We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Metro Hotel Sydney Central

3.5 of 5 431-439 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Offers & Announcements
15%Off Superior Room Rate
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metro Hotel Sydney Central
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Metro Hotel Sydney Central
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    94
    65
    15
    7
See reviews for
41
64
17
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (213)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (56)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (60)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (63)
All months
Kingscote, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good price, good location but average room. You get what you pay for though. Was nice enough and clean which was great. Just no special extra touches or extra comforts that come with higher range hotels. Would stay here again as price is good and had no problems.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear Andthenkylieee, We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you found our property a good value for money option. We are a mid range hotel and, as such, we always try to offer great value for money options with a friendly service. Our location is great for travelers visiting Sydney for Leisure or... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed there as I could not get in where I normally go. I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel and would recommend to others and certainly stay there again. Its location was great, heaps of restaurants nearby, close to the theatre, central station and not far to Darling Harbour.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear Jim R, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for leaving your feedback pertaining to your stay here. We will be looking forward to your next stay and we hope that this will be an enjoyable one too. Kind regards, Stefanos V. Operations Manager More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here two nights, no major complaints at all. The checkin was quick and friendly, I had phoned a few days beforehand requesting a quiet room, and we had a corner room on the 7th floor with no road noise at all. They did advise that the there was no bath in that particular room and they could move... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Hi Raelyn33, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you have enjoyed your latest stay in our hotel. We always try to offer a good value for money option with a friendly service to all our guests and I am glad that this was achieved with your stay. We will be happy to have you stay with us... More 

Pesotum, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We originally checked into the hotel acoss the street. The air conditioning was broken and the windows in the room wouldn't open. They said that it wouldn't be fixed over the weekend. We headed across the street to the Metro. They not only arranged rooms for us, but they were cheaper with more amenities and larger than before. The hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear GrammyMarilyn, Thank you for staying with Metro Hotel Sydney. We are sorry to hear that your initial experience in our City was not a nice one and happy to know that our staff were able to assist you and book your accommodation in our hotel. I will forward your feedback to our front office team for their information. We... More 

Kochi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice location and can walk to most places in the CBD area. Even though no full time restaurant, lots of options available around the hotel. Stayed for 9 nights so the bathroom was a little cramped, got used to it though. Tall people might find it a little difficult. Will start again for the location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear Speedtime, Thank you for staying in our hotel during your visit in Sydney. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you took advantage of our great location to explore the city and its various attractions. We will be looking forward in your future visits. Kind Regards, Stefanos V. Operations Manager More 

Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is convenient to all transport. Ten minutes casual walk to main rail station and bus services. Light rail only five minutes away. Our room was a little bigger than most (superior queen) on 11th floor. Very quiet and good a/c. Bathroom was clean as was the room. It would be hard to find something to complain about. Breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Hi Graeme J, Thank you for taking some time to leave a review regarding your stay with us. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and that you have found our hotel a good value for money option. We will be looking forward to your next stay in the future. Kind Regards, Stefanos V. Operation Manager More 

Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Hotel is located a 10 min walk from the central train station and a few minutes walk to Paddys Market. Restaurants, Theatres, Bars and shops are all around.The Locating is great but beware of the noise from the street. Check in was quick and friendly. Stepping into the small elevator we got a bit of a shock. It looked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Hi Hhx2_12, Thank you for your recent stay and feedback left. We are glad that you have enjoyed our great location and that you have found our staff friendly and helpful. I will forward your feedback to our team for their review and action. We are sorry that some aspects of your stay were not satisfactory and we will do... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

To start with I was checked into a room that was occupied by another guest - quite the surprise to both of us - I tried to order room service but no-one answered the phone even after several tries - the wifi had one bar and was useless and to top it off we had two fire alarms during the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear Helen K, Thank you for your recent stay and feedback. After reading your comments about your stay I am concerned and sorry that your last stay met neither your expectations nor the high standards that we have set for ourselves. Please rest assured that we are testing our fire alarm system regularly according to the relevant regulations and it... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel for more than 10 times and always felt like at home because of the location, the accessibility of the hotel. The location is bang on CBD and is just 2-3 mins walk from the central station, the biggest and busiest station of Sydney. Hyde park, town hall, darling harbour, Sydney harbour are just walking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear Nitindaga1984, Thank you for your recent stay in Metro Hotel Central and for the great review regarding your stay. We are all glad that you had another pleasant stay with us and that you find our price and location good value for money. It is true that our hotel is in an excellent location for people visiting Sydney with... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rooms were clean, staff were friendly and extremely helpful. Beds were great and comfortable. Cleaning changed our towels and made the beds, so were really looked after. Staff couldn't do enough to please us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear Xavier, Thank you for your latest stay in our hotel. We are glad that you have enjoyed your time with us as we always try to offer a good value for money accommodation with a friendly service. We wish you all the best for your future travels and we will be looking forward to your next visit. Kind Regards,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Metro Hotel Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel Sydney Central

Address: 431-439 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Hotel Sydney Central 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Metro Hotel Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (67)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay