We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Westin Sydney

5.0 of 5 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Rate
Stay 2 nights offer
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Westin Sydney
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Westin Sydney
Write a Review

2,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,149
    604
    175
    78
    65
See reviews for
297
761
173
571
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2071)
  • Mar-May only
    (463)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (472)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (535)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (601)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

This was our second stay, the first in a tower block room which was large, well appointed and quiet. This time, we were accommodated in the heritage part of the hotel on the first floor, unfortunately immediately over the restaurant below and overlooking the atrium. This meant the blinds had to be permanently down for privacy as all folk walking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Janni821 Thank you for your sharing feedback following your recent visit at The Westin Sydney and we are disappointed to learn you were not entirely satisfied with your experience on this occasion. In the most part we have an enviable position, centrally located to most of Sydney’s attractions and we regret your accommodation room located in the Heritage building... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed in the historical building and had two rooms, one of which was renovated and the other was not. The service from only the reception staff was slack but others (baggage storage, bellman) were fine. The room has all the extras like Free TV and Foxtel but it lacked when it came to WiFi which should have been free for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed for a Friday night just over a week ago. Room was large and on a high floor with a pretty good view. Beds very comfortable, bathroom great but overall I'd call the decor bland. The reason we have stayed here several times is the location. You can walk to Circular Quay and The Rocks, Westfield, Darling harbour, lots of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review

Dear NicoleF106 We appreciate your feedback following your recent experience at The Westin Sydney. We are delighted you were comfortable in our accommodation room and you could take advantage of our central location and. We however regret our pricing offering felt short to your expectations. We do regularly review our products and upon next doing so will certainly do with... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
62 hotel reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here from 21-24th february and the location is in the heart of the city. Great location. It was about 500m from St James station, which is a direct airport express, very convenient. The hotel is very near to alot of amenities, malls, shops, great restaurants. When we arrived at 12pm, our rooms were ready, the check in lady... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review

Dear volvoc70m Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent visit. Our aim is for guests to leave feeling better than when they arrived and we were pleased to learn that our team was able to assist in making your stay comfortable. We also appreciate your comments regarding our rain shower and internet offering and... More 

Midlands, England
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The Westin is on Martin Place, about a 10 minute walk to Circular Quay and Darling Harbour, so it's very central. Our room was on the 7th floor so noise was not a problem for us. The room was set back and there were offices to one side, so not particularly private. The room itself was exceptionally well appointed, everything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review

Dear dottieD Thank you for sharing your review following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are pleased you took comfort in our accommodation room and you took advantage of our central location. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind regards Mark Burns General Manager More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My wife booked a room here to give us a night in the city in between early shifts at a nearby place of work. We had tickets for the theatre which was unfortunately cancelled due to cast illness. Nevertheless, we thought we'd enjoy our night in town. The room was large, the decor bland. We had a view of a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Chris F We are appreciative of your review following your recent visit at The Westin Sydney and we are natural disappointed to learn your experience felt short to your expectations. We sincerely regret our accommodation rooms were not to your liking and we are pleased to confirm that because of the location of our building none of our accommodation... More 

NZ
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We haven't stayed here for a few years and it is still a nice hotel in a good location but the service levels have dropped markedly. The standard room we were given looked into an office block and we could wave at the workers - which was not acceptable as we would have to keep the curtains closed. Ringing service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review

Dear 1nz Thank you taking the time to review your recent visit at The Westin Sydney. We are naturally concerned you were disappointed with your experience on this occasion and that we have fallen short of your expectations. Please accept our sincere apology and rest assured we will also be addressing your concerns with the relevant managers to further investigate... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

im currently being kept awake as im staying on george street room level 1 and its midnight. Kept awake by drunks and busses going past my window. Ive asked to be moved but as expected they say the hotel is booked out. For the money i wont be staying here ever again. Fyi room 136. My colleagues are on high... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review

Dear tigerov Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit at The Westin Sydney and we are disappointed to learn you were not entirely satisfied with you experience on this occasion. In the most part we have an enviable position, centrally located to most of Sydney’s attractions and we regret your accommodation room was subject to noise levels which... More 

Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Westin Sydney has a central location near shops and the CBD so that's a plus but while the convenience factor was there, the service was very disappointing. Three things went wrong the first day and that set the tone for us: 1. Upon check in, I asked the concierge to help book a nice restaurant as it was my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review

Dear TravellingJuicer We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are naturally concerned you were disappointed with your experience on this occasion and that we have fallen short of the very standards we set for ourselves. Please accept our sincere apology and rest assured we will be addressing your concerns with the... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When in Sydney we always stay at the Westin as we do in Melbourne at the Westin. We are always looked after well. The Sydney room are large and light and well serviced. Bathrooms are well planned with separate, closed off, showers and lavatories. The Mosaic is a good hotel restaurant, and the hotel is very well situated on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Alan S We are grateful for your continued loyalty and delighted to read The Westin Sydney is your home away from home following enjoyable experiences us. Thank yo for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Mark Burns General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Sydney
#13 Family Hotel in Sydney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#25 Luxury Hotel in Sydney

588 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (581)
Viewed
Bathroom (94)
Viewed
Room/suite (204)
Viewed
View from room (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (70)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (140)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay