We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

InterContinental Sydney

5.0 of 5 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Members Exclusive:25% Off
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
InterContinental Sydney
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
InterContinental Sydney
Write a Review

2,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,113
    613
    207
    65
    47
See reviews for
286
862
121
465
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2045)
  • Mar-May only
    (496)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (487)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (578)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (484)
All months
Europe
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Was a bit disappointed shelling out close to $400 for a standard room facing other buildings with parking and no breakfast on a week night as we expected something truly 5 star. The rooms were of decent size however the interior decor seemed like it hadn't been touched since the early 90s, could use a refurb. Simple things like tissues... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Mark_from_sydney, Thank you for taking the time to share the feedback from your recent stay with us in Sydney. Whilst it is great that you felt the hotel was in a good location, I was disappointed to read that your room did not meet your expectations. I have addressed in particular your feedback with our Executive Housekeeper as I... More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have stayed at many Sydney hotels over the years but in my view, you can't beat the Intercontinental in Circular Quay. It is in the very best location by far & the service is also amongst world's best. Within minutes I am; walking through the botanical gardens, eating in Sydney's best restaurants, seeing a production at the Opera House,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Heather F, We are delighted with your review and really appreciate the time you have taken to tell of your experience with us. It is wonderful to read that we could meet your expectations in so many aspects from the service our colleagues provide to our convenient location and the dining options available. Heather F, thank you for your... More

Doubleview, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I recently spent two nights on a business trip in this gorgeous hotel and what a difference it makes when staying in a classy establishment. The location suited me because it was close to my office. My room overlooking the bridge, opera house and harbour was spacious, clean and quiet. The service was excellent, the staff so courteous and professional.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review

Dear ABSViews, Thank you for taking the time to write a review via Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us whilst on a business trip and that our location was convenient to your needs. We do pride ourselves on the genuine service our colleagues provide and it is great that... More

Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just loved our stay at the Intercontinental. The place is in a great location and everyone is very helpful. The rooms are big and very clean with wonderful linens. Become a member of their travel program if you want free WIFI. Everything in the Hotel is very expensive so just don't plan to eat and drink here if you are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review

Dear flsuep, So pleased to hear that you loved your stay at the InterContinental Sydney. We appreciate you taking the time to provide a review and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you stay with us. With Kindest Regards, Joerg Boeckeler General Manager More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A wondrously luxurious hotel in the middle of the CBD. The room was bright and spacious, beds comfortable and décor immaculate with a touch of understated modern elegance. Our rooms had views of the beautiful rooftops of Sydney. We enjoyed almost uninterrupted views of Circular Quay, the Harbour Bridge & Opera House from the rooftop pool. The interior and exterior... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Elle B, Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We are all pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience with us. It is a delight that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay including the architecture of the Treasury building as well as the service provided by our team of colleagues. We look forward... More

beverly hills
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We only had two nights to spend, but what could be better? A beautiful, corner suite with a fantastic view of the harbor. Very conventinet to all downtown attractivons, including ferries. A delicious breakfast buffet (included). Friendly staff. Reasonable price for a 5 star experience. It was a WOW!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review

Dear beverlyhillsfoodie, Thank you for taking the time to provide a review from your most recent stay with us. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience in one of harbour suites and that you could make the most of our convenient location by some of Sydney's major attractions. We look forward to welcoming you back next time... More

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We booked in here due to the location and recommendations we had read. We were not disappointed. The hotel is very modern and crisp inside with very friendly staff. Check in was very smooth and as I am in their Ambassador program, I had a dedicated faster check in option. The room we had was a good size with an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review

Dear IRBtrip, We are thrilled to hear that you had such a great experience and thoroughly enjoyed your breakfast dining experience. Our team of chefs source the most freshest and local produce in order to provide the best variety for our guests - I'll be sure to pass on your comments to them. We are also delighted that you found... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Gorgeous bar settings built into a historic Building, great location, friendly staff, comfortable bed and fantastic views. The top floor pool with views was also lovely and the 24hr gym came very handy with a jetlag. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Lenka_Belsize, Thank you for taking the time write a review via Tripadvisor. We are so glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that you were able to make the most of our convenient location by Sydney Harbour. We look forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental Sydney soon! Best Regards, Joerg Boeckeler General Manager More

Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed Nov 16 to 22nd inclusive (7 Nights) at this wonderful Hotel with very friendly and courteous staff and nice facilities and beautiful rooms. Our room was a Harbour Bridge View Room on the 17th floor. We could also see one part of the Opera house and of course Circular Quay, always busy and interesting. At least 5 cruise ships... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Wolfgang H, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us here in Sydney. We are so happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay for the 7 nights that you were with us. Thank you for your kind feedback regarding our service and offerings, it is great that we could make... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I had a wonderfull weekend in this hotel. The location is perfect, very close to CBD. The service is very attentive and profesional, rooms perfectly furnished, the breakfast and room service are really good. The views are also really good i stayed in the 27th floor and it was stunning. I would recommend to anyone this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review

Dear LucySmith1986, We appreciate your kind review following your recent experience at the InterContinental Sydney. It is always great to be in a perfect location for a weekend getaway, and pleasing to read that we were ideal for your leisurely stay with us. I will certainly be sharing your feedback with our team of colleagues and look forward to welcoming... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to InterContinental Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Opera house(69)
  • Circular quay(43)
  • Club lounge(28)
  • Great location(21)
  • Harbour Bridge(21)
  • Very good(17)
  • Top floor(4)
  • Star hotel(4)
  • City view(4)
  • Buffet breakfast(3)

Additional Information about InterContinental Sydney

Address: 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 509
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Intercontinental

669 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (620)
Viewed
Room/suite (126)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (64)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (18)
Viewed
View from room (96)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
3:47
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (250)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (50)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay