We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sydney Harbour YHA

Certificate of Excellence
110 Cumberland Street | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Hotel amenities
Sydney Harbour YHA
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #3 of 119 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
CAWalker11 Newbury, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

717 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    453
    219
    32
    8
    5
See reviews for
92
158
220
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (717)
  • Mar-May only
    (202)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (184)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (143)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (188)
All months
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Staff was quite rude, my questions and requests were all ignored, the room was dirty, the bathroom was very dark, the mattress gave me back pain, the location is awful: the hotel is on the top of a hill. It costed me the same price as a real hotel (this is a hostel), but the service was below hostel standards.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Sydney Harbour YHA, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Sydney Harbour YHA and we are sorry that you had some issues during your stay. YHA takes all reviews seriously, and we will investigate your concerns with the management and staff of the hostel. We always encourage guests who have any problems during their stay to contact the manager at that time so issues... More 

Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed with a female friend for 3 nights from 10th to 13th June. We paid for the 3 night deal which included breakfast and a meal at the Australian hotel which is next door. When we were given the vouchers for breakfast we were told that we could put them against one of the events they run if we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
vancouver
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I stayed here in February 2015, and I can honestly say this is the best hostel I have ever stayed in. I compare every other place I stay in to this place. The location is great, with a rooftop deck with a killer view of the harbor. I stayed in a 4 share male dorm. Next trip to Sydney this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I am surprised how really useful this type of accommodation can be. You get a good bed and we have a single room with shower. We get three clean towels each day for the week we are here. Don't expect any cleaning of sink or room and the bed will only get made if you chose to do it. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This 5-star rating hinges on the fact that this is a hostel, not standard hotel. Does this place have nightly turn-down service, in-room dining, spa facilities, a 24/7 concierge, or an on-premise world-class restaurant? No. But for a hostel, you cannot ask for more than you get here. The location is phenomenal, the service at the desk was courteous and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Absurdly well-situated in the very centre of The Rocks, Sydney's historic "old town" between Darling Harbour and Circular Quay, its location is merely one of this YHA's many virtues. Spotless rooms, recently refurbished, with well-maintained facilities, this YHA prides itself on being "chill", and it is - its large premises (across two adjacent buildings) is spartanly occupied and very quiet,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was probably the most expensive hostel I have ever stayed in but it was totally worth it. I stayed in a four bed dorm. The bunks are purpose built and fixed to the wall so no wobbling every time the other person turns over. Lockers in the room with a plug for charging inside was great for charging things... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wuppertal, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've chosen this hostel over other cheaper hostels for it's rooftop terrace and the location within the Rocks and was not disappointed. I stayed in a four bed female dorm with own bathroom which in itself is a luxury. The beds were comfortable and there was always enough warm water for a shower. The lockers were spacious enough to store... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

...the same view as the Shangri-La for a fraxtion of the cost. Love this hostel. I've visited 4 times now and it's always been a pleasure. May cost slightly more than others, but the location is perfect and what a view from the roof top!

Was this review helpful? Yes
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for Christmas and New Year Eve 2014/15. Having also stayed in a hotel in the past not to far away from this hostel we would certainly choose this hostel over a hotel. The hostel is easy walk to Circular Quay and up town to the CBD. Our en-suite double room had views over the harbour. It was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

541 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (270)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (76)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
View from room (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Other (103)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (262)
Viewed
Amenities (22)
Viewed
Family Room (34)
Viewed
Four Person Dorm (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (82)
Viewed
Twin Double Room (88)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay