We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

InterContinental Sydney

5.0 of 5 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Members Exclusive:25% Off
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
InterContinental Sydney
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
InterContinental Sydney
Write a Review

2,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,188
    661
    220
    65
    50
See reviews for
304
916
127
501
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (649)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2184)
  • Mar-May only
    (495)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (486)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (585)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (618)
All months
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Having stayed at various other hotels within the IHG chain and fairly happy with the brand service I decided to stay at the Intercontinental Circular Quay for a week with some friends within their Twin Deluxe Harbour Suite. I had already shopped around for the right hotel and location and was very pleased with the customer service I had received... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A stay at the Intercontinental with Club level access is as good as it gets. The club level provides the best view of the best harbour with service to match - not to be missed. Choose a botanic gardens view for the best view of the harbour.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Robert H, It is wonderful to hear that you had an excellent experience in Club InterContinental, right from the memorable view of Sydney Harbour through to the attentive service provided by our team. Club InterContinental is certainly a favourite among our guests. Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us and we hope to welcome... More 

Frome, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We arrived at the hotel following a flight from the UK (via Hong Kong) in the morning, but I had prepaid for our rooms accommodation for the night before so that we could check in early. Check in took a while as people checking out, but all positions were being used so couldn't be helped. It did not cause us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Janae10, Thank you for taking the time to share the insights from your recent stay with us in Sydney over the NYE period. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your choice of accommodation and the service provided by our Concierge team. We do also appreciate your patience upon your arrival to check in. I hope that should your... More 

New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

As expected, this hotel was a fantastic choice for our last stop on our whirlwind trip around New Zealand and Australia. Clean, had an excellent massage (only 2 rooms but they offer in room massages!), and the concierge service was outstanding. They were extremely helpful and made sure that we were happy with the selections they chose for us. One... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review

Dear marikaj79, So pleased that your last stop in Australia was with a fantastic stay at out hotel. I do appreciate you writing a review of your experience with the Odyssey Massage services as well as the personalised Concierge interactions that provided some in the know experiences. We do look forward to welcoming another opportunity to have you stay with... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We travel around the Australia during one month. This hotel was last place to stay in Australia. It's very safe and convenient to us. And all the staff were very nice and the concierge is great too. Thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Sangwoo C, So pleased that your last stop in Australia was an enjoyable experience with us at the InterContinental Sydney! I hope that should you have the opportunity to visit Sydney again that we might have the chance to welcome you back to the hotel. Best Regards, Joerg Boeckeler General Manager More 

Hobart, Tasmania
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
52 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Chose the InterCon for a variety of reasons for a 3-day long weekend in SYD. As an Ambassador member we're guaranteed a room upgrade and some other benefits. Location is perfect near Circular Quay for our purposes (visit to Opera House, ferry to Watson's Bay etc). And with Australia Day I wanted a harbour view to enjoy the boats sailing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review

Dear richmet, I am so delighted with the time you have taken to write a favourable review following your stay with us over the Australia Day long weekend. It is wonderful that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us from our Housekeeping team to our colleagues in Cafe Opera and I am so glad to hear that... More 

canberra
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A quality hotel with really helpful staff Some features did not match other Intercontinental hotels For example the complimentary fruit platter consisted of very basic fruit no seasonal fruit The smoked salmon at breakfast was of average to poor quality and there was no other fish choice similarly the cold meats choice was limited The cheese consisted of a tasteless... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Canberra01, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us here in Sydney. I do appreciate you highlighting the excellent level of service that you have received but also keeping us in the know that we didn't quite meet your expectations of food quality and variety. I have personally shared your feedback with... More 

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
95 hotel reviews
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is our favourite Sydney hotel and the third time we have stayed there in the past two years. As in the past excellent location and service with well appointed rooms. In the past we have rated our two night stays five star but not quite as good this time. Café Opera was a little disappointing and changes to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review

Dear GACASydney_Australia, Thank you for taking the time to provide a review via TripAdvisor. It is only through your valuable feedback that we can remain informed about our guests’ needs and their experience during their stay. I am so pleased that we have had another opportunity to welcome you back and that we are your favourite choice of hotel in... More 

Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I was very excited that this hotel had an excellent location. I was in a short walking distance to the Opera House, Harbour Bridge and the Rocks. I had a picturesque view of the Harbour and was able to follow the moon move across the sky during the night. The food was incredible and had a plethora of selections. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Stacey M, I am so pleased that you chose to stay at the InterContinental for the convenience of our prime location so close to Sydney harbour! We appreciate you taking the time to review your experience and that you enjoyed the variety of food and beverage on offer throughout your stay with us. We do look forward to welcoming... More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Well, sadly, we did not enjoy our High Tea at the Intercontinental yesterday. The seating was not configured for us and we had to ask to be moved to a table where we could look at each other instead of sitting side by side along a bench. Next, for all the reviews and advertisements saying you are greeted with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Annette B, Thank you very much for letting us know of your experience. I do hope you have received our private message that we have sent you. Best Regards, Joerg Boeckeler General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to InterContinental Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Opera house(69)
  • Circular quay(43)
  • Club lounge(28)
  • Great location(21)
  • Harbour Bridge(21)
  • Very good(17)
  • City view(4)
  • Star hotel(4)
  • Top floor(4)
  • Buffet breakfast(3)

Additional Information about InterContinental Sydney

Address: 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 509
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Intercontinental
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#10 Family Hotel in Sydney
#14 Business Hotel in Sydney
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sydney

702 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (652)
Viewed
View from room (113)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (87)
Viewed
Room/suite (150)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Dining (51)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
3:47
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (200)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (50)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay