We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Elephant Backpacker

Hotel website
50 Sir John Young Cresent | Woollomoloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT. FROM $17 AUD
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Elephant Backpacker
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

267 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    21
    85
    41
    24
    96
See reviews for
2
62
90
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (267)
  • Mar-May only
    (67)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (76)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (66)
All months
Essen, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Would stay there again! Ups: Price was very low! Very cheap bar - with great food. Card key locks to rooms. Dorm was large, clean linen and comfy bed and only a 10 min walk to town, 2 to Woolworths Bathrooms cleaner than I expected. Downs: WiFi doesn’t work in room. Kitchen very busy at night, need to get kitchen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello Uta, Thank you for your feedback and I am happy that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will see you again in the future. Thank you More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Sydney accommodation is very expensive and we tried to save money as much as we could on our extended trip. We booked a private room as dorm rooms just aren't for us. The room was very basic but clean and comfortable. We only paid $50/$60 a night therefore you don't expect much. The toilets are individual and not stalls which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hi Scott, I am extremely happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and I appreciate your feedback. I hope all the hints and tips worked out for you. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. Thank you More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nobody at the reception when we arrived, been waiting for half an hour and while waiting at the reception area it smell very awful, not pleasant and by the time we check in, they deny our booking, but they confirmed us way back on May 25, 2015, thou they give us a sourced accommodation but was very dissappointing from a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hi Agnes, Yes there was a technical error with our online booking system and we apologised for this and sourced you like for like accommodation. As you didn't stay with us you are unable to review our property. Thank you More 

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is great! It is in a fantastic location very close to the city centre, within walking distance to the Art Gallery of NSW, train station, and Opera House. The free wifi & café having cheap meal deals are great, especially given the price. Everything was really clean, they cleaned the bathrooms several times a day and I only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hi Mark, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. Thank you More 

Ulsan, South Korea
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

this hostel was fabulous for the price and what my friends and I wanted to do. Friendly staff, enormous rooms, laundry for reasonable price. Clean and calm. We've booked 4 nights and transfer from airport was really cheap - this is very useful in Sydney where everything is so expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to see you again in the future. Thank you More 

Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very good price given how close it is to the city center (a nice 15/20 min walk to Circular Quay). There's a handy Woolworths 5 mins away for food and the nearest train station is 5/10 mins walk. The kitchen has a fair amount of space but not compared to the number of beds in the hostel so I always... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your feedback and I am happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. I agree the kitchen often can be very busy therefore many of our guests use our on site café which has extremely reasonable prices. I hope to see you again in the future. Thank you More 

Bridlington, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having travelled Australia, Asia and Africa I can tolerate standard conditions and low budget accommodation, however I can honestly say that The Elephant Backpackers in Sydney was by far the worst place I've ever stayed in. I could go on and rant forever about little things, the place is disgusting and the people there seem a bit rough.. But what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello, Since you stayed with us in December we have under taken a fumigation programme in regards to bed bugs and have had this carried out four times since then! This is not a current issue at our premises. Maybe when you write a review it should be done at the time you actually stayed as 8 months down the... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My friend recommended this hostel to me as she had stayed here about a year ago. She warned me it was very busy and can get a bit noisy. I found it surprisingly quiet. Maybe cause it was the weekend of the City to Surf run and a lot of guests were preparing to get up early and enter the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

HI Siobhan, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your review. Hopefully we will see you again in the future. More 

Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sydney is not cheap so finding affordable and central accommodation is quite hard. Elephant hostel is good for this reason. It's not the best but for what you get (room, clean communal showers) and location, you can't really complain.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Some of the reviews are rather mixed for this hostel but I decided to stay cause it was so cheap compared to many other places in Sydney. It really doesn't deserve the flogging it gets from some reviews. It is a very big hostel (over 200 beds) and the building is old. But when I was there there were people... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hi Neil, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with at Elephant Backpacker. Thank you for your feedback and I hope to see you again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
0.4 mi away
Jackaroo Hostel
Jackaroo Hostel
#26 of 121 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Funk House Backpackers Hostel Sydney
2.5 mi away
Billabong Gardens
Billabong Gardens
#1 of 3 in Newtown
3.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Alfred Park Accommodation
Alfred Park Accommodation
#59 of 121 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
0.7 mi away
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#16 of 121 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Original Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay