We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central

Hotel website
Hotel deals
431-439 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Special Price
15% off room rate
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

287 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    48
    122
    87
    20
    10
See reviews for
52
88
28
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (287)
  • Mar-May only
    (80)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (84)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (60)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (63)
All months
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed in this hotel overnight when in the City to watch the Les Miserables musical. The hotel is just across from the Capitol hotel. We stayed in a Queen room looking over Pitt street. There was a bit of noise at night from what seemed to be a group checking-in but overall sleep experience was good and we were not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear StefV83, Thank you for your stay an review. We are glad that you have had a nice stay during your recent visit and that you took advantage of our great location to watch a show at Capitol Theatre. I will forward your review to our front office team for their update. For all further comments, feel free to contact... More 

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my 3rd stay at Metro and it won't be my last! It is 5 mins from Central Station & Paddy's Market and is across the road from the Capitol Theatre. There has been an improvement with the quality of toiletries, which makes it perfect!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review and recent stay in our hotel. It is great to see that you have enjoyed your stay and service provided by our staff yet again. It is true that our hotel is in a great location in the CBD of Sydney giving easy access to all the major attractions and city offices to our... More 

Tasmania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 3 nights recently while attending the Netball World Cup. Great hotel for all our needs... We travelled by train to Olympic Park each day, & Central Train Station is literally a block away, nice short walk each morning. Didn't use the restaurant, but there were coffee shops & convenience stores around the hotel that made things easy.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. It is true that our hotel is located in an excellent area of the City with easy access to public transportation and other amenities. We are all glad that you have enjoyed your stay and we will be looking forward to your return. More 

Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was perfect for what we required! The room was clean, tidy, neat, and cosy. The location was great. Very handy for the purpose of our very short visit. The service was courteous and speedy. No complaints.

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this review

Thank you for staying in our hotel and for leaving a positive review regarding your experience with us. We are all glad that you have enjoyed your stay and that you found our property a good value for money option for your accommodation. It is true that our hotel is in a great location within the Central Business District with... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was clean except for a white stain on the floor near the bed! Clean bedding and bathroom. Toilet had seen better days and had spots in it which needed better cleaning or replacement. Staff not as friendly for check-in as other hotels. Breakfast is a buffet which is charged at $18. It is not so close to a train... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay in Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central and for the feedback left. We are happy to see that you have overall enjoyed your latest stay. I apologize if not all aspects of your room were in par with our cleaning standards and will forward you feedback to our housekeeping team for improvement. I will also... More 

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For $300 /night I expected a clean bathroom. What I got was mold on the tiles and a stained toilet. Old, basic room. The staff also tried to photocopy my Australian passport as condition of staying!. For a pre-paid room via Qantas travel, with credit card on record and a Australian citizen travelling from Melbourne for business this was unacceptable.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review regarding your stay with us. I am sorry to read that not all aspects of your accommodation were up to our usual standards and that your experience was not a very positive one. As we always try to offer a good value for money accommodation, we try to have clean well maintained rooms and... More 

Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed in this hotel for only 1 night (room 522). Overall experience - i am not coming back. The hotel room was booked through one of the big aggregators. Since i was first time in Sydney the choice was - near Central station, not far from Darling Harbour and Sydney Harbour, easy access to CBD area. The hotel wasn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stefanos V, Operations Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay and feedback. After reading your comments about your stay I am concerned and sorry that your last stay was unsatisfactory and that the issues you faced were not fully resolved to your satisfaction as this is not the experience we wish for guests to have. We always try to offer a good value for... More 

Wingham, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just had a weekend in Metro Sydney Central.Good location close to everything.We walked to a lot of the restaraunts and Paddys Market and Pitt Street Mall to shop.Buffet breakfast was good.Room was very clean and bathroom was good and clean as wel even though both are on the smaller end of the scale but fine for a weekendl. The 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stefanos V, Operations Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear Geoff k, Thank you for staying with Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central and for leaving us your feedback regarding your stay. We are glad to learn that you have enjoyed your stay. It is our goal to offer a great value for money accommodation with a friendly service to all our guests and we are happy to receive positive... More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

I've stayed here twice in the past few months. Once with my wife and daughter prior to an international flight, and once with a couple of friends to attend a concert. The reason for selecting the hotel the first time was because it is relatively cheap for Sydney and it is close to Central Station (about a 5 minute walk).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stefanos V, Opera at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this review

Dear RationalHaze, Thank you for taking some time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad that you have overall enjoyed the hotel location and room facilities during your stay. We always try to offer a good value for money accommodation with a friendly service and it is great to read that we have managed to... More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

The room was small but clean. The bathroom was possibly a little too small though. Being 6ft tall, the toilets are placed in an uncomfortable location requiring me to sit almost side saddle. I'm also not a fan of shower curtains or showers positioned over a bathtub as it means the space is very small for a taller person but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stefanos V, Operations Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay in Metro Hotel Sydney Central. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and service provided by our staff. I am sorry to hear about the issues that you faced with the room toilet location and i will forward your feedback to the relevant departments for their review. For all further comments, feel... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

377 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (92)
Viewed
Room/suite (39)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (17)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (269)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Junior Suite (49)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (40)
Viewed
Superior Queen Room (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)
Viewed
Triple Room (31)
Viewed
Twin Room (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
0.3 mi away
Metro Hotel on Pitt
Metro Hotel on Pitt
#83 of 177 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 stars 608 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#68 of 177 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 1,128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Y Hotel Hyde Park
Y Hotel Hyde Park
#105 of 177 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 stars 780 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#93 of 177 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 stars 659 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Sydney World Square
Ibis Sydney World Square
#107 of 177 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 stars 1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay