We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Menzies Sydney

Hotel website
14 Carrington Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Menzies Sydney
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Menzies Sydney
Add Photo Write a Review

3,943 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    705
    1,596
    1,128
    363
    151
See reviews for
969
1,423
348
712
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (3943)
  • Mar-May only
    (1137)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (967)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (805)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1034)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 1 night over the Vivid Light Festival period held in Sydney recently, lengthy queue to check in, but professionaly and friendly service provided by consierge so check in flowed quickly. Room was clean and comfortable and have everything that we needed for a 1 night stay. Did not eat at the restaurant so cannot comment on this.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here a few times for work as location is great and price is generally very competitive. I have a real soft spot for this great old hotel. However my opinion now is I will probably look for accommodation elsewhere when in Sydney. The room we stayed in (634 from memory) had one of the worst bathrooms ever, in fact... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed one night on a business trip as my meetings were nearby. Arrived at 11pm and check in was very easy. Booked via Qantas as part of my flight booking. The best part was getting free Internet through my Accor membership which you can sign up on the spot so effectively you get free internet. Hotel is a bit older... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
h2977-gm01, General Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Victor K, Thank you for your feedback. The hotel is one of the most historic in Sydney and as such there are some aspects that reflect this heritage. However, we ensure the rooms and facilities are neat, tidy and very well maintained. A room refurbishment is in our capital expenditure plans which will result in a substantial improvement to... More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The room that I was given was on the 14th floor - yay, was my initial thought. That however was short lived. My room was located next to the lifts. The lifts, through the wall, were extremely noisy and therefore it took me some time to get to sleep, basically I didn't sleep until the lifts were no longer being... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
h2977-gm01, General Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Lisa T, Thank you for your feedback. I'm so sorry to hear that you had difficulty sleeping due to noise outside of your room. Please ensure that you contact the manager on duty should you have any issues during your stay and they will find a solution for you. I hope that you will consider the hotel again for... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

What a grand dame The Menzies is! Stayed there on my 50th birthday this year and was treated to a bottle of sparkling and chocolates! Spacious rooms, plenty of breakfast, great location - it's the ideal overnight spot when needing to be in the heart of Sydney 😊

Was this review helpful? Yes
h2977-gm01, General Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Angela C, Thank you for your lovely review. I'm so glad that you had such a great time celebrating your 50th birthday with us at The Menzies Sydney. We hope to celebrate many more birthdays with you in the future. Many Thanks, Michael Smith More 

Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel is in a great location opposite Wynyard station - both from getting the train from the airport to going to shopping and out for dinner in both Circular Quay and Darling harbour. There was live music in the bar each night and On Friday night in the upstairs bar there was a very talented singer piano player. Make... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
h2977-gm01, General Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review

Dear DavidArmidale, Thank you for your feedback with regards to your recent visit to the hotel. I'm so happy to hear that you had a great time at the piano bar. We are very lucky to have Kylie entertaining our guests up there. Any feedback received from our valued guests is greatly appreciated and taken on board. I understand that... More 

Applecross Western Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Centrally located hotel in Sydney . 5 Minute walk to Circular Quay . The old wing of the hotel needs some refurbishment . No Safes in the room . Looking a bit tired although the room was very spacious . Lobby bar is lively and restaurant adequate . Didn't go to the piano bar as there is a strict dress... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
h2977-gm01, General Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Docker30, Thank you for your review. As you may be aware, The Menzies is one of the most historic hotels in Sydney and thus, many aspects are reflective of this. However, we do have plans to refurbish in the near future, which will generate significant improvements in regards to this aspect. It's pleasing to hear that overall you had... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Went to Sydney for a quick weekend visit during Vivid festival. Choosing to stay at the Menzies was perfect for our one night stay. Room was clean and comfortable. Very cosy bed!!! On arrival check in was efficient and we got into our room straight away. Buffet breakfast was included in our rate. Just a tip. Get down there early... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
h2977-gm01, General Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Christine S, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the hotel. Any feedback we receive from our valued guests is greatly appreciated and taken on board. I will discuss your feedback with our management team to ensure each issue you have highlighted is investigated and the necessary improvements are made to improve our service... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

You can see that this hotel would have been stunning in its day. But the old lady is showing her age needs a makeover. The air conditioning was unbearably hot. The Devore was tired but the greeting and treatment from the reception was excellent. Restaurant was lacking in service although the food was ok. All in all an ok stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
h2977-gm01, General Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Louise S, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that the air-conditioning in your room was not function efficiently. I will investigate why this has occurred and ensure the problem is rectified for our guests. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

615 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (331)
Viewed
Room/suite (103)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (69)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from room (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (42)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (82)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (241)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Double Full Park View Standard Room (71)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (61)
Viewed
Superior King Park View Room (57)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay