We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 133 Sydney accommodations

Sydney Backpackers

4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   7 Wilmot Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Hotel amenities
Sydney Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sydney Backpackers to your Saves list
Ranked #72 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    19
    16
    7
    24
See reviews for
1
3
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (67)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
There are newer reviews for Sydney Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

There's nothing hugely wrong with Sydney Backpackers, but there's also no reason to stay there when there are better hostels at about the same price nearby. They don't have a secure space to store luggage, they only give you one sheet, the bathrooms are a little gross (though each toilet and shower is at least in its own room) and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

It was a very last minute decision for me as I needed a place to sleep in Sydney for just one night. Decided on Sydney Backpackers as it was cheap - man this is the last time I will book an accommodation without doing more research. I wasn't expecting a lot at all for the price, as I honestly just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Sydney backpackers isn't as bad as some other reviews say: It's a neat little place in a small building tucked away on a small street right in front of the Event cinema in the middle of the city. It's in Korea town with a charming little Korean BBQ restaurant next door and an internet cafe and a seriously geeky comic... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

They started by charging us more than the quoted price to stay. It continued when we walked in and saw their "secure storage" is actually just them leaving people's luggage in the hallway. They can't even see it from the front desk. Anyone could take whatever they want and they wouldn't know a thing. Then we got to the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Rooms are spacious with large lockers but very cold!!! Beds not really confortable and light blankets. Common areas are dirty and several kitchen facilities are out-of-order. Good location. Free slow wi-fi.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canberra, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is one of the worst places you can have. This is not the cheapest option as well. I booked this place without knowing anything. When went there it was terrible. The room has never been cleaned and no ventilation at all. The whole place stink like Garlic. I paid money before seeing the room and after going to this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

If you are travelling Sydney never stay in this place. It has got all reasons to avoid including dirty, dark and stinky rooms, unfriendly staff and bad environment. There is a plenty of other good backpackers for similar rates. We booked beds for two days but didn't stay an hour after seeing poor conditions. I don't recommend this even for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria Park, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Never stay at this place. Because of it has the "Sydney" part on its name it appears first on google search. But this is the worst place I have ever stayed. The place was highly conjested and never cleaned. Beds are so close to each other and the whole room stinks a lot. We booked for two days and just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest_Relations_SB, Guest Relations Manager at Sydney Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Manisha D, Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologize if our accommodation and services did not meet your standard. You have managed to book our multi-shared dorm which you get to stay with many other people and the week you booked was extremely busy due to Vivid. We always try to maintain our room with the highest hygiene... More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I was here for a few months so I got to see alot of things that went on and got to know the front counter staff. Free internet when you "like" their Facebook page and many other perks like free sports equipment rentals including table tennis is nice. Kitchen is small and cramped and could use newer kitchen wares. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Suzhou, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

i had a wonderful stay here for 3 months while touring sydney . in the heart of the city , easy access to stores , trains etc The front desk staff are always friendly and happy to assist, the dorms are lovely & clean. overall there is not much to complaint except for the water pressure of the shower could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sydney Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney Backpackers

Address: 7 Wilmot Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sydney Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Sydney Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Backpackers Hotel Sydney
Backpacker Sydney

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay