We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 65 Sydney B&Bs / inns

Metro Apartments on King

27-29 King Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Metro Apartments on King to your Saves list
Metro Apartments on King
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
31%
Ranked #45 of 65 Sydney B&B and Inns
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    6
    4
    10
See reviews for
8
6
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here last year with 2 children and found it to be a great apartment. We stayed for a week, and because of its close proximity to Darling Harbour, we purchased a weekly ticket for public transport and caught ferries and trains everywhere. Easy walk to the shops, china town, virtually anywhere. We didn't find noise a problem. Rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MIR_00, General Manager at Metro Apartments on King, responded to this review

Thank you, butterfly18375, for taking the time to review our apartments. I'm Glad to see that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Our well equipped rooms provide everything you need for a comfortable stay. And with our new high speed wifi, updated kitchens and bathrooms and brand new Air conditioners, it is truly a hidden Gem in... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

The lack of photos on the website listings don't include the balcony for a reason, just 5 pavers, full of cigarette butts and saliva stains, used food utensils etc. Barely room for two people. The indoor balcony and blinds that dont shut allow pedestrians (and there are alot) to see right into your bedroom! Wind, pedestrian and car noise riduculous.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments on King, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to review our apartments. Though you have reviewed the Metro on Darling Harbour, I will respond to you here. I’m sorry to see that you didn’t enjoy your stay at the Metro on Darling Harbour. Whilst we did room move you once, if you had stated your concerns with the second room, we would have... More

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

So, on arrival we were greeted with the news that the reception that we were in (Metro on the corner of Kings and Sussex) wasn't actually where we'd booked and we were across the road in another block. That was fine, annoying but fine. The apartment was a reasonable size, spotlessly clean and the linen was wonderfully soft. On the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments on King, responded to this review

Thank you, 12rocklily, For taking the time to review our apartments. Unfortunately, due to our central location, road noise is unavoidable. Thank you for mentioning our high levels of cleanliness in the rooms., our housekeepers take pride in maintaining such a high standard. I am also sorry about the smell of the neighbors cooking, though as you can imagine, we... More

Launceston, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Went away with the kids for Christmas shopping. We were staying across the road from reception. The room was clean and tidy and located only minutes from the city. For what we paid it was definitely value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments on King, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I was so happy to see that you brought the kids in to stay with us. As you mentioned we have a great location in the heart of it all in the city, I do hope that you got to time to have a swim in our roof top pool... More

Canberra, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Apart nice enough for $144 but the traffic noise reminds me of Bangkok - no-relief. The pool was a relief though on a hot day. Don't take all your bags out yet if you arrive in your own car till you know which building your room is in as it may be across the road from reception. Sofa bed is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments on King, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our apartments. Metro Hotels has two apartment blocks that we manage. Both are across the road from each other,and this is made very clear on all of our internet and advertising. There is Metro apartments Darling Harbour and Metro Apartments on darling Harbour. Since your last stay we have replaced ALL Sofa... More

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

the accommodation was that bad we walked out and was prepared to forgo the accommodation fee and stay somewhere else . would not put my cat in that room. what we saw on the net was not what was offered it was depressing.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments on King, responded to this review

I do apologize for you not finding the apartments to your standard. I do thank you for taking the time to review our apartments but i do not see what you are saying is correct. The owners and myself have spent a considerable about of money and effort to bring these apartments up to high standard. In the last 3... More

Abha, Saudi Arabia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We (a family of two children under 3 years) stayed for 2 nights in October 2013. Everything was clean and available. Staff was friendly and available. The best part was that we could walk to opera house (20 mins) and darling harbor (1 min). I will highly recommend this as it does save you for the taxi fares to go... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments on King, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Apartments. All that you have said is true we are so well located. Since your last stay we have renovated the bathrooms and kitchen. We have also installed full slit air conditioners in the Apartments and replaced the sofa beds with 4" Sealy Mattresses. With regards to the Halal food, myself... More

Melbourne Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Not a bad choice if you want good location for a cheap price. Very noisy at night due to proximity of night clubs. DO NOT stay here if you are a light sleeper! You can hear every person leave the clubs, every truck, delivery, rubbish bins.... I do not exadurate! If you wanna party all night then go for it!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments on King, responded to this review

Thank you, Terri and Simon, for taking the time to review the apartments. Due to our excellent central location, outside noise is unfortunately unavoidable. Whilst we cannot do much regarding traffic noise, we do offer ear plugs at reception for no charge for the few guests that require them . More

South Australia, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had high hopes when we booked this motel and sadly they were dashed. The apartment was certainly not the 'home away from home' it claims to be. The bathroom had mould, apartment was generally very dated and also very noisy! We were advised that a portacot would fit in an area that it didn't so all 4 of our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments on King, responded to this review

Stacey, I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. But you will be pleased to know that as of November last year, all rooms have been refurbished with a new bathroom and kitchen. I do hope that your next visit is a better one. More

sydney
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Looks like no one has reviewed this hotel in a while, but un - fortunately it has not improved. It is still in need of upgrading. Our Bathroom had been refurbished and rooms painted but foyers etc still need help. The sofa bed needed a new mattress (springs poking out) very uncomfortable. So noisy during night from traffic and people... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments on King, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the property. I’m sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Thanking for pointing that the rooms have been refurbished, and the public areas are now in the process of being painted. Due to our excellent central location, outside noise is unfortunately unavoidable. Whilst we cannot do much regarding traffic noise,... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Metro Apartments on King, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Metro Apartments on King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Apartments on King

Address: 27-29 King Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Metro Apartments on King reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

10 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Sydney with
any amenities