We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 134 Sydney accommodations

Jackaroo Hostel

3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   107-109 Darlinghurst Road | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Jackaroo Hostel to your Saves list
Jackaroo Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
79%
Ranked #22 of 134 Specialty lodging in Sydney
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed today
Allan152 Monterey
  • Overview
  • Reviews (185)
  • Photos (25)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (27)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    44
    19
    10
    9
See reviews for
2
43
59
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

The hostel could not be more convenient as it is located directly next to Kings Cross Station. The hostel was clean and secure. The staff were cleaning daily. It had a large kitchen for self catering. Hostel goes will especially appreciate the spotless bathrooms. Two notes: The hostel has six floors and no lift. I was on the top floor... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just came back from staying at Jackaroo, which was recommended by Peter Pan Adventure Travel. Just arriving from Melbourne, I was tired and just wanted to rest; the location of Jackaroo is very convenient, as it is located literally right beside King's Cross station. In Melbourne, I was staying in a seedy hostel that reeked of foot odour, so I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Breakfast is basically tasteless cornflakes or toast thrown out on a dirty table. No coffee even available....and i need my coffee in the morning. like most people. its just a basic. anyway nothing is outstanding about this hostel and we didnt realise its in the middle of the red light district. however it is clean. cleaned evry morning

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very dirty, no ventilation, noisy, not secure. Staff not very friendly. The most horrible hostel I have ever stayed! never again! it's better to spend a night in a park then there.The only convenience was the location.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackaroo_KX, Owner at Jackaroo Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are shocked that you did not find our hostel clean, we clean the whole hostel between 10am-1pm everyday and have a professional cleaning company clean the toilets daily. We also clean the bathrooms, common areas and kitchen multiple times throughout... More

Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very very clean had everything that was needed great location next to station for easy access to and from city and bondi. Great staff all good fun and look after all your needs ! Great place to meet people and make friends ! Always look forward to. Friday at this hostel! Would stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackaroo_KX, Owner at Jackaroo Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for the amazing review. We hope to see you again in the future! More

Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good location, clean and lovely staff. Raquel was particularly helpful. The kitchen was well equipped. Plenty of bathrooms with powerful showers and very clean. 30 min walk to opera house through the botanical gardens. Great place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackaroo_KX, Owner at Jackaroo Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for the great review, we love to hear feedback from guests who enjoyed their stay with us. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. More

Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The showers and kitchen were clean and spot on. No real issues with the standard of room other than is was a little small - however, we were facing the main street on floor 9 and the curtains were like tracing paper - if you book get a room away from the street as noise doesn't stop until 6am. Stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

We chose this hostel because it had quite good reviews and it is right by the train station at kings cross (you couldn't be closer!). The rooms are tiny, we stayed in a twin room with bunk beds (you couldn't swing a cat) and a 4 bed dorm - not even enough room for 4 peoples bags. The decor is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackaroo_KX, Owner at Jackaroo Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for the review and we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We encourage guests to let us know about any issues when staying with us so we can resolve them, if you had come and advised us you were unhappy with the room we would have happily moved you to a more... More

Townsville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Really good place to stay, very clean (floors are bleached daily) and friendly staff. Hostel is centrally located in Kings Cross, cheap eateries nearby, ten minute walk to Hyde Park and the city... Best of all though...Continental breakfast was included in the cost....!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackaroo_KX, Owner at Jackaroo Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for the awesome review. We are glad you enjoyed the location and cleanliness of the hostel. Enjoy the rest of your travels! More

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The hostel was good and staff cool. The location, excellent!! just a few minutes from a lot of attractions. Also, they have breakfast and some events every night that allow you to get involved with the other guests.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackaroo_KX, Owner at Jackaroo Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for the great review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Safe and happy travels. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Jackaroo Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Jackaroo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackaroo Hostel

Address: 107-109 Darlinghurst Road | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jackaroo Hostel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Jackaroo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jackaroo Hotel Sydney

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Sydney with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Jackaroo Hostel Kings Cross, Sydney's newest hostel, The 'Jackaroo Hostel' is more than you could ever expect. Its unique, it’s different. It’s an experience, because we want it that way. The Jackaroo Hostel, located in the hip area of Kings Cross, is a cool haven for the international traveller, in the heart of Sydney Australia.The Jackaroo Hostel is a family run hostel. Owned and operated by best friends and brothers Robert and Jade Smith. We understand that the Jackaroo Hostel will be the centre of your Sydney experience, and we want it to be memorable. We love Sydney, and we want you to love it too.We offer quality affordable accommodation. Double rooms, Twin with ensuite, 4 and 6 bed dorms. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
27

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Jackaroo Hostel and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Jackaroo Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer