We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks

#56 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
75 Harrington Street | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Stafford Hotel Sydney)
Hotel amenities
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #56 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014
robahardman Angelsey
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    361
    116
    52
    30
See reviews for
146
449
31
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (842)
  • Mar-May only
    (229)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (119)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (255)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (239)
All months
There are newer reviews for Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks
See the most recent reviews
Angelsey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed here in March 2014 , a fantastic location for the Rocks , out of the hotel two small flights of stairs and you are right in the action , ferry tours , bars , train station, the Opera House and of course the bridge, all on your doorstep. We had a room at the top with a perfect... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ravi S, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this review

Dear robahardman, Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as we are always striving to improve our offering. It is great to read that you enjoyed being in the rocks right in the action part of Sydney and we are pleased to inform you that the feedback on the breakfast you mentioned... More 

Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Location is fantastic. Staff excellent. Highly recommend this hotel BUT don't be fooled by the heritage terraces accomodation like we were. Pics look passable but in real life it is sad. The terraces are just the facade and the inside looks like it had a makeover about the 80's, maybe early 90's &has been left there. Shabby& not chic!! However... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ravi S, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this review

Dear Debcan2014 Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as we are always striving to improve our offering. It is terrific to read that you enjoyed Location and Services provided by the staff at the hotel and we are pleased to inform you that the heritage terraces looking dated you mentioned has... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
86 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The location of this hotel, where we stayed for the second time, is very convenient. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and ours had a balcony overlooking Sydney Cove (when there are no cruise ships in the harbour...) However, the rooms start a bit to age, especially the bathrooms and kitchen areas. Breakfast is quite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ravi S, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this review

Dear Karel Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as we are always striving to improve our offering. It is terrific to read that you enjoyed the spacious rooms over looking the Sydney Cove and of course he location of the hotel in the Rocks and we are pleased to inform you... More 

cheshire
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights when we were in Sydney this month. Clean, comfortable and contemporary, and in a perfect location, 5 minutes walk from Circular Quay. Kitchen area was well appointed so self catering was an option which helped after a long day site seeing. Comfy bed and spacious room too. Of particular note was the friendly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ravi S, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this review

Dear velademar It is delightful to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope that you will stay with us on your next trip to Sydney and look forward to welcoming you back. regards More 

Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

The room was clean and comfortable with a small kitchen area. A great location right in the heart of the Rocks so it was close to numerous restaurants and bars and also the weekend markets. It was a short walk across the road to the Opera House and Circular Quay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ravi S, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this review

Dear Jane L It is delightful to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope that you will stay with us on your next trip to Sydney and look forward to welcoming you back. When booking your next stay, pre-book your breakfast on check in to enjoy... More 

Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for five days and it was clean and spacious. Although there was no view and not sunny. However, I wasn't there to stay in hotel all day. I found the service excellent and the location was the best to explore the Rocks area and the rest of the City. Near to transport links. Bit pricy but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ravi S, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this review

Dear Marion L We are so glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to post a review about Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks Thank you for pointing out excellent service you have experienced during your stay with us. As you mentioned, we are proud of our service we provide at... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Fantastic views of the Opera House, Harbour Bridge and city. Located within walking distance of most things including good access to public transport. Rooms clean. Pool and spa were great. Staff friendly and polite. We had an apartment which was big enough for a family of 4. King bed very comfortable. Kids said roller beds not that great. Unfortunately our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ravi S, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this review

Dear Gerrard95 Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as we are always striving to improve our offering. It is terrific to read that you enjoyed the spectacular views of the Opera House and Harbour Bridge, City we are pleased to inform you that the fridge you mentioned has been addressed with... More 

Tiny, Canada
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

My wife and I along with 3 other couples stayed at the Rendezvousfor 4 nights pre-Cruise and again 2 nights post Cruise. We had stayed at this Hotel in 2006 and enjoyed it then as we did this time. The price is right, the rooms are clean (nothing fancy), the service was excellent and the Location is Priceless. Just a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Blackall, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We paid $290 for a 1 br apartment and for the price, it was a let down. The Rocks is a fabulous place to stay and explore and we loved the location. There are similarly located hotels with comparable tariffs which will be our choice next time. The apartment was dull and superficial with no comforts at all. It was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ravi S, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this review

Dear Kim T Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you felt that your the hotel was overpriced on this occasion. I have taken on your feedback regarding rooms being dull and superficial and we are looking into solutions to resolve this. Happy to note you were happy with the... More 

Sydney
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Nice, clean room but with our TV broken (to be fixed Monday, on a Saturday night), painfully slow wifi and unhelpful staff, it would either be better to pay more money for a nicer hotel in a similar location, or get a cheaper hotel a little further away. I don't think it was worth the money paid.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ravi S, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this review

Dear Mel Thank you for your feedback and I do apologise that we did not live up to the excellent standards which we strive to provide. I was disappointed to learn that the TV was not working in your room. This is certainly unacceptable and will be addressing this as a priority to ensure this will not happen again. I... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

222 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (201)
Viewed
Room/suite (56)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (45)
Viewed
View from room (33)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question