We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Metro Apartments on King

27-29 King Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Metro Apartments on King
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Metro Apartments on King
Add Photo

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    6
    5
    9
    7
    15
See reviews for
13
7
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (42)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I used a booking service and received a confirmation advising me to phone a local number to arrange a check in time because there was no reception at the property. I rang the number many times over an hour and a half, and there was no reply. I was unable to check in as I was not willing to travel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MIR_00, General Manager at Metro Apartments on King, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, even if you didn’t stay, which we apologize for. I’m sorry that your night didn’t work out for you. As stated on all websites reception is at our sister property where check-in is done, we are open between 7am till 10pm and if your arriving later we have an after... More 

Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Initially parked in wrong car park and had to pay an extra $15 for half an hour. No parking for check in so clear directions on where to park need to be included on website. Sofa bed very uncomfortable and no toilet roll holder in the bathroom.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments on King, responded to this review

Dear 664can_, I am sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I am sorry that you parked in the incorrect car park, however it is clearly stated on websites that we do not have parking onsite, but an agreed rate with a local parking station. I would also like to assure you that having no... More 

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Moss Vale, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

We stayed here on 24/4/15. My wife and I booked an apartment which included a sofa bed for our young son. When we got back to our room after a night out we found that there was no linen on the sofa bed. The wifi in the unit doesn't work and my wife had to hook the TV up so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments on King, responded to this review

Hi Jack G, thank you for your review of our apartments. I am sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us. On behalf of myself and my entire staff at Metro Apartments on King, we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed the issues with our team, and... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

Our room had everything you need & fully self contained. The decor needs some tlc & updating but was very clean & comfortable. Our friends also stayed at metro on king & enjoyed their stay. Their room was better than ours. The staff are great and location fantastic. If you want good location, clean room, self catering apartment and don't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments on King, responded to this review

Thank you Judi J for taking the time to review our apartments. I am glad to see that you and your friends enjoyed you stay with us. As you mention, our location is excellent. Within walking distance to all major attractions and shopping. Thank you for mentioning our great staff as we pride ourselves on having a high standard of... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Very noisy. You can hear the cars and trucks going past, people walking down the street at night. However, you cannot fault the location, very central and close to Darling Harbour. You can easily walk everywhere. The place was outdated. The bathroom was old and no proper shower, just a bathtub with a sliding screen, which was disappointing. The lampshade... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments on King, responded to this review

Thank you lily264, for taking the time to review our apartments. As you stated we have a very central location, walking distance to all attractions, shopping and restaurants. Unfortunately, being located right in the heart of the city, road noise is unavoidable. I apologize that you thought there was no proper shower, it is common for hotels to have a... More 

Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

I was a guest if or one night on a very busy trip to the city. Budget accommodation, I was pleasantly surprised with the standard of the bedding, linen and accessories in an older apartment. It was perfectly situated and clean. Very basic, it was fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments on King, responded to this review

jdmack06, Thank you for taking the time to review the apartments. I’m pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our great location and well-appointed rooms are an excellent place to base yourself while in Sydney, and our free wifi make it a ideal place for either business or pleasure. Thank you again for your review and we... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

My wife booked my daughter and I into this establishment. For the price and location, I expected some nasty little dingy place hidden away in a dark alley. What we got was a lovely, neat and comfortable one bedroom apartment, close to absolutely every thing. Now remember this is "in" the city proper, so yes there is traffic and noise,... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments on King, responded to this review

Thank you dessertpratt for taking the time to review our apartments. I am glad to see that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us at the Metro on King. I’m happy to see you enjoyed our central city location, we really are within walking distance to most major attraction as well as shopping, restaurants and transport. Though as... More 

Hobart, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

When we checked in the man was not overly friendly. I asked if they had put pool towels in our room as I requested, his response was if you asked for them they would be there, but I'll give you a couple just in case (we had 3 guests not 2). He finished checking me in then handed me the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments on King, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire staff at Metro Apartments on King, we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed the issues with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future. More 

Perth, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

Location was great but apartment didn't really live up to expectations. We stayed over a weekend and noise level from nearly pubs was very loud until early hours of the morning. We weren't able to access the free Wi-Fi despite a despite asking for help on about four occasions. Staff tried to be helpful and were great when we needed... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MIR_00, General Manager at Metro Apartments on King, responded to this review

Thank you, Daniella, for taking the time to review our apartments. I'm sorry to see you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Since you have stayed we have spent $2,500 updating our wifi so now we have a high speed wifi access point on each floor and wifi can be accessed through the entire building. We do have an excellent... More 

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

Great location shame about the rest. On arriving there was no area to drop off luggage or set down so the husband went once around the block while I went upstairs to book in. We had organised parking which was not on the site but further down the road.Once booked in we were told our unit was across the road... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MIR_00, General Manager at Metro Apartments on King, responded to this review

Thank you, Ellen, for taking the time to review the Metro Apartments on King. As we state on all websites, the Metro on King is located in the Kingsleigh building at 27-29 King Street, however reception is located across the road at the Metro Apartments on Darling Harbour at 132-136 Sussex Street. I am sorry this was not clear to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay