We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

5.0 of 5 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Write a Review

3,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,984
    888
    333
    148
    87
See reviews for
450
1,679
183
588
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (985)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (3440)
  • Mar-May only
    (784)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (848)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (890)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (918)
All months
There are newer reviews for Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
69 hotel reviews
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have now stayed at this hotel on several occasions and it is consistently 1st class. We had a room with a view of the Opera House and Circular Quay so one can sit and just view the comings and goings of Sydney Harbour.Th rooms are well maintained,housekeeping is spot on and the room is a generous size. Location is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is our hotel of choice in Sydney .this visit we were a party of five. We had a medical emergency during our stay. The staff responded quickly and efficiently. Advised hospital to attend ,got ambulance quickly, arranged early morning supper on our return etc. superior service from caring staff and management arranged very late supper on our return(early hours... More 

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Loved our stay here the staff are actually trained in hospitality from our first phone contact to the last valet car return the service was impeccable. Great location, nice spacious rooms, food was good but not outstanding. Had lunch in cafe, slow cooked goat left me a little upset in the tummy, room service and buffet breakfast. For the price... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jupiter
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

If you are looking for a deluxe 5 Star hotel in Sydney - definitely forget the Shangri La and go with the Four Seasons. The hotel elevators alone would be reason enough to avoid this hotel. In the mornings & especially in late afternoon there were LINES of as many as 40 people waiting to get on an elevator!! One... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul M, Director of Sales & Marketing at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Harriet W, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your stay. In regards to the lifts I am sorry you had to spend an excess amount of time waiting for the lift. We have been doing some upgrades with installations of accessible buttons so I suspect this... More 

Urunga
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

When you book a 5 start hotel you expect it to be 5 star and when it's not its so disappointing . Stayed for 4 nights , booked a twin room when we arrived we were put in a disabled room on the 35th floor - why you would put a disabled person so high up in a hotel for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul M, Director of Sales & Marketing at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Kate V, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm very sorry to hear about your experience and how your room configuration was not as you requested. May we ask for more details of your reservation and stay so we can look into the matter further? Please email our Resident Manager, Milan, directly through milan.drager@shangri-la.com. We... More 

Newport Beach, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We spent two nights at the lovely Shangri-La Sydney hotel prior to departure for the Seabourne Odessey cruise, which was recommended by the cruise line. We had a very nice room on the 34th floor with a panoramic view of the harbor. The Horizon Club offers a delicious buffet breakfast and complimentary beverages throughout the day. The complimentary WiFi and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned from 5 nights at the Shangri La. From the moment we entered the room we were overcome by the spectacular view of the Harbour, Sydney Opera House, cruise Ship Terminal and Circular Quay. The facilities are brilliant and the staff make the place even more special. In particular Henry Cheng the night manager went out of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Only stayed one night in a suite, but we had an excellent room with harbour views. Very clean and well appointed. We took advantage of the club lounge and had some delicious room service. It deserves its 5 star rating. Easy check-in and check-out. I would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Based purely on the almost $2000 per night I paid...I would expect the aironditioner to work in the bedroom as well as the sitting room. And not have to phone 4 times and wait one night and most of the following day before it is looked at. Then still to find it cannot work in both rooms simultaneously . Absolutely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Paul M, Director of Sales & Marketing at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Jan M, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience. I'm very sorry to hear about your concerns with the airconditioning in your room and the service at the Horizon Club. This is not indicative of the level of service we provide to guests and rest assured we will take corrective action. I hope that you... More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I were lucky enough to have a romantic night away from the kids and this was so far removed from our normal life. From the moment we valet parked the car and walked into the foyer we were on cloud 9 and it only got better.... We had booked a room with the view of the Opera... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Opera house(162)
  • Horizon club(59)
  • Circular quay(51)
  • Room service(45)
  • Very good(35)
  • Cafe mix(18)
  • Great location(17)
  • Rocks area(8)
  • Blu Bar(5)
  • Friendly and helpful(5)

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Amex, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#7 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#16 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sydney

1,491 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1257)
Viewed
Room/suite (450)
Viewed
Dining (69)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (104)
Viewed
View from room (269)
Viewed
Bathroom (106)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
1:30
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (250)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (197)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Deluxe Darling Harbour Room (114)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (15)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay