We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 133 Sydney accommodations

Jackaroo Hostel

3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   107-109 Darlinghurst Road | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Hotel amenities
Jackaroo Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Jackaroo Hostel to your Saves list
Ranked #24 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
gunnerguy Brisbane, Australia
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    49
    22
    11
    11
See reviews for
2
49
63
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (201)
  • Mar-May only
    (59)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (62)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (46)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Me and my friend stayed in a 4-bed dorm and we were the only ones in the room. So we had the room to ourselves. A very very reasonable priced hostel. Good location as it was right next to the train station, so you will not get lost to find the hostel. Wi-fi and breakfast are free. Reception was nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Asia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked a standard double room. The size of the room is comfortable for me, and it is very clean. The room is on top floor, by the street. The noises didn't bother me at all, put on ear plug when I want to sleep. The hostel is awesome, clean, and maintained well, they just finished re-painting the hand rails!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a fairly pleasant stay here, but Kings Cross is not the best area. Good points were; the hostel was right next to the train station, the staff were pretty friendly and free breakfast and free wi-fi were included. The bad points were that the place smelt very strongly of bleach when we got there (which was a bit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Though the price is not cheap, it does worth it. The only problem is the lack of elevator and the usage of bleach while cleaning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

i booked a 4-bedded all-female dorm with an attached bathroom. Stayed there for 4 nights; and the room was basically a place for us to shower, change, and sleep after a full day of exploring and sight seeing. Although its on the red-light district, it wasnt too dodgy or scary. If you are looking for luxe comfort, lounging, or exclusivity... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

Hated this place. Stupidly hot from the moment we walked in. Booked for two nights but told we had to move rooms for the second night because it was busy and we were the most recent online booking (what?). Room was dark, dingy and dirty. Breakfast was bread/toast and jam. Not a comfortable place to stay. Stay in bounce instead.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackaroo_KX, Owner at Jackaroo Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review and we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would like to clarify on the issue you had, which was explained to you on check in. You booked the day before arrival and booked the last 2 beds in the hostel for both nights. When you book a dorm... More

Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

After staying at Jackaroo in Mission Beach, I came to Sydney and went straight to Jackaroo in Kings Cross because I was so pleased with the MB hostel. The Sydney Jackaroo has the best location for transport, located upstairs from the train station (great for work commute and seeing the city), but also is surrounded by places to eat and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackaroo_KX, Owner at Jackaroo Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Mareaka, Thank you for your amazing review, we're glad that you enjoyed the both of our hostels and we hope to see you again in the future! More

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

I came to Australia on my own and Jackaroo was the first hostel I have ever stayed at! The staff behind reception were so friendly from the beginning and answered all my questions and gave me advice whenever I needed it! I made friends in my room immediately and when my friend from home came to join me at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackaroo_KX, Owner at Jackaroo Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your awesome review. We're glad that we help make the start of your Australian adventure a positive one. We hope that you have a great time on the rest of your travels. More

Guangzhou, China
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

The hostel is clean, stuff is very friendly, located just next to the metro station. Nearby the are lots of places to eat and you can also bring your own food to the hostel citchen and cook there. Breakfast is quite simple but enough to start your day (as I said you can also cook by yourself).

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackaroo_KX, Owner at Jackaroo Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your great review. We love to hear guests having a great time while staying with us. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. More

Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

I shall start off with the positives. The hostel is clean, has free wifi (which is rare in oz) and slap bang in the middle of kings cross so if enjoy going out it's the perfect location. However I was appalled by the behaviour of the manager, I think his name was Rob. A few people referred to him as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Jackaroo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackaroo Hostel

Address: 107-109 Darlinghurst Road | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jackaroo Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Jackaroo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jackaroo Hotel Sydney

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay