We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 132 Sydney accommodations

Jackaroo Hostel

3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   107-109 Darlinghurst Road | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Hotel amenities
Jackaroo Hostel
Best prices from these 10 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Jackaroo Hostel to your Saves list
79%
Ranked #22 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
A recent review
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    46
    21
    10
    9
See reviews for
2
46
62
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (193)
  • Mar-May only
    (59)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (62)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After staying at Jackaroo in Mission Beach, I came to Sydney and went straight to Jackaroo in Kings Cross because I was so pleased with the MB hostel. The Sydney Jackaroo has the best location for transport, located upstairs from the train station (great for work commute and seeing the city), but also is surrounded by places to eat and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I came to Australia on my own and Jackaroo was the first hostel I have ever stayed at! The staff behind reception were so friendly from the beginning and answered all my questions and gave me advice whenever I needed it! I made friends in my room immediately and when my friend from home came to join me at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guangzhou, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hostel is clean, stuff is very friendly, located just next to the metro station. Nearby the are lots of places to eat and you can also bring your own food to the hostel citchen and cook there. Breakfast is quite simple but enough to start your day (as I said you can also cook by yourself).

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I shall start off with the positives. The hostel is clean, has free wifi (which is rare in oz) and slap bang in the middle of kings cross so if enjoy going out it's the perfect location. However I was appalled by the behaviour of the manager, I think his name was Rob. A few people referred to him as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hostel is very convenient as it is located just beside the King Cross Station, which allows us to travel to the city and Bondi Beach easily. Also, do not worry too much that it is in the red light district, just take a train back and you won't have to walk on the street. The noise level is also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I would stay again! Free wi-fi and wine, great atmosphere and location, can easily meet new people, awesome TV room with loads of good films However, there was no mirror in the room which could have been handy

Was this review helpful? Yes
Monterey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hostel could not be more convenient as it is located directly next to Kings Cross Station. The hostel was clean and secure. The staff were cleaning daily. It had a large kitchen for self catering. Hostel goes will especially appreciate the spotless bathrooms. Two notes: The hostel has six floors and no lift. I was on the top floor... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Just came back from staying at Jackaroo, which was recommended by Peter Pan Adventure Travel. Just arriving from Melbourne, I was tired and just wanted to rest; the location of Jackaroo is very convenient, as it is located literally right beside King's Cross station. In Melbourne, I was staying in a seedy hostel that reeked of foot odour, so I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Breakfast is basically tasteless cornflakes or toast thrown out on a dirty table. No coffee even available....and i need my coffee in the morning. like most people. its just a basic. anyway nothing is outstanding about this hostel and we didnt realise its in the middle of the red light district. however it is clean. cleaned evry morning

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Very dirty, no ventilation, noisy, not secure. Staff not very friendly. The most horrible hostel I have ever stayed! never again! it's better to spend a night in a park then there.The only convenience was the location.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackaroo_KX, Owner at Jackaroo Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are shocked that you did not find our hostel clean, we clean the whole hostel between 10am-1pm everyday and have a professional cleaning company clean the toilets daily. We also clean the bathrooms, common areas and kitchen multiple times throughout... More

Do you own or manage Jackaroo Hostel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Jackaroo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackaroo Hostel

Address: 107-109 Darlinghurst Road | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jackaroo Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Venere, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jackaroo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jackaroo Hotel Sydney

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay