We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 182 Sydney hotels

The Westin Sydney

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Westin Sydney to your Saves list
The Westin Sydney
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
85%
Ranked #27 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
GoldCoastOzzie Gold Coast
  • Overview
  • Reviews (1,812)
  • Photos (560)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (378)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

1,812 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,021
    517
    150
    66
    58
See reviews for
252
667
162
491
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

If you want to get burnt by scolding hot water after you have set the shower and all seems well then try room 307. The shower cycles from normal to burning hot to cold and back again. When you are on a short time line and off to the opera you have a cold shower. We complained and were moved... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Taree, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a truly wonderful place to stay in Sydney. It is right in the centre of the CBD and close to everything. The combination of the old architecture of the former General Post Office and the crisp modern hotel building gives the Westin Sydney a special charm. We love it. The staff are great from the moment you get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have stayed in many hotels but there was something special about the Westin. Lovely ambience and wonderful staff. The breakfast buffet was tasty with numerous choices. Our room was very comfortable, super king bed, bath and shower.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

It's not a romantic hotel. It's big, luxurious, everything works and the service is consistently good. It's the place to stay when you really need a good night's sleep (and a calm place to work). Even the gym's superb. No complaints. No suggested improvements. This one is the real deal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth WA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Really lovely place. great location, comfortable, great breakfast buffet and food quality. Service was good and meeting room very nice. very nice room and comfy bed. no toilets on ground floor where the bar is which is bizarre for a hotel of this size

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review

Dear PaulnJude Thank you for posting your feedback, we are naturally delighted to read of your wonderful stay. We are also pleased to confirm that we do have public amenities located on the lobby level however this facility is currently undergoing refurbishment. We are sorry if this has caused you any discomfort and we hope to have the opportunity to... More

California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

we just stayed 3 nights at the Westin Sydney. What a treat- We had club level rooms, access to great service and a good view at the club level. Amazing service by Dili ( club level staff- who at that teaches event/ travel industry management at local university- talk about living and working your passion), Megan, Emily- All amazing and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review

Dear mettebk Thank you for posting your feedback. We are naturally delighted to read of your wonderful stay and we very much appreciate your comments in recognition of our associates. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Sydney in the near future. Kind regards Mark Burns General Manager More

San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

LOVED this hotel, the location was great and walkable to Sydney Harbour and everything else we wanted to see. Public transportation is also close by as well as a good little grocery store. The restaurants in the lower floor are tasty and good for grabbing a quick bite before going about your day. Since we had status, we also had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review

Dear pinkfedora We are pleased to read The Westin Sydney has become your home away from home following an enjoyable stay with us. We are grateful for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Mark Burns General Manager More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our family of 3 adults and 2 children took the airport train and got to 1 Martin Place, a beautiful historic building, and saw no sign of the hotel. Literally, the hotel had no signage on that side, we had to ask and still coming in from the 1 Martin Place entrance you needed to walk a bit before spotting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review

Dear CoquiKIwi Thank you for choosing to stay at The Westin Sydney and for sharing your wonderful comments. We are naturally delighted you were comfortable in our care, however regret to learn about the difficulties you experienced finding the hotel and the pool at GoodLife Health Club. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Mark Burns General... More

Launceston, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My Husband and I stayed there for 5 nights for Business and then a few days of pleasure. We had a very warm welcome on arrival and check in was all very smooth starting from the concierge and then reception. We stayed in a beautiful spacious room on the 11th floor with a nice view facing onto the gorgeous town... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review

Dear DearneP It was a pleasure reading your review and we are delighted we exceeded your expectations. We are pleased you took advantage of our central location and took comfort in our accommodation rooms. Thank you for your recommendations and we look forward to seeing you again soon at The Westin Sydney. Kind regards Mark Burns General Manager More

Boston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had booked a two night stay even though i was technically only sleeping for 1 ntg (coming in on a redeye flight - wanted to make sure my room was ready). Things started to go wrong: 1. Took the front desk forever to check me in (new system apparently) 2. I was given a handicap room (since I was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review

Dear lgxtrip_boston We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent visit at The Westin Sydney. Service is certainly an integral element of any experience and we are disappointed we have failed to meet your expectations on this occasion. We sincerely regret to learn of your arrival experience and we are sorry if you were not served in timely... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Westin Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Starwood APAC, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

560 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (555)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (88)
Viewed
Room/suite (190)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (66)
Viewed
View from room (35)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (140)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Sydney with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#8 Business Hotel in Sydney #13 Family Hotel in Sydney #16 Romantic Hotel in Sydney #24 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
416

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Westin Sydney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer