The staff are so vibrate, friendly and very helpful and that really made our stay. Our private room was very modern, clean and comfortable, which meat we slept very well. (Our friends had dorms and they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So my second time in the amazing base Sydney! After my East Coast trip and staying in many other base hostel's I have to say this is by far my favourite. I put this down mostly to the amazing staff of both base and scary canary. Nothing is to much to ask and they have any issue no matter big... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at base from last year and ended up being there for 5 months. Ended up working for the bar next door and enjoyed working there, living there and all the different friends I had made over time. Please go visit as they were very welcoming! X

Was this review helpful? Yes
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed here several times, often for weeks at a time. It could do with a definite re-vamp, and a good dust. If you look up high in the rooms, the pipes etc are thick with dust! Some rooms are better than others; it's a very old building. One room I stayed in had an old dirty curtain with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for a week at the start of our east coast trip and I would definitely recommend it to backpackers. The rooms are decent size with a space under the bed to lock valuables. Bathrooms and rooms are very clean and definitely enough showers for everyone there. The only downside to this is that we had cleaners in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeroen B, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Emily, Thanks for taking the time to leave your awesome feedback, I am happy to hear you had a great start to your adventure! We are totally glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back to us sometime soon. Happy travels, BASE Crew More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Mark from base travel was more than helpful when we had an issue with our campervan hire. He managed the issue extremely quickly and efficiently with the best outcome possible. I should have listened to his advice in the first place with regards to which company to hire from! Thank you so so much, it could have ended in disaster... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

Was a very expensive hostel and I don't think it was worth the money. It felt like a prison because you had to use your key card to get into every room including the toilet. I wasn't given clean bed sheets and the whole vibe wasn't very backpacker and chilled like I would expect with a hostel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

The very good thing is the location, it is really awesome. On the other hand, there's a lot of negative points. First of all, the room was SO SMALL that I couldn't even open my luggage on the floor. Then, in the kitchen, when the machine doesn't work you spend like 30 minutes just to boil water, let's eat toasts...... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay