We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 182 Sydney hotels

Metro Hotel Sydney Central

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   431-439 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Wi-Fi Offer
Save Saved
You added Metro Hotel Sydney Central to your Saves list
Metro Hotel Sydney Central
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
57%
Ranked #93 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
1hdsoftail Tokoroa
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    61
    48
    10
    4
See reviews for
32
40
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokoroa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed for 3 nights to see Lion King, room had 2queen beds for 2 adults & 1 4year old child. Very roomy for us. Room facing main street (Pitt St) on 3rd level, no street noise at all. Very comfortable and clean. Needed Doctor for child, staff very efficient and helpful, called on call doctor for me, doctor advised to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear 1hdsoftail, Thank you for the recent stay in our hotel and for the feedback left. We are glad that you have enjoyed our location and the service provided as we are always tray to offer a great value for money accommodation with a friendly service. I am sorry to hear about the mishap with your little one during your... More

Canberra, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here one night in transit for $130 for twin room. Close to transport, shops, restaurants etc. Staff very friendly and efficient. Very comfortable, clean and well appointed rooms. Buffet breakfast for $17.50 pp. Would stay here again without hesitation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear LisaC2020, Thank you for your recent stay in Metro Hotel Sydney Central. We are glad that you have overall enjoyed your stay and service provided by our staff. We always try to offer a good value for money accommodation with a friendly service and positive feedback from our guests really helps our team spirit. We will be looking forward... More

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent value for money. Very clean and spotless bathroom! Location is super convenient: close to public transport, restaurants and everything else Sydney CBD has to offer. Check in and out was fast and easy. I booked directly from their website and got the best price available. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Hi Lin G, Thank you for your review and recent stay in our hotel. It is great to see that you have enjoyed your stay and service provided by our staff. It is true that our hotel is in a great location in the CBD of Sydney giving easy access to all the major attractions and city offices to our... More

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a twin bedroom room. Beds were comfortable, and bathroom was clean. Perfect for 5'5 people. Not so great for my fellow travelers who were 6 foot. Location is good. Noise was minimal, surprisingly. Little things that can be improved on, like the key card system, and providing water for tea/coffee, instead of filling up the kettle in the bathroom,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear Rebekah S, Thank you for staying in Metro Hotel Sydney Central. We are glad that you have overall enjoyed your stay with us and our value for money accommodation options. Regarding your bed size remarks, please note that our hotel offers various bed size options to cater for most needs. Feel free to contact our reservations team next time... More

Cowra, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed here a few times and once again I cannot fault the staff or the accommodation at the Metro Hotel Sydney Central. I originally booked a one night stay, however due to changes in circumstances, I kept extending my stay. The staff did all they could to enable me and my family to stay in the same room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear Quinni_224, Thank you for your recent stay in Metro Hotel Sydney Central and for the invaluable feedback left regarding your experience with us. We are glad that you have enjoyed your time here during your numerous stays with us and that you use our hotel for your accommodation whenever you visit our city. All our staff are always doing... More

Echuca
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We recently went to the theatre to see the Lion King and the Metro. Central is right across the road, fantastic location and an easy walking distance to Central station where it's a gateway to all areas of the city and suburbs . It also is close to nice places to eat. Our room was one double I single and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear Mumadragon, Thank you for your recent stay in our hotel and for the positive feedback left regarding your stay. We are happy to learn that your stay with us was a pleasant one and that your found our location and service of great value. It is true that we are near all major attractions of Sydney and just a... More

Bendigo
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I was initially nervous as the price was so good but was nicely surprised. Great staff- they even sent a mainteanance man to help with a troublesome phone charger! Clean rooms, smallvbut we didnt need more space, freat restaraunts and supermarkets, train syation so close

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear Natchick10, Thank you for staying with us in Metro Hotel Sydney Central. We are glad that you have enjoyed our hotel location and service provided. We always try to offer a good value for money accommodation to all our guests and we are happy to learn that we have succeeded in doing so with your latest visit. I will... More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Problems with entering the room, the key card did not work on multiple occasions. Other guests were requesting a transfer to another room as their room was too noisy. Overall, the hotel staff seemed a bit lost. This was part of the Lion King package, however would highly recommend staying at other accommodation near by such as Breakfree on George... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear Anne D, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We are all disappointed that you did not enjoy your time with us and please rest assured that we will always do everything within our power to resolve any issues that are brought to our attention. Please accept our apologies that you feel the... More

Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed there with my son as we were up to watch the All Blacks play Australia. I chose this hotel because the location was close to the railway station approx. 2 blocks. The forecast was bad so we wanted somewhere close. lots of pubs and places to eat close buy as well. room clean and tidy. Staff friendly. No parking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear John59Gong, Thank you for your recent stay at Metro Hotel Central and for the time taken to leave your feedback. We are glad that you have enjoyed our hotel's great CBD location and friendly service. It is true that our hotel is located in a great area for people visiting the city as there is a plethora of venues... More

Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We were at this property with a group of 22. They handled things very well. You do have to pay for the internet but that seems to be standard. Breakfast was the same everyday but good variety. Great location for getting around in the city.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear Pam J, Thank you for your stay in our hotel and for the feedback left regarding your experience. We are always try to offer a good value for money accommodation with a friendly service and we are glad that we have succeeded this with your stay. Following our guest reviews regarding the internet charges, our hotel is now offering... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Metro Hotel Sydney Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Metro Hotel Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel Sydney Central

Address: 431-439 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Hotel Sydney Central 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere, HotelsClick and Priceline so you can book your Metro Hotel Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Sydney with
any amenities