We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BLUE Sydney

5.0 of 5 6 Cowper Wharf Rd, The Wharf at Woolloomooloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (Formerly W Hotel)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
BLUE Sydney
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BLUE Sydney
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    18
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
19
3
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (44)
  • Mar-May only
    (0)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (0)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
australia
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Really nice to be near the botanic gardens. Pleasant walk to the opera house. Rooms comfortable. Appreciate that rooms and entry included parts of original structure the building. Interested to see what the forthcoming refit will be like.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The moment I stepped in till the time of checking out, it was just a wonderful experience. The room was very clean and good water views & city skyline. Location is just perfect with every thing so handy. Breakfast was awesome especially the green shots to boost your energy for a perfect start of the day. Surely coming back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had two days at Blue Sydney in late December. Arrival and check in was no drama. Fabulous room with huge bed. Unique surroundings. Had drinks in the bar downstairs.Service was fine. The walk into the city is a pleasant one, either across the domain or through the Botanical Gardens. It is a 1/2 walk but I enjoyed the exercise and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Adam T, General Manager at BLUE Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Augie M, Thank you so very much for taking the time to review your stay at Blue Sydney. I am pleased that you had a wonderful experience, and enjoyed our prime location on the harbour, and a stone's throw to all the main attractions Sydney has to offer. I am very disappointed about the feedback on the bell staff.... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Selected on the basis of good reviews but disappointed. Loft room very spacious, but bathroom tiny. Could not stand up straight in shower as roof so low, shower rose aims water at navel. Taps dripped all night, something continually banging on roof. A/c not able to cope with Sydney humidity. Hotel appeared to have very low occupancy. Staff good, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Adam T, General Manager at BLUE Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Holiday B, I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with you stay at Blue. We generally receive wonderful feedback on our Loft Suites given their size being split over two levels. The bathrooms are a little smaller than our standard rooms due to the building design but they do in addition have the extra toilet downstairs for... More 

Sydney
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
45 hotel reviews
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is fast becoming one of our favourite spots to spend a couple of city nights. It’s close enough to the hustle and bustle of the city to really relax (except for dinner time when the string of restaurants on the wharf gets quite busy, especially on weekends and holiday times). Staff are always lovely and welcoming and nothing seems... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam T, General Manager at BLUE Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Maruschka, Thank you so very much for this lovely review. I am so thrilled that as a return guest, you still love our hotel as much as we do. A large amount of our guests have stayed with us previously - and I think this says a lot about the product, but also the team. Please feel free to... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a wonderful stay this past weekend. The accommodation was wonderful and the staff friendly. We were astounded with the housekeeping staff. We had 2 requests and they were at our room within minutes of calling. The hotel was extremely busy over the weekend. The room was cosy and comfortable. The location is good and quite compared to Darling... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam T, General Manager at BLUE Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Sharon M, Thank you for staying with us at Blue Sydney. I greatly appreciate the time and effort taken also to post this review. It will be shared with the team. Our location is certainly one of our best assets I agree, though I am also thrilled that the staff could not do enough for you. It makes me... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this to stay overnight for our work Christmas party. The hotel is just stunning. We had a loft room which was amazing. The location is beautiful and everything you need in Woolloomolloo is right there. The iconic Harry's Cafe is just outside. The staff were so helpful and could not do enough for us. Valet parking was also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam T, General Manager at BLUE Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Tracey W, Thank you for your 'stunning' review! We love those ones. I am really chuffed that you had such a great experience at Blue, and even more pleased that the team exceeded your expectations. I will ensure I share this with the team and congratulate them. I do hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Adam Taloni More 

London
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Interesting decor to the Hotel. The restaurant was excellent and the location is quite interesting. Do take a walk along the side of the hotel. The pricing is a bit expensive but that can be expected from a premier hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam T, General Manager at BLUE Sydney, responded to this review

Dear MUK04, Thank you so much for staying with us recently. We appreciate you providing your feedback here on our Trip Advisor page. I am delighted you enjoyed our interesting location and the beauty of the area and quality of the array of restaurants along the wharf. I hope we are able to welcome you back again soon when you... More 

Terrigal, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When we arrived we found our room had been changed. We booked a Luxury Marina View King room for 2 night as we have done several times in the past. We were give a room on the 3rd floor and on the street. It was a big empty looking room, not cosy at all with the lower half of all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Adam T, General Manager at BLUE Sydney, responded to this review

Dear GW Gumley, Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. i am genuinely sorry that you were not happy with your room. Being a 100 year-old heritage listed wharf, rooms do differ in many aspects. It is often hard to deliver the exact same room a lot of the time. Many guests enjoy the quirkiness. Granted... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hi nice hotel near the water...third stay here and some of the furniture in room is a little dated but otherwise a good spot if you want to avoid the hustle and bustle of the cbd. Food was good but mini bar prices extremely Overpriced. Close to kings cross and good pubs around the area Ask for a room facing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Adam T, General Manager at BLUE Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Stu H, Thanks for dropping by! We appreciate your loyalty and repeat patronage here at Blue, and for taking the time to do a review. Water view rooms are our most popular, and are of course available for a small upgrade fee. Next time you book with us, please let Reservations know that I am Ok to give you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BLUE Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BLUE Sydney

Address: 6 Cowper Wharf Rd, The Wharf at Woolloomooloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (Formerly W Hotel)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — BLUE Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BLUE Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Blue Hotel
w Hotel Sydney
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#28 Business Hotel in Sydney
#38 Luxury Hotel in Sydney

899 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (815)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Deluxe Pier View King Room (98)
Viewed
Deluxe Pier View Loft Suite (94)
Viewed
Luxury Marina View Double Double Room (99)
Viewed
Luxury Marina View King Room (105)
Viewed
Luxury Marina View Loft Suite (117)
Viewed
Pool (15)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (14)
Viewed
Superior Wharf Room (102)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)
Viewed
Ultra Loft Suite (126)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay