We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Metro Apartments on King

3.0 of 5
27-29 King Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Metro Apartments on King
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Metro Apartments on King
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    9
    6
    13
See reviews for
12
7
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (39)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

Our room had everything you need & fully self contained. The decor needs some tlc & updating but was very clean & comfortable. Our friends also stayed at metro on king & enjoyed their stay. Their room was better than ours. The staff are great and location fantastic. If you want good location, clean room, self catering apartment and don't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments on King, responded to this review

Thank you Judi J for taking the time to review our apartments. I am glad to see that you and your friends enjoyed you stay with us. As you mention, our location is excellent. Within walking distance to all major attractions and shopping. Thank you for mentioning our great staff as we pride ourselves on having a high standard of... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Very noisy. You can hear the cars and trucks going past, people walking down the street at night. However, you cannot fault the location, very central and close to Darling Harbour. You can easily walk everywhere. The place was outdated. The bathroom was old and no proper shower, just a bathtub with a sliding screen, which was disappointing. The lampshade... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments on King, responded to this review

Thank you lily264, for taking the time to review our apartments. As you stated we have a very central location, walking distance to all attractions, shopping and restaurants. Unfortunately, being located right in the heart of the city, road noise is unavoidable. I apologize that you thought there was no proper shower, it is common for hotels to have a... More 

Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

I was a guest if or one night on a very busy trip to the city. Budget accommodation, I was pleasantly surprised with the standard of the bedding, linen and accessories in an older apartment. It was perfectly situated and clean. Very basic, it was fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments on King, responded to this review

jdmack06, Thank you for taking the time to review the apartments. I’m pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our great location and well-appointed rooms are an excellent place to base yourself while in Sydney, and our free wifi make it a ideal place for either business or pleasure. Thank you again for your review and we... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

My wife booked my daughter and I into this establishment. For the price and location, I expected some nasty little dingy place hidden away in a dark alley. What we got was a lovely, neat and comfortable one bedroom apartment, close to absolutely every thing. Now remember this is "in" the city proper, so yes there is traffic and noise,... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments on King, responded to this review

Thank you dessertpratt for taking the time to review our apartments. I am glad to see that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us at the Metro on King. I’m happy to see you enjoyed our central city location, we really are within walking distance to most major attraction as well as shopping, restaurants and transport. Though as... More 

Hobart, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

When we checked in the man was not overly friendly. I asked if they had put pool towels in our room as I requested, his response was if you asked for them they would be there, but I'll give you a couple just in case (we had 3 guests not 2). He finished checking me in then handed me the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments on King, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire staff at Metro Apartments on King, we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed the issues with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future. More 

Perth, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

Location was great but apartment didn't really live up to expectations. We stayed over a weekend and noise level from nearly pubs was very loud until early hours of the morning. We weren't able to access the free Wi-Fi despite a despite asking for help on about four occasions. Staff tried to be helpful and were great when we needed... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MIR_00, General Manager at Metro Apartments on King, responded to this review

Thank you, Daniella, for taking the time to review our apartments. I'm sorry to see you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Since you have stayed we have spent $2,500 updating our wifi so now we have a high speed wifi access point on each floor and wifi can be accessed through the entire building. We do have an excellent... More 

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

Great location shame about the rest. On arriving there was no area to drop off luggage or set down so the husband went once around the block while I went upstairs to book in. We had organised parking which was not on the site but further down the road.Once booked in we were told our unit was across the road... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MIR_00, General Manager at Metro Apartments on King, responded to this review

Thank you, Ellen, for taking the time to review the Metro Apartments on King. As we state on all websites, the Metro on King is located in the Kingsleigh building at 27-29 King Street, however reception is located across the road at the Metro Apartments on Darling Harbour at 132-136 Sussex Street. I am sorry this was not clear to... More 

Canberra, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

Great location, easy walk to middle of Darling Harbour. Very very noisy though. Could hear people coming in and out throughout the night. Walls felt paper thin and was definitely disappointing as the location was so good.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MIR_00, General Manager at Metro Apartments on King, responded to this review

Thank you, Anthony, for taking the time to review our apartments. I am glad you enjoyed our great location as we are in walking distance to all the major attractions. Unfortunately though, being so central does incur inevitable road noise. Thanks again for your review and I hope your next stay is more pleasant. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014 via mobile

This accommodation was noisy, overpriced, noisy, drab, noisy, would not recommend to anyone..... Did I mention it was noisy? Perfectly located next to three of Sydney's big night clubs. Even with earplugs in, you are guaranteed to feel as though you are in the middle of the nightclub floor til 5am during your stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MIR_00, General Manager at Metro Apartments on King, responded to this review

Thank you, Sleepless_In_Syd, for taking the time to review our apartments. I am sorry to see you did not enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately, being so centrally located, noise is inevitable. Though it is quiet during the week and due to new laws in place noise is expected to reduce . Thanks again for your review and I hope... More 

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

I Booked into the Metro Apartments on King for a work trip and was a little apprehensive after reading the negative reviews. My worry was for nothing, it is a great little unit in an amazing location. Honestly, I have to say the staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. The apartment was clean and a great size. It was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MIR_00, General Manager at Metro Apartments on King, responded to this review

Thank you, Briellen, for taking the time to review our apartments. I am very glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are a great place for all corporate travelers being that we are located right in the Business District and our high speed free wifi is a great asset. Thank you for mentioning our kind and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question