We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Menzies Sydney

Hotel website
14 Carrington Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Menzies Sydney
Professional photosView all
Browse nearby
The Menzies Sydney
Add Photo Write a Review

4,076 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    731
    1,652
    1,167
    374
    152
See reviews for
1,006
1,457
353
750
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (4076)
  • Mar-May only
    (1137)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (1091)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (814)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1034)
All months
Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I really liked this hotel. They have great customer service, a delicious restaurant in the lobby and in the lower level. Our room overlooked a courtyard that was fairly quiet. The wifi was a bit off for us, but they changed our rooms and then it was fine. Very comfortable and within walking distance (if you're a walker) to all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milton NSW
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is very well located for our purposes. Although the rooms are showing their age a bit, they are still comfortable. the air con left something to be desired, but the window could be opened and that balanced things up. the "breakfast included" makes this very affordable by the City's standards.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
h2977-gm01, General Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review

Dear chrisW944AZ, We really appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback following your stay. I was glad to read that your stay was comfortable and breakfast included does sweeten the deal! Sorry to hear about your trouble with the air conditioning, I will be speaking with our engineering team to rectify this. We hope this does not deter... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

First impressions were okay at the lobby but that was about as far as it got. Maybe we had been spoiled after stays at Sofitels at Saigon, Siem Reap and Hanoi where service and room quality are impeccable. The room we had was a bit rough, couldn't find a room safe so guess we didn't have one. One of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
h2977-gm01, General Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Lino L, Thanks for your feedback, all feedback whether it be positive or negative is important to us as it enables us to target problem areas to ultimately improve our guest experience. I was sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay, The Menzies is one of the oldest hotel's in Sydney, thus several aspects of the... More 

Gold Coast
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I travel to The Menzies once a year solely to have an evening a the Piano Bar. The entertainer in this small bar is Kylie Stephens and she is a true performer. The hotel itself is a little dated. However, the furnishings in the public areas are opulent. The rooms are clean and tidy and are large by most hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
h2977-gm01, General Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review

Dear GoldCoastTezza, Thank you so much for your feedback, I'm so glad you had a comfortable stay with us. I will be sharing your feedback with our staff, particularly our Front Office and Concierge team throughout the day, they will be pleased. Apologies about the one waiter you encountered in Platform 1, I hope that has not detracted from your... More 

Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We booked in here at the last minute because we were in a car accident and could not continue on our trip as planned. The kindness and thoughtfulness of the staff was beyond our wildest dreams. We were very shaken up and slightly hurt. Everyone rallied around to help us recover. We didn't even need to ask for help. One... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
h2977-gm01, General Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Yale71, What a pleasure it was reading through your review, I really appreciate you taking the time to compose this following your stay with us in March (and hope you have since recovered from your accident). I will be sharing your feedback with our team over the course of the day, such feedback serves as a fantastic incentive to... More 

Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

The menzies is very central. Across the road Is the wynyard train station, bus stops and a supermarket. Lots of coffee shops and its only about a 10 min walk to circular quay, darling harbour and the shops. The menzies hotel is clean and spacious. The service is very good and the buffet breakfast has a selection of hot food,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
h2977-gm01, General Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review

Dear DinaPettinella, Thank you for leaving your feedback, I'm delighted to read you were able to enjoy the location, it is very convenient, a stone's throw away from some great coffee shops! So fantastic you enjoyed the breakfast buffet variety! The Menzies is a historic hotel, thus there are features that will bear this historic mark, nonetheless they will be... More 

Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We are accor members and have only stayed at sofitel and Novotels before. The draw card for staying here was its location, as I was travelling by myself and it was within walking distance to where I needed to go. I have extreme dust allergies, that I always send through a request for the room to be dust free. This... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
h2977-gm01, General Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Ask Andrea, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your stay with us. I am disappointed to read that your request was ignored, and you experienced issues with the shower, I will be addressing this with our housekeeping and maintenance teams. Despite the age of the hotel, the rooms are always well-maintained, clean and updated... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We recently stayed at the Menzies hotel as part of a package for the Netball World Cup. We found the hotel to be very good, the room was a good size as there were three of us sharing and the beds very comfy. The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful. The location was perfect with the train and buses... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
h2977-gm01, General Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Lynette, What a pleasure to receive such positive feedback, thank you! I was so delighted to read that you took advantage of our location, it is a stone's throw away from all public transport and some of Sydney's major attractions. Thank you very much for the compliments on our staff, and I'm glad that you enjoyed a comfortable stay... More 

Perth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

As a disclaimer, I will say upfront that whilst heritage buildings are beautiful to look at, I am not a fan of "living" in them. I find them dark and musty smelling and frustrating due to lack of basics like accessible power sockets. I cant help it, I like a modern, bright, uncluttered room, its just how I am. Not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
h2977-gm01, General Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Cherie1978, Thank you for taking the time to express your feedback following your stay with us. The Menzies as you touched upon, is an old hotel, in fact, one of the oldest in Sydney and yes there are several features that are a reflection of this heritage. Refurbishing these rooms is an ongoing project here at The Menzies, however,... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great location. Within walking distance of all city attractions and across the road from the railway station. Good rooms but bathroom far too small for 2 people. Good restaurant. Pleasant and efficient staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
h2977-gm01, General Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Burmania, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your stay. I'm sure many guests would agree that our location is a huge draw-card! In regards to the bathrooms, we will be refurbishing as part of our capital expenditure plan which will allow for a substantial improvement to our facilities for our guests. We hope to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

630 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (346)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (71)
Viewed
View from room (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (43)
Viewed
Room/suite (105)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (91)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (241)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Double Full Park View Standard Room (71)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (61)
Viewed
Superior King Park View Room (57)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Wynyard Sydney
0.2 mi away
Grace Hotel Sydney
Grace Hotel Sydney
#28 of 177 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 2,269 reviews
0.1 mi away
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#84 of 177 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 875 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
0.2 mi away
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay