We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rydges Sydney Central

28 Albion St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Surry Hills)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rydges Sydney Central
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Rydges Sydney Central
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    416
    230
    78
    41
See reviews for
154
320
87
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (988)
  • Mar-May only
    (283)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (220)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (208)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (277)
All months
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived off train from Brisbane and just looking for room service and comfortable bed. We were in transit from Brisbane and had two more full days on the train to Adelaide via Melbourne. Service very good and room service tasty and served promptly. Room very clean. Would definitely stay again. A pity we could not stay on our return journey.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Hi Mark & Rose, Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Sydney. Kind Regards, Jenny Hotel Management More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been staying in Rydges both in Queensland and New South Wales for 6 years now and we arrived into our room and there on the bed a lovely note and a plate of beautiful fruit. Never have we received this hospitality with Rydges, the room was excellent, the staff all friendly we arrived at 9 in the morning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Hi Susan, It’s always so nice to have one of our regular Rydges guests staying with us. We’re glad you enjoyed your welcome note and fruit platter. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon. Kind Regards, Jenny Hotel Management More 

Port Stephens, Australia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
38 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

One of the more recent additions to the Rydges chain of hotels, I believe (previously Sebel) we decided to book a "romantic" package with a studio-suite. In the morning we got an SMS (and a phone call) to tell us the room was ready. The hotel was easy to find, short term parking right at the lobby entrance was available... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Appreciate you taking the time to write your very descriptive review Henk. Looks like you had been upgraded to our Deluxe Terrace Suite for your stay with us, I am pleased you liked the room we have just refreshed that suite with some additional items to brighten it up. Glad to see that you also took advantage of our online... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was good, clean everything I had booked. I left early, checked out and I asked to bill me as per the booking. They billed me more than my confirmed booking, then when I spent the next two days chasing my refund, they charged the credit card fee AGAIN. Its like they pretend to care about their guests, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Hi Adam, I’m sorry you feel we don’t have a care factor for our guests. I can assure you we definitely do that’s why were in Hospitality. Apologies you weren’t charged as per your booking but I am glad that we were able to sort it out for you. Hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon.... More 

Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I chose to stay at this hotel due to its proximity to Central train station (one block away). The hotel is also walking distance to Chinatown and the theatre (Les Miserables was playing). It's also just around the corner from the Illustrated Man tattoo studio - a well known institution in Sydney. You're greeted with quite a lovely foyer with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review Christine. We are very fortunate to have lovely spacious rooms at the hotel and be in a convenient location for our guest’s right near central station. I am pleased you liked our Glam Clam in the hotel foyer, it’s a recent addition. Very pleased that you were well looked after by our staff. Will... More 

Canberra, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Look, this place isn’t going to win any awards, provide conspicuous service, or impress you with their attention to detail. What you will get for $210 per night is a clean utilitarian room, not exorbitant on-site parking ($40 per night), and a central-ish location (Darling Harbour is a 15 minute stroll away through China Town). . The staff are pleasant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked this room at the last minute as needed to be in the City for early the next morning. Great price on a deal that stipulated checkout must be by 9am which suited my plans anyway. Room was large,clean and modern and a lovely new bathroom including bathtub. Only gripe was parking overnight was $40 but decided to park on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. Very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Kind Regards, Jenny Hotel Management More 

Mackay, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the second time I have stayed there & the first time was great. But this time I was very disappointed. I requested a room upgrade to get a balcony & a view but all I could see from the balcony was the block wall of the building next door. There was no tea in the room, no water... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

It does seem like we missed the mark during your stay with us so I do apologise that simple amenities that come with the room weren’t stocked upon your arrival. As you know from your previous experience with us this isn’t the level of service we pride ourselves on. The Maintenance & Food and Beverage Managers have been advised of... More 

Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel had everything we needed. Close to Chinatown, light rail and great cafes. Everything we requested in our online checkin was completed. Fantastic experience and will definitely return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Hi Leigh, Thank you so much for your great review! So pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon! Kind Regards, Jenny Hotel Management More 

wollongong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed on good Friday and Saturday checking out Sunday. Had two rooms. With very short notice they put our rooms together. Rooms were fine. We had deluxe rooms so had a shower instead of bath / shower. . Parking is on site and 40 per day but for Sydney it's pretty good. Very close to Central station and a $15... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rydges_Central, Director of Sales at Rydges Sydney Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. Very pleased you were looked after during your stay with us. Great note about the PGR loyalty program you do get 10% off our best available rates and also 20% off Food and Beverage when you dine with us at the hotel bar and restaurant. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

165 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (116)
Viewed
Room/suite (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question