We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

#20 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Write a Review

3,620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,083
    938
    351
    159
    89
See reviews for
470
1,791
189
609
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,054)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (3620)
  • Mar-May only
    (871)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (847)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (890)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1012)
All months
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Me and my boyfriend booked the Executive grand harbour View suit which in the description of the hotel says situated from the 24th floor and above and VIP express check in. As this was a special occasion for us we payed fairly extra for this executive grand harbour suit and on my occasion of booking I also specify several times... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Our room was nice, good view of harbor, though small issues that were fixed, clogged drain, etc. The room smelled and we had them re-clean it, though it still had odors. We stayed 5 nights and expected the breakfast buffet to get updated a little each day, it did not. They offered several fruits that were canned. We had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul M, Director of Sales & Marketing at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Dear DQCONE, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our aim is to exceed guest expectations and clearly on this occasion we have fallen short on delivering a personalised level of service, especially with your breakfast experience. I do hope that you will give us another opportunity to restore your confidence in our hotel. We look forward... More 

cheshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed for a girlfriends 4oth birthday weekend.Room was spacious, clean & was decorated well. The view of the bridge & Opera house was amazing. Had drinks in the cocktail bar on the Friday night, (although very crowded) service and view was excellent. We only had breakfasts in the hotel, which has was good, but coffee service wa slow. Th location... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul M, Director of Sales & Marketing at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Dear nickiCheshire, Thank you for taking the time to review and for celebrating your friend's birthday with us and it's fantastic to hear that our colleagues made your stay memorable. Blu Bar is one of Sydney's signature experiences and it's wonderful that you had a great time. We look forward to you next visit to Sydney. Best regards, Paul More 

Whangaparaoa, New Zealand
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
56 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed here whilst on a weekend break in Sydney. Firstly, I can't fault the staff on check in...very friendly and efficient. The room was OK, not great, just OK and that's where the problem starts - this is the Shangri La so you expect it to be great... We paid for a Harbour view and yes,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Paul M, Director of Sales & Marketing at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Dear 777pj777, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm glad to hear that our colleagues delighted you during the arrival process. With your experience on level 36, thank you for patience as Blu Bar is a public bar and by law we are required to open its doors to both in-house guests and casual patrons. For... More 

Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is clean and nice. However, when the cruise ships are in dock, the hotel is packed! We had to wait up to 10-15 minutes just to get an elevator. We almost missed our transportation to an event because we could not get an elevator to get down to the lobby. Also, the lobby was overrun with cruise ship... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Paul M, Director of Sales & Marketing at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Rhonda A, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We thank you for your patience with the lifts, as they do tend to get busy when the hotel is full. I hope this experience will not mar your overall impression of our hotel and that you will visit us again when return to Sydney. Best regards, Paul More 

Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
32 hotel reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had a fabulous Opera house and Sydney Harbor view room on the 15th floor. Location cannot be beat--right in the middle of the Rocks section of Sydney and only a 3 minute walk to where the Sydney Harbor Bridge Walk starts. Beautiful room with wonderful window seats to enjoy the view--direct view of the Opera House and all the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul M, Director of Sales & Marketing at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Dear clarkelovetotravel, Thank you for your wonderful review and it was a pleasure reading about your experience. The harbour views from our rooms are quite mesmerising and it's tempting to just stay in and watch all the activity. Anticipating guest needs is one of the foundations in our company and it was our pleasure to arrange your early breakfast. We... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Horrible service, long line ups for the elevator and swimming pool doesn't work. Asked to go to Four Seasons hotel for kids to use swimming pool which is across the street, and walk back in wet clothes. Food service is not up to the mark. Not a Five star service, except view of the Harbour, not much to write about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul M, Director of Sales & Marketing at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Anmol K, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We thank you for your patience with the lifts as they do get quite busy when the hotel is full. I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the food service, and we would highly appreciate if you could give us more information as this will... More 

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great view from room 2611- paid AuD 700 for one night - no hot water in the morning for a shower !,, I have stayed a lot of Shangri La hotels and I am giving a rating of 2 instead of a 1 only because of room view. When I told the front desk about the lack of hot water... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Paul M, Director of Sales & Marketing at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Sridhar R, Thank you for your honest feedback about your recent stay. I'm very sorry to hear about your bathroom issue. Our aim is to exceed our guest expectations and clearly on this occasion we have fallen short. Whilst I cannot turn back the clock I would hope that you do give us an opportunity to renew your faith... More 

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Having stayed at alot of different types of hotels around the world, the Shangri La is very good but there were a few minor missteps on the way.Firstly, the lobby is clean and spacious and the check-in staff faultless, but when we got to our allocated room it had not been cleaned from the previous guests with dirty towels and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul M, Director of Sales & Marketing at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Dear marky2769, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm sorry to hear that you weren't completely satisfied with your stay, and pleas accept our apologies for the room allocation error during your check-in. I hope you will give us another opportunity to restore your confidence in our hotel, and we can assure you that we will... More 

Stavanger, Norge
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

we had room 1612 with the best view over the rocks , .stunning view of the harbour. It was perfect. is was a dream room ,if you get it :-) its a fantastic location . Definitly reccomend getting a room if you get the view.. Good restaurant as well on the topp floor...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul M, Director of Sales & Marketing at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Dear fjord68, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Glad to hear you enjoyed the stunning harbour views from your room. For your next visit, we highly recommend our newly refurbished Horizon club rooms and suites, which come with exclusive benefits such as late check-out and access to our Horizon Club lounge. We look forward to your... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Opera house(132)
  • Horizon club(46)
  • Room service(39)
  • Circular quay(37)
  • Very good(26)
  • Great location(15)
  • Cafe mix(13)
  • Rocks area(6)
  • Friendly and helpful(5)
  • Blu Bar(4)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,551 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1317)
Viewed
View from room (293)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (113)
Viewed
Room/suite (467)
Viewed
Dining (72)
Viewed
Bathroom (108)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
1:30
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (255)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (197)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Deluxe Darling Harbour Room (114)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (15)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question