We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Old Sydney

#55 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
55 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    747
    273
    78
    33
See reviews for
333
734
93
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1569)
  • Mar-May only
    (413)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (368)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (386)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (402)
All months
Perth
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Old Sydney overnight after arriving from a cruise around New Zealand. It is everything you would expect from a Holiday Inn. We found the room to be clean & tidy also somewhat modernised & very functional. The Reception staff were really lovely, very accommodating considering we arrived at 9.30am off the ship. The gentleman... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cologne, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Good hotel, clean, good breakfast especially the juice machine where you could make your own juice creations freshly done, small pool on the rooftop with amazing view, great location right next to opera and harbour bridge, all in all perferct for our short stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed for 2 nights on a business trip. The hotel is surely dated but the charm around makes up for it. Near to an assortment of restaurants and posh shops. Great views of the bridge on the roof top. Surprised that they don't provide free bottled water in the room to guests. The aircon is a bit noisy and on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear oldsoul-youngspirit, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed staying at our hotel whilst on your business trip. Please accept our apologies about the thermostat, we are currently in the process of updating these. We hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again when you... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Right on the Rocks by Circular Quay and with great views from the terrace on the roof across Sydney Harbour. The rooms are functional and clean, the staff extremely helpful and knowledgeable. Ask for a high floor room overlooking the harbour.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear David M, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your positive comments about our staff and that you found our hotel to be clean and functional. Wishing you safe future travels, Kind regards, Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney More 

Adelaide
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Have stayed at a few Holiday Inns before and found this one a let down . The room was a good location overlooking the harbour , but was run down and in need of renovation . The staff were good apart from one sour woman at the main desk . A pleasant enough stay , great location ( which is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear mjhooper, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay and apologise that it was not to your satisfaction. We are currently on a journey of continuously updating the hotel which is continuing throughout 2015. This includes some major rectification works to our Heritage Building and... More 

Toowoomba, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here in Novemeber 2014 and paid a ridiculously high amount for a very average room. It didn't have a 'nice feel' when walking in to our room and although the staff were lovely, I wont stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Chrissy14791, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay with us. November is a part of the peak tourist season here in Sydney and unfortunately the room rates in the city are reflective of this. Thank you for your kind words about our staff, they are much... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is in a perfect position in Sydney Old Town with great (small) rooftop pool and terrace offering tremendous views of the harbour bridge, opera house and harbour area. A nightime viewing of the area is recommended, especially if there is a full moon. The hotel is surrounded by many eateries of varying styles and nationalities and provides a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Rib47, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were please to read that you had the time to take in some evening views from our rooftop deck which offers great views of Sydney Harbour. From your review it also sounds as though you had a great time in Sydney. Wishing you safe future travels. Kind... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Best hotel in Sydney. Location: 10/10: in The Rocks with Sydney Harbour (Opera House, Harbour Bridge) a short walk away. Staff: 10/10: cleaners left my hotel room sparkling clean each day. Hotel itself: 10/10: historic building which has all the mod cons yet still retains a sense of history. Loved the (saltwater/heated) rooftop swimming pool, with its views of Sydney... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Annemarie G, Thank you for your loyalty and for taking the time to review our hotel once again. Thank you so much for your kind words they are greatly appreciated. Thank you in particular for recognising our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney More 

Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
546 reviews 546 reviews
143 hotel reviews
422 helpful votes 422 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here for one night during a business trip to Sydney and had a great stay. Nice room on the top floor with one window overlooking the opera house but the main focus on the city. Check in was efficient and the car parking service hassle free and valet is free. Rooms are quite simple and sparse and not sure... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear StuckinBangers, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel . We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future when you next travel for business. Kind regards, Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney More 

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
21 hotel reviews
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Grab a drink and head for the roof top pool and spar, this has to be the favourite area of the hotel for me. It is a great place to spend a quiet evening, get the selfie with the bridge, Opera house or city in the background and watch the sunset. On the weekend the Rocks Market is all around... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Paul_n_Cris, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel after your business trip. We appreciate both your positive and constructive feedback. We have just received a large order of new TV's which we are about to install in our rooms which will also include relocating and re-mounting in some rooms to ensure that our customers continue to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

581 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (567)
Viewed
View from room (132)
Viewed
Room/suite (94)
Viewed
Bathroom (34)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (54)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (123)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (122)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities