We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Matador Motor Inn

11 Grafton Street (cnr Pacific Highway & Albany St), Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Matador Motor Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

159 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a one night stay at Matador en route to Brisbane. We had to change the booking late because of unavoidable issues and the hosts were happy to do this. The room was spotless with a large, comfy King size bed. We were provided with a free, good quality Continental breakfast delivered to our room. We were also directed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Suejar
Yackandandah, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very friendly helpful staff, advised us on recommended eating locations in Coffs, and were kind enough to call promptly when we left something behind after checkout ! (Much appreciated!) Motel is well located, close to all amenities.

Helpful?
Thank JIM_AT_YACK
Steve P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your time to write this review your feedback is important to us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you next time in Coffs Harbour More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed a few nights on a trip up the east coast. Arrived during the night so had previously been given a code to the safe to get our key, all went very smoothly. The room was nice and large, bathroom is a bit dated but clean and functional. The room has air con which was definitely needed. The room remained... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hannah F
Steve P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback we value your opinions as for the pool which does need the base re-painting something we are currently looking into wish we could save the 55000 liters of water that it holds. Thanks again glad you enjoyed your stay with us More 

Guyra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A comfortable stay with everything we needed. Lovely comfy beds, clean room, working aircon and best of all stocked with really nice coffee (yay!) tea, etc. Friendly staff, great central location. Everything good.

Helpful?
Thank Bianca L
Steve P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back it is appreciated we look forward to seeing you again soon More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

Stayed here for one night as we were on a road trip. Sue who greeted us was very friendly. She took the time to show us the room (never had this happened before with our motel stay experiences) and the light switches. Free bottled water and milk provided which was lovely. The room was clean and the bathroom has been... More 

Helpful?
Thank GXYS
Steve P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your time to write this review and for the recommendation we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back when next in Coffs Harbour More 

Mona Vale
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016 via mobile

The Matador was a great place for a convenient stopover heading North from Sydney. Quick check-in, room was clean and as described. Hotel located behind Hwy but surprisingly little traffic noise. Great night sleep. Hosts were super helpful.

Helpful?
Thank MonaValeMark
Steve P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments we put a high value on our guests experience and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

Our refurbished room was clean and had the basic necessities. I was a little disappointed that I had no hot water for a shower at 7.30am though. Being on the highway it was a bit noisy with the windows open but other than that it is in walking distance to the shops which is good if you don't have any... More 

Helpful?
Thank Glenda A
Steve P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the water? We have checked the system and asked other guests who all commented that the water was fine and the water pressure was very good. Our system works from one large gas hot water tank and I would have been having a shower at that time and did not... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015

My partner and I stayed here on 30/12/15 for a single night on our way from the Gold Coast to Sydney. Upon arrival we were welcomed by the staff who were very friendly and welcoming both when it came to showing us our room as well as nearby places for food. From the outside the place looks quite old but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bao N
Melbourne
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2015 via mobile

Arrived at about 7.30pm on Boxing Day and was greeted very warmly with lots of info from the lady at the front desk. She escorted to the room and have lots of instructions which was useful given the tv and aircon had master switches ;) However the room was noisy both from other guests and the highway noise. The bed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amanda Y
Steve P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this review

These are a few from recent reviews ? We paid a very reasonable price and all the expected amenities were included - comfy bed with clean linen - Great night sleep . Lovely comfy beds More 

Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2015

We contacted this motel at 9 pm from the road and thankfully a room was available. We were very impressed with how accommodating the staff was with check-in and sharing their knowledge and recommendations of the area. We were pleasantly surprised by the room. It was very clean and comfortable. This motel is great value for the money and we... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jill H
Steve P, Owner at Matador Motor Inn, responded to this review

We thank you for your time taken to write this review your feedback is appreciated. We hope to see you again when next in Coffs Harbour and thank you for the recommendation. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (33)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Big Windmill
Comfort Inn Big Windmill
#5 of 37 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#13 of 37 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
1.8 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#7 of 37 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#2 of 37 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
1.9 mi away
Park Beach Resort Motel
Park Beach Resort Motel
#1 of 37 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coffs Harbour Pacific Palms Motel
Coffs Harbour Pacific Palms Mote...
#11 of 37 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay