We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

InterContinental Sydney

5.0 of 5 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
InterContinental Sydney
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
InterContinental Sydney
Write a Review

2,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,232
    677
    223
    68
    51
See reviews for
314
949
131
513
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (684)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2251)
  • Mar-May only
    (509)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (486)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (585)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (671)
All months
Maryland
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
70 hotel reviews
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars NEW

We loved the Intercontinental. We wrote in advance indicating we would have an early arrival, and they told us they would do their best subject to availability. We arrived from a long international flight at 7:30 in the morning and got into our room immediately. It had a great shower and bathroom, a comfortable bed, and wonderful sitting space. When... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Livingston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here for a couple of days before taking a cruise out of Sydney. Great experience right from the start. We arrived very early from a long US flight, and were prepared to wait for our room to be ready. To our delight, the room was ready before noon! And the room - a gorgeous view of the opera house... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed one night for our honeymoon mid week before moving on. Great location, walking distance to The Rocks, the harbour bridge and one exit is across the road from the botanic gardens. We were given a free upgrade to a amazing harbour view from where we could see out to the opera house and the botanical gardens and more.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wales, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
42 hotel reviews
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I had emailed the hotel in advance to check a couple of things and I must compliment Mitchel in the Instant Service Centre for his prompt and helpful responses. Many thanks also to the Hotel Management for noting our comments - gesture really appreciated. Arrived after a long flight and left our luggage as the room wasn't ready. We came... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review

Dear 19Nurse, Thank you for taking the time to share the insights from your recent stay with us in Sydney. I am delighted to hear that you loved your room and that Mitchell was able to assist in making your stay a memorable one. I will be sure to thank him personally for his efforts in making you feel welcome.... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed three nights over a busy weekend in February / March. Checked in early and received a complimentary upgrade which was great. The staff were very friendly, efficient and genuinely welcoming. The room was very clean and comfortable with fantastic views of the bridge and opera house. The room service was great and very prompt, unlike other hotels. The coffee... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Montgomery_12, Thank you for choosing to stay at InterContinental Sydney and for sharing your wonderful comments. We are naturally delighted to read about your enjoyable experience with us. Always great to read that our guests have taken delight in the approachable and personalised service that our colleagues aim to provide. I certainly am proud to be working with such... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We visited this hotel as part of a conference. The location is great, right in Circular Quay, and next to the botanical gardens - great for jogging. The amenities were not up to expectation, bottled water only in the mini bar. Wifi in the hotel was intermittent and not fast broadband. Restaurants were good, very nice lunch at the Opera... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Pieter H, Thank you for providing us with an opportunity to hear of your recent experience at InterContinental Sydney. So pleased to read that you enjoyed the convenience of our location as well as experiencing lunch in Cafe Opera. It seems there were a number of areas that fell short of expectations and I am grateful you've let us... More 

Whitianga, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here on a business trip. The room is pretty much standard for a hotel but the pillows were excellent. We had a choice of pillows to choose one to suit our preferences. The highlight was the breakfast. There is food for every taste and culture. It is a buffet style and it is good to try foods that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review

Dear JulieHewison, Delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! We appreciate your review and taking a moment to let us know that we were able to ensure a good nights rest for you by having a pillow available to suit your needs! I will be sure to share your feedback with our team about your buffet breakfast... More 

Arrowtown, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Intercontinental Sydney is a comfortable hotel with good service and the food is great. The room we stayed in over looking the eastern water front, was a little dated (esp the bathroom) and very noisy at night time. However a view looking at the Harbour bridge is stunning and the rooms much quieter. The hotel staff are very professional but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review

Dear RichardNewman, Thank you for sharing the kind review from your stay with us in Sydney. I am so pleased to hear that you found the hotel to be comfortable and that the service by our colleagues met your expectations. I hope that should you have the opportunity to visit Sydney again we might have the chance to welcome you... More 

Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed here for a work conference and have to say the staff really go above and beyond to make your stay the best they can. The rooms are large and very clean with a lovely big bathtub. My room had a beautiful view of the Harbour Bridge and the Opera House which was lovely to wake up to. Also,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review

Dear tina_elle, I am so pleased that we were able to really provide you with a personalised and memorable stay with us for your most recent visit to InterContinental Sydney for a work conference. It is great that we were able to meet your needs with relation to your specific food allergies and that you enjoyed the meal options provided... More 

Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Booked in for four nights. Arrived at midday, room not ready and they offered to look after luggage and phone us when ready. A credit card "hold" was taken from our credit card (it didn't affect us at all as we have a high limit). We went for lunch at circular quay five minutes walk away, no call received and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Retiredwaster, Thank you for taking the time to share the feedback from your stay with us in Sydney. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us, however I would like to apologise that you had not received a call that when your room was ready. I will be sure to share... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to InterContinental Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Opera house(69)
  • Circular quay(43)
  • Club lounge(28)
  • Great location(21)
  • Harbour Bridge(21)
  • Very good(17)
  • Star hotel(4)
  • City view(4)
  • Top floor(4)
  • Buffet breakfast(3)

Additional Information about InterContinental Sydney

Address: 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 509
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Intercontinental
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#10 Family Hotel in Sydney
#14 Business Hotel in Sydney
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sydney

724 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (678)
Viewed
View from room (115)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (153)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (87)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (21)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
3:47
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (218)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (46)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay