We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 182 Sydney hotels

Rydges Sydney Central

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 Albion St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Surry Hills)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Rydges Sydney Central to your Saves list
Rydges Sydney Central
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
67%
Ranked #68 of 182 hotels in Sydney
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
LYN3521962 Christchurch, New Zealand
  • Overview
  • Reviews (823)
  • Photos (138)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (134)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

823 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    356
    190
    63
    28
See reviews for
138
257
79
208
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Staff were very helpful. Buffet breakfast was great, lots of choice although coffees or tea via the machine were luke warm. Room was pretty standard I was told when I booked a Deluxe room it had been recently refurbished which it hadnt so that was dissappointing as im a Priority Guest member. Air conditioning was not working so room temp... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blair W, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Hi Lyn, Thank you for your review. We did unfortunately have 1 of our 4 lifts out of operations for 5 days due to it needing a gear box replacement this was replaced as fast as we could get the parts and we do apologise for any inconvenience cause during your stay. Our Deluxe rooms have been recently recarpeted which... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very convenient location as staying overnight to see The Lion King at the Capital theatre. Parking underneath hotel convenient and parking spaces good size. Clean and comfortable. Room spacious. Easy to drive to.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Blair W, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Hi Gemma, Thank you for your review. I’m pleased to hear your enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you enjoyed The Lion King. We are very fortunate to be a quick 5-10 minute walk from the Capitol Theatre so it’s very convenient for our guests. Kid Regards, Jenny More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at the rydges the staff were so helpful and friendly. kids loved the pool and spa and the buffet breakfast was lovely so much choice. The king size bed in our room was the best bed we have ever slept in. Will defintely come back again next time we stay in sydney. Will recommend rydges... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blair W, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Hi Kas, thank you so much for your great review. I am very pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Our Pool and Spa are very popular with the kiddies. So is our new Rise Breakfast concept you definitely are spoilt for choice there! We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again... More

Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Rydges recently for 1 night. Check in was slow and only one lift working. The bar/it ian kitchen served lovely food and wine and the service was very good. The room is standard which you should expect when staying at Rydges but great shower and a good nights sleep. My only gripe is that we were woken... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blair W, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - We did unfortunately have 1 of our 4 lifts out of operations for 5 days due to it needing a gear box replacement this was replaced as fast as we could get the parts and we do apologise for any inconvenience cause during your stay. We have recently relaunched the Bar Surry Hills and... More

Melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Not much to say about this vanilla and tired hotel which is typically in some form of disrepair. Food is rubbish and staff are just there but not really present. On my last visit one lift was broken and heating not working in my room.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Blair W, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. Hopefully we can welcome you back on another occasion to give us another go. We did unfortunately have 1 of our 4 lifts out of operations for 5 days due to it needing a gear box replacement this was replaced as fast as we could get the parts and we... More

Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
39 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

business trip one nighter - pleasant reception staff. Only 1 lift working so very slow to get lift. Spacious room on 4th floor but relatively smaller bathroom. Windows faced Albion St - surprisingly noisy with traffic during night, needs more soundproofing. Close to railway station but road traffic more noisy than trains. Reasonable lap pool but really too short for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Blair W, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We did unfortunately have 1 of our 4 lifts out of operations for 5 days due to it needing a gear box replacement this was replaced as fast as we could get the parts and we do apologise for any inconvenience cause during your stay. Our new Rise Breakfast concept and Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel... More

Canberra
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed in the deluxe room which was modern and spacious. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was good. The hotel is a easy walk from central station and the staff were great. Will stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blair W, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Hi Ash, thank you for your review, glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to welcome you back again soon! Cheers, Jenny More

Caracas, Venezuela
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Rydges Sydney Central is conveniently located very close to the Central train station, Chinatown, Thai Town, the Business area, etc. It's very easy to walk everywhere from there. The Sydney Opera House is just about 15-20 minute walk. The staff is really friendly and helpful. Wifi is complimentary in the rooms and in all areas. Room was clean and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Blair W, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your great informative review – I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry to hear your neighbors were a little noisy though. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again on your next trip. Kind Regards, Jenny More

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for two nights on business and had a hire car. The room was a good size, with quite a nice bathroom. It was very clean, but I think the carpets were shampooed a lot as the room felt a little damp/humid when I entered on both days. Still, it was a comfy place to sleep. Parking was expensive... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blair W, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Hi Douglas, thank you for you review. Sorry to hear the room felt a little damp, with any issues like that please let us know at reception and we can try to room move you. Nano, the café next door is great some really affordable Breakfast and Lunch prices for a quick bite. Kind Regards, Jenny More

Adelaide Hills, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for two nights as part of a mystery flight package for my partners 30th birthday. I was very disappointed to see that the 4-5 star room that was promised as part of the package was not even close. The carpets were not vacuumed. The fridge/desk cupboard was worn and filthy, as was the coffee table.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Blair W, General Manager at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Hi Kelly, I’m sorry to hear about your stay with us and would love to discuss it in more detail If you could give me a call on 02 9289 0088 or email blair_wallace@rydges.com Kind Regards, Blair More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Rydges Sydney Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Rydges Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Sydney Central

Address: 28 Albion St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Surry Hills)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Sydney Central 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Rydges Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Sydney
Citigate Hotel Sydney
Sebel Surry Hills Hotel Sydney

138 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (90)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#38 Family Hotel in Sydney #48 Business Hotel in Sydney #60 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
4.5 star hotel in Surry Hills. 271 guestrooms, with a 15m heated indoor pool, spa, sauna & gymnasium. Along with 2 restaurants and bars & cafe. ideal space for meetings, events & conferences ... more   less 
Number of rooms
270

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer