We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Elephant Backpacker

Hotel website
50 Sir John Young Cresent | Woollomoloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Special Rate
A$26 (AUD)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Elephant Backpacker
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

300 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hostel is in a huge old building with 48 rooms on 4 floors. Wifi was only available in public areas but didn't work very well. The atmosphere wasn't good at all and the kitchen very basic. All the shelves are empty or locked and you have to ask the reception for every fork/pot etc. you need and leave your... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Julie567890
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Ive been in New Zealand for the past 2 months so compared to the hostels there it is rather basic. Nothing bad just basic. For example, in most of the hostels in NZ the kitchens are fully stocked with cooking equipment, plates & crockery etc but at the Elephant u have to get everything from reception. The good thing is... More 

Helpful?
Thank VirginiaTrop
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I stay here a few time, I really like. It's cheap and good situations, close to everything. Any time I in sydney I book here. No party hostel which make me happy. The toilet and shower basic but clean. Free WiFi, slow but it a big place. Any friend I have in the city I tell to come here. Staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank ndeda m
Roisine C, General Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking your time to write your review. We appreciate your honest feedback and are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you as a guest in the future. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place is perfect for people that are in a round trip and don't need so many things. For me was good, I had a comfortable bed, a decent toilet and a place where you can cook. The only annoying thing was that the key stopped to work like a thousand times. But everything else was good.

Helpful?
Thank pau_sal_cas
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for review and the feedback regarding your key. Unfortunately the key cards are very sensitive and can deactivate when near mobile phones and credit cards. We appreciate this is annoying however our 24 hour reception are always happy to rectify this. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. More 

Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I planned to only stay 1 week but ended up staying a month. The hostel is in an amazing location - just on the edge of the city. It is a really old building which keeps getting a bad rap. I think it was a hotel 100 years ago so has that old appearance and feeling. But it is relatively... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rhyschamberlain22
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hi Rhys. Thank you for your honest review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. Enjoy the rest of your travels. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely disgusting. Arrived around 11pm checked into my room and thought to myself wow this is wrong. People doing drugs in the dorm but that's what you expect in a run down chavy squat. The staff where rude and could not be bothered to help you in any way apart from the Young girl at the reception who was lovely.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Youngy-1993
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello. We take drug taking very seriously and any reports are referred to the local authorities. Had you reported this to reception we would have taken action immediately as such behavior is not tolerated. Apologies that you did not enjoy your stay, however if you made us aware of this awful situation we would have en-devoured to rectify the matter... More 

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

My first thought was 'what was I thinking?'. The hostel is a very grand building with over 200 people staying there. Unfortunately it is very run down. The kitchen was small for the amount of people living there, so if you're going to cook during peak times, it may be a little difficult. My roommates were great, we had such... More 

Helpful?
Thank MortIsCool
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hi Jessica, Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in the end. We are constantly working hard to improve our property so that all guests enjoy their time with us and we appreciate any feedback given. Have a good time during your travels. More 

Bellevue, Nebraska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2015

If you're visiting Sydney and planning to stay for a few weeks, Elephant is a great place to base yourself - its facilities may not be ultra-modern but it still has the right atmosphere to help make your trip memorable. The Location - Elephant offers more peace and quiet than its centre-of-town alternatives and the hostels in the neighbouring red... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ted R
Roisine C, General Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lengthy review of our property. It is refreshing to see you appreciate all the hard work we put in to ensure that all of our guests have a great stay with us. Enjoy the rest of your travels and hopefully one day you will stay with us... More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2015

All of the people complaining on here need to back track and remember that they most likely paid $20 a night to stay here, like i did- YOU ARE NOT GOING TO GET 5 STAR SERVICE AT A HOSTEL- let alone the cheapest one in Sydney. Although it is very cheap, I had a good experience. Honestly, not the cleanest... More 

Helpful?
Thank travel_junkie1313
Roisine C, General Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello, thank you very much for your honest review of our property. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully your review will encourage others to stay and have as much fun as you did! We hope to see you in the future. More 

Linz, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015

I don't understand why this hostel had such bad reviews. Its extremely well located - only 10 minutes walk to main city centre, has a great cafe for guests to use, the rooms are clean.... I will definitely come back and I recommend it.

Helpful?
1 Thank River S
Roisine C, General Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello! thank you so much for your review and we definitely hope you will come back and stay with us again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

96 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (70)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Sydney Harbour YHA
Sydney Harbour YHA
#3 of 126 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 821 reviews
Wake Up! Sydney
#9 of 126 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 935 reviews
Maze Backpackers
#36 of 126 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 stars 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#16 of 126 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 318 reviews
Eva's Backpackers
#15 of 126 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay