We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rydges Sydney Central

4.5 of 5 28 Albion St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Surry Hills)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Sydney Central
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Rydges Sydney Central
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    403
    215
    69
    40
See reviews for
148
300
84
234
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (932)
  • Mar-May only
    (250)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (220)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (208)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (254)
All months
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was visiting my parents in the hotel - we got into the lift to head out to dinner, then we got trapped in the lift. There were a total of 6 of us in the lift, and we all felt the bang of the lift on the basement floor. We pressed the emergency buttons and there was no response... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Well what can i say, I checked in on the 23rd decant service, was give my room ans off i whent to the lift, to find 3 people kinda trapped in the lift there key wasnt working so i tried mine nope didnt work, the door closed now all 4 of us are stuck till someone else opens the door,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Hi Nathan, We have just upgraded our lifts and you do now need your key to access our accommodation levels needless to say with any upgrade there has been some teething problems, apologies for the inconvenience during your stay. I have passed your feedback regarding the bathroom onto our housekeeping manager for review. Sorry to hear you won’t be back... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

The rooms are very old, dark & damp smell! This hotel looks good from outside but the rooms are unexpectedly terrible!.very congested & old. Similar like backpackers hostel! I booked this hotel by calling directly & asked for a good room. On arrival got room with dark old carpets, depressing rooms. Said have to check out at 9 am. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback Dr Jui. I’m surprised to hear your thoughts on our rooms as most of our guests to enjoy the size of our rooms and we do have large windows in our rooms for natural light. Kind Regards, Jenny More 

Perth, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

- Lifts were broken and the stairs were "in case of emergency only" so we didn't know how to get down to the lobby for a good 10-15 minutes until we found a staff member who directed us to a different set of lifts that were some what hidden. - There was no exhaust fan in the bathroom, so when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Hi Katie, Thanks for taking the time to review our Hotel. We did have 1 of our 4 lifts out for a small period in January due to lift maintenance, apologies that this inconvenienced your stay with us. We don’t have body wash as part of our amenities we do provide complimentary soap though in our rooms. Our beds are... More 

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The most comfortable bed I've ever had in a motel. The staff were very friendly and did there utmost to be helpful. I arrived a little early so they directed me to their bar served me a free drink of my choice while they swiftly had their cleaning staff prepare the room. Best nights sleep I've had in any motel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We do have some very comfortable beds and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your night’s sleep with us. Very pleased the staff looked after you well while your room was being prepared. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Jenny More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

For the love of all that is holy, choose elsewhere. The staff were lovely, but that doesn't make up for the ugly, depressing room and the not-quite-clean showers. One lift was broken and the other so slow it literally took ten minutes to get downstairs. Taking the stairs wasn't even an option as they were locked from inside on our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Hi Lori, I’m sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. We did have 1 of our 4 lifts out for a small period in January due to lift maintenance, apologies that this inconvenienced your stay with us. The fire stair doors shouldn’t be locked though so I will get our team to look into this. Kind Regards,... More 

South
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in a family room with a balcony; no views of any sort but plenty of fresh air. Good TV facilities, TV, beds, lighting, Excellent value for the summer price we paid. The breakfast room on Day 1 was unacceptable, Messy, music far too loud, but in fairness to the staff, once pointed out, was cleaned and the music... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel James. We have passed on your feedback to management of the relevant departments. We take great pride in our service here at Rydges so I’m sorry on this occasion you didn’t think our staff knew what they were doing. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved this nice, clean, modern hotel in the heart of Sydney and fun trendy Surry Hills area. Great indoor pool but spa was only luke warm. Rooftop lounge is great! Comfy beds! Only downside is a bit of road noise from front side rooms and the staff knocked on our door early Sunday morning to ask to check the mini... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very lucky to be in such a great location close by to Sydney’s attractions and the Surry Hills and surrounds which have some great restaurants and bars. Requests can be made for a room on the back of the hotel if you are a lighter... More 

Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's definitely not 5 stars. In my personal perception the hotel is equal to 3+*. I really wonder when authorities will implement the reliable stars system for the hotel so that travelers can clearly understand what they can expect. The room is tired, old, dirty and smelly. I attached photos, so you can see the old marks, unfortunately it can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Appreciate you taking the time to supply us with some feedback of our hotel. Sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. Seems like not all was right in your room throughout your stay, I do hope you mentioned this to reception throughout your stay so it could be rectified. Kind Regards, Jenny More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked in the accommodation three months prior and upgraded to the deluxe room with buffet breakfast. Deluxe room was supposed to be a bigger size than the superior but we found it smaller than expected. Advised the motel staff on a number of occasions that there was to be two separate beds the room. Though when we got there there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel J J. Apologies the room wasn’t in the configuration you asked for prior to check in, I hope the staff were able to sort that out for you promptly. We are very fortunate to be in a great location which is convenience for many of our guests. We do have... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Rydges Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Sydney Central

Address: 28 Albion St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Surry Hills)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Sydney Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Sydney
Citigate Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Sydney
#48 Business Hotel in Sydney
#67 Luxury Hotel in Sydney

153 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (104)
Viewed
Room/suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay