We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

#21 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Add Photo Write a Review

3,812 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    2,205
    984
    365
    166
    92
See reviews for
494
1,899
199
640
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (3812)
  • Mar-May only
    (1062)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (848)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (890)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1012)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

I stayed here for one Saturday night during Vivid in 2015. I stayed in room 2417 which is the 24th floor overlooking the Opera house and circular Quay. The view was nice, the bed was properly king sized, the room climate control worked very well and was silent.The free wireless internet was pretty good, the log-in system was simple to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Had stayed at this hotel while on business. The service from the staff were flawless - friendly and attentive. The room was luxurious, clean, modern, and spacious. The top floor bar is great to wind down after a long day of conference meetings.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We just spent three nice nights at this hotel . Beds are comfortable , rooms quiet and dark and the staff very helpful . It's a great location from which to explore the CBD of Sydney as well as Circular Quay and The Rocks areas . Also quite handy to the train stations from the Airport. What more could you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I'm from Sydney so this was just an overnight stay for us as we wanted to stay in the city, we thought we'd try the Shangri-la hotel as it recently had a reno; this was my first stay in this hotel. We booked a horizon opera house view king room. Firstly the good points, room size was awesome, bed very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Recently stayed here for 3 nights and loved the big room and big marble bathroom. The service was very good and staff friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast was great with a good choice. A couple of issues such as not receiving prompt responses to emails sent and a hiccup with a pre-payment for our rooms which they said they hadn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

First and foremost the Horizon club lounge package is a deceptively-advertised scam. Lounges conjure up the idea of exclusivity, service and luxury. None of these are realised in the experience. Note to the management - a limited and uninspired buffet does not equate to canapés. The lounge was packed with all manner of people including families with small children (and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Paul M, Director of Sales & Marketing at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Wylie B, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. I'm sorry to hear your disappointment with the Horizon Club and we appreciate your patience with the breakfast service. I have cascaded your feedback to our Horizon Club team and we do hope you will give us another opportunity to restore your confidence... More 

Clinton, Maryland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Nice-looking rooms. Pricey but very clean! Beds uncomfortable...like they are on a wooden table or something. Too big to get an personal attention. You're pretty much ignored after check-in. Much much much better than the Shangri-La Cairns, which is a complete and surprising dump!!!! Suggest staying at the Four Seasons if you want an expensive chain property. At least the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul M, Director of Sales & Marketing at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Dear lawnut2002, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm disappointed to hear that you were not pleased with your recent stay and that you felt there was a lack of a personal touch. We would highly appreciate if you could provide more feedback as this would be helpful in identifying areas for us to improve. Please... More 

Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Lovely and luxurious hotel, great service, friendly staff, stunning views over the Opera House and Sydney Bridge. Very spacious rooms and super comfy beds and pillows, really not much else could be improved! And of course the top floor bar to die for (although very pricey menu!)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul M, Director of Sales & Marketing at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Jazz_Ocean, Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney. We pride ourselves on our uniquely Asian approach to hospitality and personalised service and I'm glad that you were delighted from start to finish. Blu Bar truly is one of Sydney's signature experiences and I hope you had a memorable experience there as well.... More 

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Whilst the reception and interior of this hotel isn't spectacular, the view from my room was one of the most breathtaking scenes across both Sydney Harbour bridge and the Opera House that are available in this city. I had a corner room on the 11th floor and it was large, spacious and with windows across the entirety of the long... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul M, Director of Sales & Marketing at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Simon D, Thank you for choosing to stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney. I'm very pleased to hear you enjoyed your corner room with full views of Sydney Harbour. For your next stay, I highly recommend staying in our newly refurbished Horizon Club rooms and suites from levels 30 and up which come with exclusive benefits such as club lounge... More 

Northallerton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Shangri La for 4 nights following a 4 week trip to Melbourne it was a fabulous experience on arrival after an early flight from Melbourne our room was all ready for us it was the most luxurious room with views over the Opera House and the Harbour Bridge we looked out over circular Quay and watched... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul M, Director of Sales & Marketing at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Kidda2014, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Excellent to hear that our colleagues were able to delight you during your stay and that you were pleased with your room appointments. The view is quite spectacular from our Grand Harbour View rooms and it is quite tempting to just stay in and watch all the activity... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,627 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1393)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (117)
Viewed
Room/suite (488)
Viewed
Dining (86)
Viewed
Bathroom (111)
Viewed
View from room (310)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
1:30
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (271)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (197)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Deluxe Darling Harbour Room (114)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (15)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay