We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 182 Sydney hotels

Metro Hotel Sydney Central

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   431-439 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Wi-Fi Offer
Save Saved
You added Metro Hotel Sydney Central to your Saves list
Metro Hotel Sydney Central
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
56%
Ranked #95 of 182 hotels in Sydney
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
quinni_224 Cowra, Australia
  • Reviews (140)
  • Photos (55)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (21)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    59
    47
    10
    4
See reviews for
31
40
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cowra, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have stayed here a few times and once again I cannot fault the staff or the accommodation at the Metro Hotel Sydney Central. I originally booked a one night stay, however due to changes in circumstances, I kept extending my stay. The staff did all they could to enable me and my family to stay in the same room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Echuca
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We recently went to the theatre to see the Lion King and the Metro. Central is right across the road, fantastic location and an easy walking distance to Central station where it's a gateway to all areas of the city and suburbs . It also is close to nice places to eat. Our room was one double I single and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear Mumadragon, Thank you for your recent stay in our hotel and for the positive feedback left regarding your stay. We are happy to learn that your stay with us was a pleasant one and that your found our location and service of great value. It is true that we are near all major attractions of Sydney and just a... More

Bendigo
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was initially nervous as the price was so good but was nicely surprised. Great staff- they even sent a mainteanance man to help with a troublesome phone charger! Clean rooms, smallvbut we didnt need more space, freat restaraunts and supermarkets, train syation so close

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear Natchick10, Thank you for staying with us in Metro Hotel Sydney Central. We are glad that you have enjoyed our hotel location and service provided. We always try to offer a good value for money accommodation to all our guests and we are happy to learn that we have succeeded in doing so with your latest visit. I will... More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Problems with entering the room, the key card did not work on multiple occasions. Other guests were requesting a transfer to another room as their room was too noisy. Overall, the hotel staff seemed a bit lost. This was part of the Lion King package, however would highly recommend staying at other accommodation near by such as Breakfree on George... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear Anne D, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We are all disappointed that you did not enjoy your time with us and please rest assured that we will always do everything within our power to resolve any issues that are brought to our attention. Please accept our apologies that you feel the... More

Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed there with my son as we were up to watch the All Blacks play Australia. I chose this hotel because the location was close to the railway station approx. 2 blocks. The forecast was bad so we wanted somewhere close. lots of pubs and places to eat close buy as well. room clean and tidy. Staff friendly. No parking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear John59Gong, Thank you for your recent stay at Metro Hotel Central and for the time taken to leave your feedback. We are glad that you have enjoyed our hotel's great CBD location and friendly service. It is true that our hotel is located in a great area for people visiting the city as there is a plethora of venues... More

Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were at this property with a group of 22. They handled things very well. You do have to pay for the internet but that seems to be standard. Breakfast was the same everyday but good variety. Great location for getting around in the city.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear Pam J, Thank you for your stay in our hotel and for the feedback left regarding your experience. We are always try to offer a good value for money accommodation with a friendly service and we are glad that we have succeeded this with your stay. Following our guest reviews regarding the internet charges, our hotel is now offering... More

Townsville, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great customer service, room wasn't ready when we arrived but the hotel offered to keep our bags behind the counter. Great location, in the middle of everything, walked pretty much everywhere with no problems. TV kept cutting out but that wasn't a problem, had my phone with me. Only problem I had was that the bathrooms were quite small considering... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear Nathan D, Thank you for your recent stay in Metro Hotel Sydney Central. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the service provided. I will forward your feedback to our team for your review. We will be looking forward to your next stay in August. Kind regards, Stefanos V. Operations Manager More

Tweed Heads, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I was surprised that this clean, well appointed and coveniently located hotel could be found in the city for such a reasonable price...Close to great restaurants, hotels, theatre and shopping......would definitely stay here again!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear KS, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for the time taken to leave your feedback. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and our hotel location. We always try to offer a good value for money accommodation with a friendly service and we are happy that this was achieved with your stay.... More

Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I stayed for 3 nights from 18th - 20th July 2014, and was more than impressed with the whole stay. Price was great, staff very friendly and helpful, rooms very clean and fresh. Location was amazing, easy walking distance to Darling Harbour, Paddy's Market, Pitt Street Mall. Within 50 metres of the hotel is the Capitol Theatre, great restaurants, cafés... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear Donnah H, Thank you for leaving a review for our hotel. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and hotel location. We will be looking forward to your future stays with us. Kind regards, Stefanos V. Operations Manager More

Bunbury
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed for 1 night in July to see the Lion King. The Capitol Theatre is across the road so great location for that. The rooms were ok bathroom ok, but the toilet was crushed into one corner, when I sat down my knees touched the wall in front of me. They were clean and reasonably quiet. Staff were ok... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear Rod H, Thank you for your stay and feedback left for our hotel. It is good to learn that you had an overall positive experience from your stay. I will forward you feedback regards the room amenities to our Maintenance team for their review. We will be looking forward to your next visit. Regards, Stefanos V. Operations Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Metro Hotel Sydney Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Metro Hotel Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel Sydney Central

Address: 431-439 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Hotel Sydney Central 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Metro Hotel Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Sydney with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Centrally located, 12-story hotel; close to Chinatown, Darling Harbor, Queen Victoria Building & 500m from Central railway station. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
220

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Metro Hotel Sydney Central and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Metro Hotel Sydney Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer