We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Metro Hotel Sydney Central

Hotel website
Hotel deals
431-439 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Offers & Announcements
15%Off Superior Room Rate
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metro Hotel Sydney Central
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Metro Hotel Sydney Central
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    95
    67
    15
    7
See reviews for
42
64
17
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (218)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (56)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (60)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (63)
All months
Shellharbour, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Good location across from Capitol Theatre. Good sized, clean rooms. Nicely appointed with bar fridge, coffee making. Even had an alcohol vending machine in the lobby. Buffett breakfast on 2nd floor (not included) and small rooftop pool. Good beds and quiet. No issues, solid choice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are all happy that you have enjoyed your stay and that you found our hotel a good value for money accommodation option. It is true that we are centrally located and that our guests have easy access to all attractions and places of interest in... More 

Tathra, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here for two nights for a work conference (held at another hotel nearby). Staff were pleasant and I had no trouble checking in or out. I had a room on the 10 floor non-street side, so the traffic noise wasn't a problem, but the view was of an unappealing wall of another building. The room was very small but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Hi Jeanette, We are glad that you have overall enjoyed your stay and that you had a nice time in Sydney. We always try to offer a good value for money accommodation and your feedback is invaluable to us. I will forward your remarks to our teams for their review. For any further feedback, feel free to contact us directly... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had the best six nights at this hotel. I cannot speak highly enough of the staff on the reservations desk. The hotel is central to everything. Ps. In fact you were so good we're coming back next year :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Hi Barbarah, Thank you for your kind feedback. We are glad that you have enjoyed your recent stay in Metro Hotels and that you found our hotel a good value for money accommodation option. I will forward your feedback to our front office team for their update. We will be looking forward to your stay next year. In the meantime,... More 

Cowra, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed here numerous times and once again I cannot fault the staff or the accommodation at the Metro Hotel Sydney Central. This time my brother and I stayed here overnight while in the city attending a concert. Like I have said before, the rooms have modern decor and are very comfortable. All the staff that we came into... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Hi Quinni_224, We are glad to have you stay with us once more and see that again you have enjoyed your stay here. We will be definitely looking forward to see you again in your next visit in Sydney. In the meantime, feel free to contact us should your require anything further and our team will be happy to assist... More 

Canberra, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at Metro on a recent trip to sydney with my mother and sister. We had a triple share room-was squishy for the three of us with luggage. Bathroom was dated-bath was stained, shower head wasn't high enough to stand under, no hooks to hang towels on. Mini bar freezer didn't work. A number of power points in room which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear Laura D, Thank you for leaving your feedback in regards to your stay here. We are glad that your overall experience was a good one and that you enjoyed our great location and ease of access to the City attractions. I will forward your feedback to our management team for their update. In regards to our room sizes, note... More 

Kingscote, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good price, good location but average room. You get what you pay for though. Was nice enough and clean which was great. Just no special extra touches or extra comforts that come with higher range hotels. Would stay here again as price is good and had no problems.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear Andthenkylieee, We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you found our property a good value for money option. We are a mid range hotel and, as such, we always try to offer great value for money options with a friendly service. Our location is great for travelers visiting Sydney for Leisure or... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed there as I could not get in where I normally go. I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel and would recommend to others and certainly stay there again. Its location was great, heaps of restaurants nearby, close to the theatre, central station and not far to Darling Harbour.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear Jim R, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for leaving your feedback pertaining to your stay here. We will be looking forward to your next stay and we hope that this will be an enjoyable one too. Kind regards, Stefanos V. Operations Manager More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here two nights, no major complaints at all. The checkin was quick and friendly, I had phoned a few days beforehand requesting a quiet room, and we had a corner room on the 7th floor with no road noise at all. They did advise that the there was no bath in that particular room and they could move... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Hi Raelyn33, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you have enjoyed your latest stay in our hotel. We always try to offer a good value for money option with a friendly service to all our guests and I am glad that this was achieved with your stay. We will be happy to have you stay with us... More 

Pesotum, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We originally checked into the hotel acoss the street. The air conditioning was broken and the windows in the room wouldn't open. They said that it wouldn't be fixed over the weekend. We headed across the street to the Metro. They not only arranged rooms for us, but they were cheaper with more amenities and larger than before. The hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear GrammyMarilyn, Thank you for staying with Metro Hotel Sydney. We are sorry to hear that your initial experience in our City was not a nice one and happy to know that our staff were able to assist you and book your accommodation in our hotel. I will forward your feedback to our front office team for their information. We... More 

Kochi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015 via mobile

Nice location and can walk to most places in the CBD area. Even though no full time restaurant, lots of options available around the hotel. Stayed for 9 nights so the bathroom was a little cramped, got used to it though. Tall people might find it a little difficult. Will start again for the location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear Speedtime, Thank you for staying in our hotel during your visit in Sydney. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you took advantage of our great location to explore the city and its various attractions. We will be looking forward in your future visits. Kind Regards, Stefanos V. Operations Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (67)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question