We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Elephant Backpacker

Hotel website
50 Sir John Young Cresent | Woollomoloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT. FROM $15 AUD
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elephant Backpacker
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Elephant Backpacker
Add Photo Write a Review

256 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    21
    78
    40
    24
    93
See reviews for
1
60
83
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (256)
  • Mar-May only
    (67)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (65)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (66)
All months
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very nice stay in Elephant. Hostel close to the city center in a very quiet part of the city. Nice and helpful staff if you have any questions. My room was very clean, and the hostel was quiet and considerate. I never had to wait for the three female showers on my floor, and the toilets were clean. The atmosphere... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very good value for money accommodation, I stayed in a 6 bed female dorm which was very clean, had a locker and clean bed with side railes. I stayed in July and the hostel doesn’t have any central heating or heaters in the room but they gave me enough dooners to keep warm. I used the cooking facilities which were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hi Beth, I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future! Enjoy your travels! Thank you More 

Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You get what you pay for! I don't know why people down vote this place so much. Yes It is not the Hilton, but hey, when rooms in central Sydney in crappy hotels are in the hundreds of dollars we got a double room for like $45. It is very old – so its an old building!, not ultra clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hi Nick, Thank you for your feedback and I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! I hope to see you again! More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Worst hostel I've been in whilst traveling for 10 months. Most people work for accommodation and look at you as if you shouldn't be there. Cafe staff rude and can't be bothered with you. Hostel in general smells rotten. Toilets and showers didn't look like they had been cleaned the whole time I was there. Rooms are dirty and freezing.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hi Ewan, I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy yourself while staying with us. Your original booking was for two nights and then you extended every day for another 8 nights and always had a very friendly chat with myself in the morning. I find this very odd given the review you have written, surely if you believed... More 

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Douai, France
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015

We have stayed in this hostel two times now. We came back cause the hostel is very good value and has a good standard! The staff are really friendly and helpful. In fact one lady (blonde) gave us directions to various places and let us borrow the hostels telephone. The rooms are cleaned really well every day which is really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hi Pieter, Great to read your review and that you had a great time. I am very happy that my directions and suggestions contributed to you having a good time. I hope to see you again and would be more than happy to have you as a guest for the third time. Thank you More 

Port Lincoln, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

The reviews left before me simply don't do elephant backpackers justice! The place is great and so far during my time in Australia has been the best place i have stayed! I think the reviews that say it's disgusting, terrible etc have been left by people who want to pay cheap prices but expect a service resembling a 4* Hotel.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hi Matt, It is very refreshing to read your review and I appreciate the lovely feedback and I am glad you enjoyed the café as much as we do. You were a great guest and would be happy to see you again, enjoy the rest of your travels! Thank you More 

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

Found this hostel as it was cheap and I was on a budget. Reviews were mixed on here but decided to give it a go. Pleasantly surprised. Don't get much but it's what I expect when it's so cheap. Large rooms, lockers, showers with hot water, clean toilets, big kitchen. Cafe on the side is small but so good and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

Stayed a few days in a dorm. Pleasantly surprised... Don't expect much when so cheap....clean room, clean toilets, great little cafe. Staff are young and helpful and know the area. Big hostel...so yeah can get a bit noisey but good to meet people! Overall I was happy with what I got.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

Don't be lured in by the cheap price! This place is disgustingly dirty: moldy scummy showers, cockroaches, broken dirty toilets, stinky dingy common room. The showers on some floors appear to be permanently out of order. The beds are extremely uncomfortable; we woke up with marks on our bodies from the bed springs poking us. Paper thin walls, so that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

Good price close to the town. We took 2 nights. One in a double room and one in a dorm. The bed in a double room was really really horrible. We can fell All the pieces of iron in a bed ! And we had a better bed in a dorm ! Even if It was cheaper ! The bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
0.4 mi away
Jackaroo Hostel
Jackaroo Hostel
#25 of 121 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
1.4 mi away
Alfred Park Accommodation
Alfred Park Accommodation
#69 of 121 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
0.7 mi away
World Square Hostel
World Square Hostel
#54 of 121 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Original Backpackers Hostel
0.4 mi away
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
#35 of 121 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
2.5 mi away
Billabong Gardens
Billabong Gardens
#47 of 121 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 stars 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay