We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Metro Apartments on King

27-29 King Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Metro Apartments on King
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Metro Apartments on King
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    7
    5
    12
See reviews for
9
7
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (34)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Location was great but apartment didn't really live up to expectations. We stayed over a weekend and noise level from nearly pubs was very loud until early hours of the morning. We weren't able to access the free Wi-Fi despite a despite asking for help on about four occasions. Staff tried to be helpful and were great when we needed... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MIR_00, General Manager at Metro Apartments on King, responded to this review

Thank you, Daniella, for taking the time to review our apartments. I'm sorry to see you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Since you have stayed we have spent $2,500 updating our wifi so now we have a high speed wifi access point on each floor and wifi can be accessed through the entire building. We do have an excellent... More

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location shame about the rest. On arriving there was no area to drop off luggage or set down so the husband went once around the block while I went upstairs to book in. We had organised parking which was not on the site but further down the road.Once booked in we were told our unit was across the road... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MIR_00, General Manager at Metro Apartments on King, responded to this review

Thank you, Ellen, for taking the time to review the Metro Apartments on King. As we state on all websites, the Metro on King is located in the Kingsleigh building at 27-29 King Street, however reception is located across the road at the Metro Apartments on Darling Harbour at 132-136 Sussex Street. I am sorry this was not clear to... More

Canberra, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location, easy walk to middle of Darling Harbour. Very very noisy though. Could hear people coming in and out throughout the night. Walls felt paper thin and was definitely disappointing as the location was so good.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MIR_00, General Manager at Metro Apartments on King, responded to this review

Thank you, Anthony, for taking the time to review our apartments. I am glad you enjoyed our great location as we are in walking distance to all the major attractions. Unfortunately though, being so central does incur inevitable road noise. Thanks again for your review and I hope your next stay is more pleasant. More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This accommodation was noisy, overpriced, noisy, drab, noisy, would not recommend to anyone..... Did I mention it was noisy? Perfectly located next to three of Sydney's big night clubs. Even with earplugs in, you are guaranteed to feel as though you are in the middle of the nightclub floor til 5am during your stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MIR_00, General Manager at Metro Apartments on King, responded to this review

Thank you, Sleepless_In_Syd, for taking the time to review our apartments. I am sorry to see you did not enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately, being so centrally located, noise is inevitable. Though it is quiet during the week and due to new laws in place noise is expected to reduce . Thanks again for your review and I hope... More

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I Booked into the Metro Apartments on King for a work trip and was a little apprehensive after reading the negative reviews. My worry was for nothing, it is a great little unit in an amazing location. Honestly, I have to say the staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. The apartment was clean and a great size. It was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MIR_00, General Manager at Metro Apartments on King, responded to this review

Thank you, Briellen, for taking the time to review our apartments. I am very glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are a great place for all corporate travelers being that we are located right in the Business District and our high speed free wifi is a great asset. Thank you for mentioning our kind and... More

Victoria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last year with 2 children and found it to be a great apartment. We stayed for a week, and because of its close proximity to Darling Harbour, we purchased a weekly ticket for public transport and caught ferries and trains everywhere. Easy walk to the shops, china town, virtually anywhere. We didn't find noise a problem. Rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MIR_00, General Manager at Metro Apartments on King, responded to this review

Thank you, butterfly18375, for taking the time to review our apartments. I'm Glad to see that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Our well equipped rooms provide everything you need for a comfortable stay. And with our new high speed wifi, updated kitchens and bathrooms and brand new Air conditioners, it is truly a hidden Gem in... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

The lack of photos on the website listings don't include the balcony for a reason, just 5 pavers, full of cigarette butts and saliva stains, used food utensils etc. Barely room for two people. The indoor balcony and blinds that dont shut allow pedestrians (and there are alot) to see right into your bedroom! Wind, pedestrian and car noise riduculous.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments on King, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to review our apartments. Though you have reviewed the Metro on Darling Harbour, I will respond to you here. I’m sorry to see that you didn’t enjoy your stay at the Metro on Darling Harbour. Whilst we did room move you once, if you had stated your concerns with the second room, we would have... More

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

So, on arrival we were greeted with the news that the reception that we were in (Metro on the corner of Kings and Sussex) wasn't actually where we'd booked and we were across the road in another block. That was fine, annoying but fine. The apartment was a reasonable size, spotlessly clean and the linen was wonderfully soft. On the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments on King, responded to this review

Thank you, 12rocklily, For taking the time to review our apartments. Unfortunately, due to our central location, road noise is unavoidable. Thank you for mentioning our high levels of cleanliness in the rooms., our housekeepers take pride in maintaining such a high standard. I am also sorry about the smell of the neighbors cooking, though as you can imagine, we... More

Launceston, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Went away with the kids for Christmas shopping. We were staying across the road from reception. The room was clean and tidy and located only minutes from the city. For what we paid it was definitely value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments on King, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I was so happy to see that you brought the kids in to stay with us. As you mentioned we have a great location in the heart of it all in the city, I do hope that you got to time to have a swim in our roof top pool... More

Canberra, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Apart nice enough for $144 but the traffic noise reminds me of Bangkok - no-relief. The pool was a relief though on a hot day. Don't take all your bags out yet if you arrive in your own car till you know which building your room is in as it may be across the road from reception. Sofa bed is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments on King, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our apartments. Metro Hotels has two apartment blocks that we manage. Both are across the road from each other,and this is made very clear on all of our internet and advertising. There is Metro apartments Darling Harbour and Metro Apartments on darling Harbour. Since your last stay we have replaced ALL Sofa... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Metro Apartments on King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Apartments on King

Address: 27-29 King Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Metro Apartments on King reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

10 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay