We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kirketon Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels

229 Darlinghurst Rd | Darlinghurst, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kirketon Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kirketon Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Kirketon Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Kirketon Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Add Photo Write a Review

442 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    123
    154
    87
    50
    28
See reviews for
14
174
89
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (442)
  • Mar-May only
    (139)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (86)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (98)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (119)
All months
Greater Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've booked a whole month here and was not expecting much at all. For the price I paid I was 100% certain this place would be average. Not at all. The french boudoir décor and the simple elegance of this boutique hotel are more than sufficient for a comfortable stay, especially on Business. Kings Cross station is a three minute... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KirketonManager, Manager at Kirketon Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review

Dear Johncaina, Such a fantastic review, thank you so much for your feedback. It was an absolute delight to accommodate you over the month and we are thrilled that you enjoyed every moment and would definitely stay with us again. It is sometimes hard to find that place that is your home away from home, especially if you are on... More 

New Zealand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend. Overall, the stay was OK, not memorable. the check in was slow as I waited while the person at reception handled a call. While I waited, another group came in behind me and a queue formed...Then, another staff member came from the back to help out just as I was being... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KirketonManager, Manager at Kirketon Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review

Dear JanenbenNewZealand, Thank you for the review of your stay at our hotel. We do apologize for the not quite smooth experience you have had! Our rooms do vary in size and therefore we recommend booking a larger room for a future stay, to give you more space. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our location and explored... More 

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Repeat visitor, is a consistently good place. Not the greatest room this time around, but have a good experience yet again. Staff are great. And is good vibe to the hotel. Clean, and straight to the point.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KirketonManager, Manager at Kirketon Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review

Dear Ary L, We love hearing from our regular guests, thank you for your feedback. We will ensure to assign a different room for your next visit. If there is anything else that we can do to make your future stays a 5 star rating, please do not hesitate to let us know! Till next time, The Kirketon Team More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We found the boutique hotel very comfortable and inviting. We had one or two issues, but the manager Wendy and Thomas at the front desk, went out of their way to fix it immediately. Can't speak more highly of the personable service offered. Thank you. Darryl and Felicity.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KirketonManager, Front Office Manager at Kirketon Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review

Dear Daryl & Falicity, Such a fantastic review! Thank you for your kind words and excellent feedback. We here at Kirketon pride ourselves in customer service and always try to go above and beyond wherever we can to ensure our guests have a pleasant and personable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back. Warm Regards, Kirketon Team More 

melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015 via mobile

I used to come here all the time for business trips. Trying it again today and cant wait now that its got cool room service. Really for value for money, position, quality etc thetes nothing better in sydney! Tatiana

Was this review helpful? Yes
KirketonManager, Front Office Manager at Kirketon Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review

Dear Tatiana, We thank you so much for your review! It is always a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us again and that the Kirekton had all the facilities needed as well as being value for money. We hope you enjoyed the new room service option and will return to stay with us again! Warm Regards,... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Well. After a 6 year absence was nice to return. Great location. Great rooms. Friendly staff. Back bar staff could be nicer. Bigger rave if it had Foxtel/Internet TV. Secondly forgot how noisy it is sleeping on 1st floor with timber floors above. A bit loud in the mornings. Otherwise a great place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KirketonManager, Front Office Manager at Kirketon Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review

Dear Warren T, Thank you kindly for your feedback and review. It is always lovely reading the comments from our return guests and especially after 6 years still remembering us! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay once again and found it convenient and comfortable as well as commending the staff on their amazing service. We look... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

I stayed at the Kirketon for 4 nights from 18 May and have stayed here several times over the years and have never been disappointed with any of my experiences. The staff continue to be very friendly, inviting and maintain the highest levels of professionalism and discretion towards guests. I woudn't describe the Kirketon as a budget hotel, but something... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KirketonManager, Front Office Manager at Kirketon Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review

Dear Dan T, We thank you so much for your review and feedback. We are delighted and very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us not just this time around but over the years as you have visited Sydney. We love to hear that you find us value for money and the rooms have everything you... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

Fantastic service. I loved staying here. The bar on the ground floor, Eau de Vie, was amazing. We didn't book but it got very busy very quickly, so book a place in the bar to avoid disappointment. Great cocktails. Reception were chnarming and accomodating. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KirketonManager, Manager at Kirketon Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review

Dear Adam B, Thank you for your review and for recommending us! Indeed Eau de Vie is very popular, and so we are happy to make a booking for you, they always have a spot for our hotel guests! Till next time! The Kirketon Team More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

Midweek getaway in the City. This boutique hotel was so much more than expected for the price. Staff were AMAZING, room was large and bed extra comfortable. This hotel is perfectly situated. 5 mins by taxi to the city and walking distance to many wonderful restaurants and cafes.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KirketonManager, Manager at Kirketon Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review

Dear KylieGSydney, What a fabulous review! Happy to read that you enjoyed our location and comfortable bed, but most of all, enjoyed our service. See you again at the Kirketon! The Kirketon Team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

249 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (72)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (163)
Viewed
Premium Room (57)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (23)
Viewed
Superior Room (57)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay