We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 182 Sydney hotels

Capitol Square Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Campbell Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Capitol Square Hotel to your Saves list
Capitol Square Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
32%
Ranked #139 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Write a Review

276 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    62
    100
    49
    54
See reviews for
40
78
33
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room 317, where do I begin?! Yes this hotel is in the CBD but honestly that's all it has going for it. Our switch points in our room didn't work, upon learning this I was straight down to the front desk only for 'Ken' to say he had no idea what to do :-/ that was our first night, we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at Capitol Square Hotel for two nights. The location was great but the rooms were very average and needed a good clean and make over. The Staff were the least friendly staff I have ever meet at a hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location, low-average rooms. Clean linens but the fixtures and bathroom could have used some maintenance and the furniture was nicked and scratched. Overall, for the money, definitely worth stepping up from a hostel. Right in the middle of the action on the edge of Chinatown, Thai town, and literally next to the Capitol theater. There internet options are 2005... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wyong, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I booked this room before I read all the reviews and was crapping myself that I'd booked us in to some hell-hole and my husbands birthday/our anniversary would be a ruined weekend! Well I can report that I was pleasantly surprised. The room was clean, the bed was clean, the floor was clean and the a/c worked. The room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Poorly maintained, stuffy dingy rooms. No attention to airing the room or checking the fridge is on before occupants enter. Air-conditioning poor and windows very hard to open due to double glazing. Shower over bath so not suitable for elderly or disabled. Absolute bare minimum quality. Only thing going for it is it's proximity to the theatre. Overpriced and very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Fairly overpriced for such an unattractive place. If you want budget but clean, a hotel like Metro on Pitt St does it much better. The bed felt like it was on its last legs, the bathroom tiny and uncomfortable and the carpet had a lot of stains. The service wasn't great. I definitely don't want to stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waratah, NSW
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We had one night here. We only wanted a bed, so we did not need a fancy place to stay. Location is the best feature. Room size was OK twin king beds joined so plenty of room. It was clean although probably die for refurbishment. We had no problems with check in or staff. Breakfast was OK nothing great but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel 9 times before when it was under the Rydges banner. This was my 10th visit and my last. The new management has no idea of customer service. 1. Until I identified that I had a physical disability the person on check-in refused to assist me transger my luggage to the room. 2. Air conditioning... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boram K, General Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review

I want to thank you for bringing these to my attention. Test and tags to electrical equipment in-room are valid for a period of 2 years, and we certainly do have a preventative maintenance program in place. I am concerned however with the level of service presented to you. I have taken this matter seriously and assure you that staff... More

Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I was disappointed with this place and the only thing it had going for it was its location. I was there from Perth specifically for the Lynyrd Skynyrd concert which was at the Entertainment Centre, only a five minute walk away. For my purpose that was its only redeeming asset. The room was small (or the bed too big for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boram K, General Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you have not enjoyed your stay with us. I agree with you in your suggestion that the espresso coffee should have been complimentary while the other coffee machine was not functioning. I will be sure to brief the team for future occasions. As for the rooms, you will be pleased to learn that Capitol... More

Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I was very disappointed in what was provided as a guest there. Tiles in bathroom were dirty and had not been scrubbed. Breakfast was awful, it was supposed to be a full cooked breakast, the chef couldn't of been bothered to pull the bacon apart to cook it. The coffee they served was unacceptable and in this modern day instant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boram K, General Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review. I am glad that you have found the hotel's location convenient, but at the same time sorry, to hear that you have not enjoyed your stay with us. At the time you were staying with us, we did have a coffee machine malfunction and as per your suggestion an alternative to instant coffee should... More

Been to Capitol Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Square Hotel

Also Known As:
Capitol Square Sydney
Hotel Capitol Square
Address: 3 Campbell Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capitol Square Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capitol Square Hotel, Sydney's best value economy hotel is ideally located within Sydney’s CBD with a range of attractions at our doorstep. We are a 3 star rated property, conveniently located adjacent to The Capitol Theatre complex.We are also just a short walk from Darling Harbour, Sydney Entertainment Centre, Central Station and China Town. Our comfortably appointed rooms will ensure you enjoy your accommodation whilst in the Harbour City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Capitol Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capitol Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.