We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 183 Sydney hotels

The Westin Sydney

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
The Westin Sydney
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Westin Sydney to your Saves list
85%
Ranked #27 of 183 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Felicity_ssimo Toronto, Canada
Write a Review

1,852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,038
    533
    153
    69
    59
See reviews for
258
680
165
505
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1852)
  • Mar-May only
    (460)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (473)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (469)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (450)
All months
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

You can't argue that the location of Westin Sydney is great. It's within walking distance to most of the main sights in downtown Sydney (and a couple hundred meters away from the main shopping area). There are tons great restaurant options nearby as well. Also, the hotel is attached to the General Post Office, a beautiful heritage building. The hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have stayed here multiple times over the years but will not stay here again. The arrogance of its check in staff with no empathy and lip service thrown in makes this beautiful 5 star hotel in the heart of town leaving left me a very distasteful experience. Apart from the very bad check-in experience plus all the other issues... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Dam375 We are sorry to hear about your recent visit at The Westin Sydney and if you do have any further details regarding your experience please do pass along at your convenience on westin.sydney@westin.com and we will ensure your comments are addressed with our team as appropriate. We further regret if our accommodations rooms did not meet your expectations... More

Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I arrived in the hotel earlier in the morning. The front desk staff was about to check me into the hotel first, offered access to the Club Lounge with some breakfast whilst waiting for my room to be ready. The staff at the Club Lounge gave me the room key, which was a very convenient and nice touch. I was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review

Dear JimmyTraveler2014 Thank you for choosing to stay at The Westin Sydney and for sharing your wonderful comments. We are naturally delighted you were comfortable in our care and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Mark Burns General Manager More

Cardiff
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Really enjoyed our stay in the Westin. The old post office building has been brilliantly converted with a glass ceiling which makes it feel light and airy as well as giving a view of the clock tower. Our room was lovely and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. It took us a couple of days to discover the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review

Dear BECCardiff Thank you for posting your review following your recent visit at The Westin Sydney and we are delighted to learn of your enjoyable experience. We also appreciate your comment regarding our internet offering and we sincerely regret if it did not meet your expectations. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon. Kind regards Mark... More

Maldon, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We just come back from our 3 weeks holiday, Sydney was our first stop at this wonderful hotel. We came here 6 years ago for our first time on our Honeymoon. We wanted to go Sydney for my 40th Birthday, my husband birthday and our wedding anniversary and we both agreed to go Westin Sydney without even looking at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Den C Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent visit at The Westin Sydney. We are grateful for your loyalty and delighted we could assist in a memorable experience for your wedding anniversary and birthday celebration. Thank you for your recommendations and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Mark Burns General Manager More

Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Great location, attached to historic building in heart of Sydney. Rooms have contemporary feel with huge bathrooms and comfortable bed. Lobby dining is unique and complimentary use of gym in adjoining building is convenient. Staff is friendly and helpful. Room WiFi was weak and had to go to lobby to get good connection

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review

Dear jasonpo We are pleased to read your review following your recent visit at The Westin Sydney and delighted you were comfortable in our care. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Sydney. Kind regards Mark Burns General Manager More

Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

A fabulous location this hotel was characterised by excellent service. No small was request was to difficult and the friendliness and professional service enhanced the Westin brand. The rooms, whilst comfortable, are a little tired and in need of refurbishment. The location is first class and close to shopping, the harbour and parks.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review

Dear MightyCats1234 Thank you for conveying your feedback following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney and we were pleased to learn of your enjoyable experience. Associates throughout The Westin Sydney strive to deliver a level of service which not only meets, but hopefully exceeds the expectations of our guests. I will take great pleasure in sharing your feedback with... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The location is good and easy to walk to tourist spots as well as shopping district. The hotel room is spacious and I like the separated shower area and toilet. It will make the stay perfect if they provide the slippers.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review

Dear GinnySam Thank you for taking the time to convey your feedback following your recent visit at The Westin Sydney and we are delighted to learn of your enjoyable experience. Thank you also for your comments regarding our slippers and we are pleased to confirm that we offer this item on a request basis; please ensure to mention this preference... More

Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in a Club room which included breakfast and evening drinks & canapés in the Club Lounge (unfortunately we didn't get to experience the evening goodies as we had too much on while we were in Sydney) The breakfast was very adequate, the bircher muesli and berry compote were my favourites as was a delightful small cup of smoothie... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Kaz780_11 We are very much appreciative of your review and thrilled to read your wonderful comments. Thank you also for your observations and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Sydney again soon. Kind regards Mark Burns General Manager More

Geelong, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and found the service and attitude of the staff at reception and at the door to be very poor.Maybe it is a Sydney thing.The building and rooms are very nice no view but to be expected at this location.The club lounge service was much better.The hotel restaurant well that is for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review

Dear hbgser Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent visit at The Westin Sydney. We are delighted you were comfortable in our accommodation rooms however regret to learn you were disappointed with the level of service provided by our Front Desk associates and Doorman. Please rest assured your comments have been addressed with our Front Office Manager for... More

Do you own or manage The Westin Sydney?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

568 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (563)
Viewed
Room/suite (192)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (88)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (66)
Viewed
View from room (35)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (146)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near The Westin Sydney