We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 132 Sydney accommodations

Sydney Harbour YHA

110 Cumberland Street | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Hotel amenities
Sydney Harbour YHA
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sydney Harbour YHA to your Saves list
94%
Ranked #3 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Kait85 Adelaide, Australia
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    181
    26
    6
    4
See reviews for
81
127
177
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (592)
  • Mar-May only
    (161)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (166)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (116)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (149)
All months
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This has been the best hostel I've stayed at during my year long travels in Australia. We arrived in the morning as we had a scheduled bridge climb that day. We were able to store our luggage in the lockers until after our climb that afternoon (I think it came to around $7, not bad at all when you know... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We checked into this hotel directly after disembarking Royal Caribbean. It was early morning but they graciously kept our bags til we returned from sightseeing. Rooms were immaculate, cleaned daily, quiet, and close to local bus service, Staff was wonderful with helpful directions, making reservations for activities, and providing support in general,

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 5 nights in a double room. Unfortunately due to our late booking then we had to make three separate bookings to secure the entire trip, this resulted in us having to change room one morning and pay to upgrade another couple to avoid changing rooms twice. Not the fault of the YHA and in fact their staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mumbai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stated at the sydney harbiursude YHA fOr 5 nights. Extremely comfortable stay Check in ...... Was fast and hassle free Rooms ....... I was in the female dorm with ensuite bathroom in the first floor. Rooms were pretty spacious and decent . Adequate sized lockers ( with plug points both in the locker as well as near the bed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good location with short distance to shops, restaurants, bars and transport. The room with en suite were clean and tidy, although the hotel looks old. Members can obtain discounts, use internet and book tours at the reception.

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Sydney Harbour YHA, responded to this review

Hi Carolina Thanks for your review but a little surprise you describe Sydney Harbour as old. This YHA was purpose built less than five years ago. It is however located raised up over heritage listed colonial archaeology. This area is now preserved and there are interpretation panels with information on the history of the site. Perhaps you stayed at one... More

Gold Coast, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent a week here as a family and enjoyed the experience. The free pancake mornings were a hit with the kids - still have to ask them for the recipe! The staff are friendly but not all up to date with useful info - for example we asked them for the directions to the Woolies and they didn't know... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

SYH is a busy hub with ppl from all walks of life which makes it a great place! If walking, there's a steep hill with steps- not suitable for a suitcase. If staying on 1st floor there's a flight of stairs- other floors have a lift. Great views from the rooftop terrace. Rooms clean, quiet, staff helpful & friendly. Also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Sydney Harbour YHA, responded to this review

Hi JS Thanks for coming to stay with us and leaving feedback. We do STRONGLY recommend that people with luggage do not use Circular Quay station to access the hostel. If you get off at Wynyard, there is a flat easy walk to the building - there are a map and directions on our website. The Rocks district was well... More

Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I travelled to Sydney alone in November 2012 but wanted to add to the positive reviews despite my visit being some time ago. As suggested, I took the train to Wynyard and the walk was very easy. I was slightly apprehensive but the hostel is clean, modern and perfect for getting around Sydney. I made friends straight away and even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

I wanted to add this to YHA site but they made it hard to login (imagine that). The positives: 1) great location, central to Circular Quay and Opera House and in walking distance to most sights one would want to see near City Centre including access to buses and trains to other parts of the area or onward. 2) clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Sydney Harbour YHA, responded to this review

Hi firstname Thanks for staying at our hostel and your feedback. This is a very popular property, and in keeping with YHA's not for profit mission and values, we welcome all travellers but especially young people. There is a special area for groups in this hostel (separate lounge/dining room and bedroom section) as we are committed to helping schools afford... More

Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
20 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

We spent a few nights at this hostel while in Sydney. Unlike a few other reviewers we were able to enjoy the rooftop terrace at night because it was dark by 6 pm. We booked here purely for the good price and view from the terrace and weren't disappointed. We sat out there in the mornings and at night and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Sydney Harbour YHA, responded to this review

Hi Melissa Thanks for your review and glad you had a good stay. Just a hint if you come back - or for other guests - we STRONGLY recommend not using Circular Quay station if you have luggage. Use Wynyard station from which there is an easy flat 5 minute walk to the hostel. There is a map and directions... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sydney Harbour YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney Harbour YHA

Address: 110 Cumberland Street | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sydney Harbour YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Harbour Yha Hotel Sydney

238 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (230)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (57)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (28)
Viewed
Other (91)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay