We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oaks Hyde Park Plaza

4.0 of 5 38 College Street | 38 College Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Offers & Announcements
Stay Longer and Save!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    113
    106
    70
    78
See reviews for
68
123
33
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (449)
  • Mar-May only
    (101)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (88)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (150)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (110)
All months
There are newer reviews for Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My brother and I stayed there and we were impressed with finding a person who had access to a few rooms in the hotel which we got for good pricing (depending on time of year, ranges from about $109-$129 per night). The rooms were a little old but we had views, depending on which room you are given. We also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksHydePark, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stat at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza. We are pleased that you found the room value for money and that you enjoyed the facilities that were available during the time of your stay. Oaks Hyde Park Plaza is currently undergoing renovations in a number of rooms to maintain a high... More

London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Absolutely disgusted with our stay here. The room was dirty, corridors were old and poorly maintained, pool was filthy. There were hairs in the bathroom, the crockery in the kitchen was dirty and the window in our first room was so dirty that you couldn't even see out of it! Staff knew there were considerable problems with the hotel, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
OaksHydePark, Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your stay. As this was during Mardi Gras 2012, there have been a number of upgrades within the building, including current renovations within our rooms and by the end of this year, we are hoping that all units and lobby area will be complete. Our renovated units are very modern and... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Booked a room to accommodate a family of 5 back in july. A week before we arrived we were told that that room will not be available. They gave us a studio with two doubles and a sofa bed. The room is not much bigger than a standard bedroom with a tiny kitchen and a bathroom that you basically step... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
OaksHydePark, Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. By reading this comment, it appears that you have stayed in a privately owned room instead of an Oaks Hyde Park Plaza room. If this is not correct can you please contact our Customer Feedback office at customerservice@theoaksgroup.com.au as soon as possible so we can have this rectified. More

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I booked at the Oaks Hyde Park Plaza for 4 nights due to the location and rooftop pool overlooking the city. Very disappointed when told on check in that it was being renovated until Feb, didn’t really understand how a renovation can occur on a pool during summer?? It is stated on the website though, so I will knowledge that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OaksHydePark, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience after your recent stay at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza. Please accept our apologies for the issues with the television and kitchen range in your room during your stay. We are currently in the process of refurbishing many of the apartments, which will see full upgrades such as the kitchen and... More

Neuss
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had decided to relocate the hotel in the outskirts of Sydney to downtown in order to avoid the expensive taxi costs inside and outside the city. We were booked into the OAKS HYDE PARK PLAZA. We went there and found that they seem to have appartments only. 2 people - 2 days had to pay an amazing high 750... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
OaksHydePark, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay at the Oaks Hotel and Resorts. We understand from time to time items within the apartment need to be replaced due to wear and tear, but this does not excuse the cleanliness of the apartment and for this we apologise. The house keepers have been spoken to in regards to this... More

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Thanks for the amazing service, your receptionist Karen was amazing, she went above and beyond to make sure we were happy, thanks Karen The location of this property was ideal located in the heart of Sydney, across from the lovey Hyde park, wonderful to take a stroll through, also 2 blocks down from Pitt street mall,

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksHydePark, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding the customer service standards at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza. It is great to hear that Karen went above and beyond to ensure your stay was a pleasant one. We look forward to seeing you in the near future. More

Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
41 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

A business trip a few years ago, renting a one-bedroom apartment on the 4th floor. The apartment was privately owned. It was clean, bright, and had everything one could want. The location was excellent. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksHydePark, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at The Oaks Hyde Park Plaza. We are happy to hear it exceeded your expectations being so close to major city attractions and you highly recommended the hotel. More

Geelong, Victoria AUSTRALIA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I don't like writing bad reviews but after staying two nights here on a trip to Sydney recently i'm afraid only one word comes to mind when I try to describe this hotel - dodgy. I booked what was called a 1 bedroom apartment 4 star. I'm not sure who allocated the stars because it most definitely wasn't 4 star.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
OaksHydePark, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review

On behalf of Oaks Hotels & Resorts I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the overall disappointment that was felt during your stay with us. While we make every effort to provide guests with a favourable experience that exceeds expectations, it is obvious that on this occasion we failed to do so. We are currently under going... More

Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I had to stay here on a business trip to Sydney for a 1 week period. My rating is based on the type of hotel and the star rating (a Sheraton, Hilton or Park Hyatt it is not) and why I was there. The staff on reception on all occasions were very friendly and helpful. Each time coming back to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OaksHydePark, Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza. We are pleased to read that the facilities in your room ensured a comfortable and pleasant business trip. We are currently in the process of refurbishing many of the apartments, which will see new upgrades such as the bed and television. It is lovely to hear... More

Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Please I just spent 7 days of hell at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza. They claim to be 4 stars even 4.5 stars but nothing works! NO digital TV..hell no channels apart from the ABC?! Seriously, not even Foxtel! Airconditioning has the funky smell in some rooms, others you're lucky it even works! The staff there play musical rooms, whereby they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
OaksHydePark, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for forwarding feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks. We were sorry to read of your disappointing experience. On behalf of Oaks Hotels & Resorts, I would like to apologise for the lack of customer service during your stay at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza. I sincerely apologise for the odour associated with the air conditioning it’s currently in... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Oaks Hyde Park Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Hyde Park Plaza

Address: 38 College Street | 38 College Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Hyde Park Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Oaks Hyde Park Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza Hotel Sydney
Park Plaza Oaks Hyde
Hyde Park Plaza Sydney
Sydney Park Plaza
Park Plaza Sydney

139 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (125)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (41)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay