We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 182 Sydney hotels

Y Hotel Hyde Park

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5-11 Wentworth Ave, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Y Hotel Hyde Park to your Saves list
Y Hotel Hyde Park
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
62%
Ranked #98 of 182 hotels in Sydney
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
namabiru2014 Hobart, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (479)
  • Photos (96)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (66)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

479 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    231
    126
    45
    24
See reviews for
54
131
114
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed in a female dorm for 3 nights and found the bed and room quite comfortable for my needs. I didn't expect to find a fridge and tea/coffee supplies in the room so that was a nice touch. This hotel is right around the corner from the Museum train stop, with direct access to the airport. The shared bathroom... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manresa, Spain
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Rooms are really small. Probems to obtain a proper invoice. No free internet access, and connection failed time to time, you must pay for a ticket that has few options, OK for one night but not for a stay longer than this..

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen P, Manager at Y Hotel Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear JosepSala Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback of your recent stay with us. I note that you booked a deluxe Single room which is one of our smaller rooms mainly because it can only accommodate single bed and not a larger bed. You would have had an option to book a large room but we... More

Sunshine Coast, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Had a double room which was great, comfortable and suitably appointed, I thought, for the price. I would probably opt to get an ensuite room next time instead of the shared bathroom, just for the convenience, but was a good money saving option this time around. My room faced inwards away from the road so had minimal street noise or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen P, Manager at Y Hotel Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear ThinL1zzy Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback of your recent stay with us. I am very pleased that you had enjoyed your stay ay Y Hotel Hyde Park. I have noted the issue of the blanket and I will follow this up with my housekeeping department. Once again thank you for your feedback. We look... More

Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel is located in the city centre near to all the tourist attractions. The rooms are clean, the shared bathroom is good. had a pleasant stay at Y Hotel Hyde Park. The breakfast buffet is included which is fair and you can upgrade for just 6 dollars.

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen P, Manager at Y Hotel Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear Tejaswi L Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback of your recent stay with us. I am very pleased that you had enjoyed your stay ay Y Hotel Hyde Park. We look forward in welcome you back when you are next in Sydney More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The bathroom is not in the room. You have to go outside for taking shower. The hotel overall is not so clean, but the price is considered cheap. The car park is inconvenience, since I have to park at Wilson's car park closest to the hotel. I guess you get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen P, Manager at Y Hotel Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear Eyeshunter Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback of your recent stay with us. I note that you chose to book one of our traditional rooms with shared bathroom facilities, which as to have indicated was outside your room. You chose based on you budget which is fine. We provide different room types to suit most... More

San francisco
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Don't be fooled by the word "hotel" in the title, this place is a hostel, except it is not fun and has no charm. The standard double room was tiny and the sheets and blankets had stains on them. The showers in the shared bathrooms had two settings, arctic and volcano, however the water pressure was so poor that while... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen P, Manager at Y Hotel Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear Lehelm Firstly thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stat with us. I am sorry that you stay did not meet your expectations. I will be following up in the issues you highlighted with my teams to find out where we went wrong and use this information for future training guides. I am however pleased... More

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The front staff ( especially Christopher ) we're lovely. For $115 for myself and my two kids including basic breakfast this made a relative cheap comfortable stay for one night, any longer it might be a bit cosy.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen P, Manager at Y Hotel Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear Bridget Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. A light continental breakfast has always been free when you book at Y Hotel Hyde Park. It is a good way to start you day . I will pass on you comments to Christopher. I look forward to when you next stay with us. Warm regards Stephen... More

Hanoi, Vietnam
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Dirty, old, minimal recent updates in the room, shared bathroom (which smelled awful), terrible customer service and cost us more than the 4-star hotel that was closer to cbd and in a better neighborhood. When we arrived we were so disappointed we requested to cancel at least our 2nd night and they rattled off their cancellation policy instead of even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stephen P, Manager at Y Hotel Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear Natalie W Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Y Hotel Hyde Park. Please accept my sincere apology that your stay with us was not the positive experience that I hope all of our guests have. I want to assure you that any feedback is of the highest value to us,... More

New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For the price I paid, I guess this is what you get. The front desk people clearly just don't care about you much, friendly, but probably only cause they're paid to be there. Cause if you ask them a question it will go unanswered. The hotel itself is located in an awesome area. But the rooms and bathrooms are filthy.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stephen P, Manager at Y Hotel Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear L0ving_Travel I'd like first of all to thank you for your feedback, which - good or bad - we take very seriously. Each review is discussed with the hotel teams and where required performance improvement plans are set. Whilst the offsite car parking is not operated by us, I am sorry that as far as hotel issues are concerned... More

Chandigarh, Chandigarh, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Travelled as a couple, hotel is very centrally located jst get a map n the sydney is all waiting out for you! Opera house..ferry to taronga zoo..westfield all within walking dist of 20-30 mins. Cold brkfst included in room rate although hot one availb for 25$ extra . Mcd n 7-11 around ensures your food stocks .shared bathrooms not much... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
YWCAnsw, Manager at Y Hotel Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear Pallavi S Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback from you stay with us. hank you for the time taken to review your recent visit to Sydney and your stay with us. I am happy to read that even though you stayed in one of our Traditional Rooms (rooms with shared bathroom as opposed to Deluxe... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Y Hotel Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Y Hotel Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Y Hotel Hyde Park

Address: 5-11 Wentworth Ave, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Y Hotel Hyde Park 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Y Hotel Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

96 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (72)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style
#11 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
If you're looking for hotel accommodation in the centre of Sydney which won't break the bank and leaves your conscience clear as well, then look no further than Y Hotel Hyde Park. Offering affordable 3.5* Rooms, Y Hotel Hyde Park is situated right in the heart of Sydney's action. Joining Oxford Street and Hyde Park, the hotel is walking distance from Sydney's major attractions including The Rocks, Opera House, Chinatown and Darling Harbour. Surrounded by shops, cafes, restaurants, bars, galleries and gardens, you'll never be short of something to do during your stay. Whether travelling alone, with a friend or family, we have a variety of rooms to choose from, all packed with essential comforts including toiletries, tea & coffee, TV, internet, iron and hairdryer. The cafe area with its welcoming atmosphere is open daily for breakfast, to meet up with friends or just to relax. With 24 hour reception and in-room safes, you are assured a stress free stay in one of the most exciting cities in the world. Check in time is after 2pm, Check out is before 11am. Day Luggage storage is available outside of these hours for hotel guests (No Long Term Luggage facilities). Y Hotel Hyde Park supports the YWCANSW and the NSW Community. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
121

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer