We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Plantation Backpackers

88 Grafton Street, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Plantation Backpackers
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

29 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    4
    4
    5
    7
    9
See reviews for
1
6
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (29)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

My friend & I stayed, and it was nice. The beds are comfortable. The only downside to the rooms was the bass that pounded up from the club below on the weekend. Aside from that, we both felt that the customer service was great! Hayden was wonderful to deal with! When we arrived, unfortunately we had to stay at another... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

I only stayed here for one night and that was one night too many! very poorly kept hostel, lockers inadequately kept with most of the locks not even working and doors hanging off. we tried to avoid the kitchen as much as we could during our short stay as it was utterly repulsive. the pots and pans were put back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hayden R, Manager at Plantation Backpackers, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback for us. We use feedback to constantly improve our offering and ensure we’re on the right track. My name is Hayden and I am the Accommodation Manager of Plantation Backpackers. Firstly, I’d like to address a couple of your complaints. Our bathrooms are thoroughly cleaned on a daily basis. There... More 

Travelers are raving about these Coffs Harbour hotels

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

Me and my friend stayed for one night as there was no space in our previous hostel..I'm so happy it was only one night. The whole place just isn't clean. The kitchen felt sticky and dirty, and the rooms smell. I'm on a budget so am used to staying in hostels but this one jut wasn't up to scratch..if you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hayden R, Manager at Plantation Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Martha, I am very disappointed to hear of your experience. We aim for a high standard of cleanliness, and what you've experienced isn't good enough. We are in the process of replacing the flooring in our kitchen as it is not suitable for a high-traffic kitchen area. We are hoping that this will eliminate the "stickiness". Every morning, we... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Roms are very bad and it smells in the rooms. Most time nobody is at the Reception. Service is not avalable. We asked for pillow nothing happened. Rooms and Bathrooms haven't been cleand, bins haven't been emty and under the bed was rubbish.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hayden R, Manager at Plantation Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Conrad, I am very disappointed to hear of your experience. We aim for a high standard of cleanliness, and what you've experienced isn't good enough. Every morning, we apply an odour neutralizer and deodorizer to our carpets to ensure they are smelling fresh. We also sanitize our carpets on a regular basis with a commercial cleaner/sanitizer and have a... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

You don't expect an amazing room for 80 dollars, but neither do you expect a week's worth of scum round the sink, crap all over the floor, and someone else's pubes on the bed. Room was revolting so we asked for another, which was equally as rough. Do yourself a favour and hit one of the motels 20 yards down... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hayden R, Manager at Plantation Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Jason, I am very disappointed to hear of your experience. We aim for a high standard of cleanliness, and what you've experienced isn't good enough. Please send an email to hayden@plantationhotel.com.au with details of your stay (what date you arrived, what room you were allocated) so I can investigate this further. Regards, Hayden Ryan Accommodation Manager Plantation Backpackers More 

New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

i think the backpackers at the plantation hotel is very clean i love the beds very private and the nice balcony i go there every new years 3 years runnen now i enjoy it my name is leslie smith keep up the good work hayden and ill seeya on the 31st mate

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hayden R, Manager at Plantation Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey Leslie, Thanks for the feedback - we really appreciate it. Looking forward to seeing you over the New Year! Regards, Hayden Ryan Accommodation Manager Plantation Backpackers More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

Las minute one night booking as first choice hostel was full. Room dirty- sink not clean and dusty, decor dated, corridor carpets dated and dirty. Bed clean and ok and price ok. Part of hostel closed for renovation so will hopefully improve. Restaurant downstairs ok for quick meal. Served its purpose for one night. Parking on street only if you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hayden R, Manager at Plantation Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Helen, Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience with us – it is good to hear about your experience (whether it was positive or negative) as we are under new management and are constantly looking for ways to improve. I’m disappointed to hear that the cleanliness of the venue wasn’t up to your standards –... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

The rooms were like prison cells! Down to the bars in the window! We arrived to a lecture from the guy in reception about the rules! Rules are needed but put them on a piece of paper and let us read them don't speak to us like we are 5! The food in the adjoining restaurant was decent but the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hayden R, Manager at Plantation Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Christopher, We're very disappointed to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us - however we appreciate the feedback as it helps us improve our offering. Please email me - hayden@plantationhotel.com.au - with some more information about your stay and I'll look into this for you. Regards, Hayden Ryan Accommodation Manager Plantation Backpackers More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

The place was nice enough. I never felt uncomfortable and everything I needed was close by. Parking is round the corner and involves a little walk so don't have too much stuff. Close to shops for dinner or go downstairs as that was cheap and good food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

When I arrived at 6am they let me in and let me sleep in the TV room even though they didn't open until 9 and I couldn't check in until 12. Staff were really friendly (if a little slow) and the downstairs bar area was really nice. No issues with cleanliness as far as I was concerned (perhaps because I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#13 of 37 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour
Ibis Budget Coffs Harbour
#31 of 37 in Coffs Harbour
3.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aussitel Backpackers
Aussitel Backpackers
#3 of 41 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hoey Moey Backpackers
Hoey Moey Backpackers
#25 of 41 in Coffs Harbour
3.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coffs Harbour Pacific Palms Motel
1.5 mi away
Park Beach Resort Motel
Park Beach Resort Motel
#1 of 37 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay