We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rydges Sydney Central

4.5 of 5 28 Albion St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Surry Hills)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Sydney Central
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Rydges Sydney Central
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    391
    203
    67
    32
See reviews for
143
285
84
229
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (896)
  • Mar-May only
    (250)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (220)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (208)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (218)
All months
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have just spent two nights at Rydges Sydney Central and I can highly recommend this hotel. I originally chose it because it was close to my daughter's work place but I would stay here again. It is close to Central station, about a five minute walk, which meant we were only three stops from the domestic airport so no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sydney
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
58 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Booked through wotif mystery deal Nice hotel no restaurant at night eat next door My only complaint was they charged us for min bar which we did not have just as well I checked our bank statement. The accounts person refunded it no problem Room good plenty of room bus to other end of city just down on Elizabeth st... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Happy Anniversary! Bar Surry Hills & Italian Kitchen is part of the hotel and is our Restaurant. Apologies for the mini bar charge, glad you were refunded for that. Cheers, Jenny More 

Nowra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I only stayed one night with my husband for a work function but we won't be rushing back. The location is fantastic, less than 5 minutes walk from Central train station and they offer a delicious buffet breakfast, but that's about where it stops. Our room was quite spacious and comfortable but at midnight when we returned to our room,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Hi Julia, Thank you for your feedback. Sorry to hear things didn’t run that smoothly throughout your stay and you won’t be staying with us again. I have spoken with our housekeeping team with regards to checking the pool towels more often now the weather is better for swimming. Kind Regards, Jenny More 

Melbourne
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

i enjoy staying here when working in sydney. It's close enough to the city and surrounds plus I can walk 5 mins to central station. Rooms are clean, modern- acceptable. Sheets are a little scratchy and needs upgrading to a better quality. Breakfast is adequate.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Glad to hear you enjoy staying with us when you’re in Sydney. We are very fortunate to be in a great location for our guests. Hop to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Jenny More 

Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Due to an extreme dislike of negotiating Sydney traffic we wanted accommodation close to the rail to load the car on the Indian Pacific to Perth so Rydges was the choice as it was the closest we could find. What a stroke of genius as the rooms are excellent the facilities first class and the staff extremely friendly. The meal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear Peter, Thank you for your lovely review. Very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you’re staying in Sydney. Kind Regards, Jenny More 

Westerville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were well taken care of by the front desk and found the room to be quite comfortable. We were there to see the sites of Sidney. The train station was near by. We had a little negotiating the train, but it all worked out. There was an Italian restaurant next door that worked well for dinner. Overall , it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Hi Jim, Thank you for your review. Glad to hear you had a good experience during your stay with us in Sydney. We are very close to Central station which makes things easy for our guests. Our Bar Surry Hills and Italian Kitchen is open for Lunch and Dinner and is a crowd favourite. We look forward to welcoming you... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is surrey hills but a 10 min walk to China town at the most. Great on site bar. Rooms are all slightly different due to it being in a renovated building which I like. Awesome shower pressure. Room service menu is great. Small gym with all the basics. Buffet breakfast is outstanding.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Hi Jess, Thank you for your lovely review. Bar Surry Hills & Italian Kitchen and our Rise Breakfast Buffet are popular options with our guests so I’m glad you enjoyed them. We hope we can welcome you to the hotel again soon. Kind Regards, Jenny More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This used to be the Sebel - as a Rydges it is an improvement mostly because Rydges pays attention to the bed and it is comfortable. I've said this is other reviews but the most important thing I want from a hotel is a good night's sleep and Rydges delivers that. So they have added a topper to the bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Hi Marion, Thank you for your lovely review. Glad you enjoyed your night’s sleep with us; we do get lots of great feedback about the beds. FREE Wi-Fi at our hotel has been another very popular addition with our guests. Good tip about the quiet room if you are a light sleeper requests can be made for a room on... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lied to us when we asked to go to our room they said it was only a request . Missed the start of the cricket . Rude and obnoxious people warning do not stay here. Had to shower in the pool. there were no fresh towels. Horrible experience!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Hi Steve, With regards to early check in we can never guarantee this, our staff will always do our best to assist but we can’t guarantee check in before 2pm. Apologies you missed the start of your event. Kind Regards, Jenny More 

Blue Mountains, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In the past to avoid adding the extra time travelling from the Blue Mountains to a long flight overseas we have stayed in Sydney the night before, usually at one of the airport hotels. This time they were either fully booked or very expensive so we stayed at Rydges. It was a good decision, close to Central Station which avoided... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Hi Pam, Thank you for your great review. Very pleased to hear you enjoyed the convenience of your stay with us and that you go to take advantage of some of the great restaurants close by. Whether you are using our Airport Shuttle Service or catching the train both are very convenient. We look forward to welcoming you back for... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Rydges Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Sydney Central

Address: 28 Albion St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Surry Hills)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Sydney Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Sydney
Citigate Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Sydney
#48 Business Hotel in Sydney
#61 Luxury Hotel in Sydney

147 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (99)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay