We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rydges Sydney Central

28 Albion St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Surry Hills)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Sydney Central
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Rydges Sydney Central
Add Photo

1,053 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    249
    437
    239
    83
    45
See reviews for
164
335
92
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1053)
  • Mar-May only
    (318)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (250)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (208)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (277)
All months
Level Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed 1 night only. Convenient location near central station. However it isn't noisy as some places near stations tend to be. Rooms are very spacious and well fitted. Bed very comfortable, and reasonable bathroom. Shower over bath with fixed shower head which were negatives for me. Car parking below which is expensive, but then again this is Sydney.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Excellent location in walking distance from train. Fine dining restaurant now re-opened for evening meal. We enjoyed great service and beautiful food. Can't wait to return to this hotel - for business or pleasure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed Friday night at Rydges and had a pleasant stay the room was clean and staff friendly and I liked the black curtains that blocked out the light . The location is near central station and we walked to the football . I was happy with the value for money

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear Garry, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. The blackout blinds work wonders for a cheeky sleep in! I hope your team had a win. Hope we can welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Jenny Hotel Management More 

Mt Martha, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a great stay at this hotel, close to great food and a very doable walk to the city, otherwise across the road from central station for any further travel. The room was spacious and clean and service was great, even a very late call for a different pillow was no trouble at all. And for the Melbourne coffee... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear Carlajane, Appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel, so pleased you enjoyed your weekend stay with us in Sydney. We are very fortunate to be close by to some great restaurants and bars in the Surry Hills area. We hope to welcome you back again on your next trip up to Sydney. Kind Regards, Jenny Hotel Management More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I checked in at 0745 and was all ready to go to bed. While I was sleeping I was rudely awaken by the noise that Rydges Central was doing renovation or some work outside my window below my room. When I called the reception they said they had no control of the work being done. In the first place why... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We did have some emergency repairs that needed to be completed last week, we do apologise that it affected your sleep. I am glad we were able to offer you another room so you could get some sleep though. Kind Regards, Jenny Hotel Management More 

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here one night on business. PGR member but won't again,this property lets the brand down. Location is about a 7 minute walk from Central Railway Station and about 10 minutes up to Hyde Park. I did arrive early and check in was fast friendly and efficient and I was accommodated early. I was on the 7th floor (room 716).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. I am glad we were able to accommodate an early check in for you. Sorry to hear about the troubles you had while in your room I have passed this feedback onto our Housekeeping and F&B Teams. For people who are light sleepers you can ask for a room on... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First thing we noticed about the room was the weird smell - sort of like chlorine, I guess due to being on the same level as the pool. Kettle cord was so short we had to have it on the floor to plug it in & don't even bother ordering room service! Worst meal ever and we ordered quite simple... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear Lauren, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. Your feedback has been passed onto our F&B... More 

Perth, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble and everyone was very obliging. From my point of view as an earlier resident of Sydney I found being out in Surry Hills a little too far out from the city centre, even though there is nothing to fault the transport system. Proximity to airport was good and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear June, Thank you for your lovely review. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad to hear you got to enjoy the benefits of being a Priority Guest Rewards member during your stay with us. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Sydney. Kind Regards, Jenny Hotel Management More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a no-frills, business hotel located conveniently in CBD. The check-in was super fast and took a minute. The hotel allows you to checkin using your mobile and even your room no. is allocated. Very convenient. The rooms are very big and the in-room dining was decent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. Our online check in has been a popular addition since we added it last year, I’m glad you found it convenient. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Sydney. Kind Regards, Jenny Hotel Management More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had no problems at all this hotel for 1 nights stay. Near to central station and very near most cafes at nearby surrey hills and Chinatown. Would recommend this for a short stay as its pretty decent and central.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review Krish. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Sydney. Kind Regards, Jenny Hotel Management More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

179 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (130)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay