We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Plantation Backpackers

88 Grafton Street, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Plantation Backpackers
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Plantation Backpackers
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    4
    7
    9
See reviews for
1
5
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (27)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I only stayed here for one night and that was one night too many! very poorly kept hostel, lockers inadequately kept with most of the locks not even working and doors hanging off. we tried to avoid the kitchen as much as we could during our short stay as it was utterly repulsive. the pots and pans were put back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hayden R, Manager at Plantation Backpackers, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback for us. We use feedback to constantly improve our offering and ensure we’re on the right track. My name is Hayden and I am the Accommodation Manager of Plantation Backpackers. Firstly, I’d like to address a couple of your complaints. Our bathrooms are thoroughly cleaned on a daily basis. There... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my friend stayed for one night as there was no space in our previous hostel..I'm so happy it was only one night. The whole place just isn't clean. The kitchen felt sticky and dirty, and the rooms smell. I'm on a budget so am used to staying in hostels but this one jut wasn't up to scratch..if you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hayden R, Manager at Plantation Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Martha, I am very disappointed to hear of your experience. We aim for a high standard of cleanliness, and what you've experienced isn't good enough. We are in the process of replacing the flooring in our kitchen as it is not suitable for a high-traffic kitchen area. We are hoping that this will eliminate the "stickiness". Every morning, we... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Roms are very bad and it smells in the rooms. Most time nobody is at the Reception. Service is not avalable. We asked for pillow nothing happened. Rooms and Bathrooms haven't been cleand, bins haven't been emty and under the bed was rubbish.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hayden R, Manager at Plantation Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Conrad, I am very disappointed to hear of your experience. We aim for a high standard of cleanliness, and what you've experienced isn't good enough. Every morning, we apply an odour neutralizer and deodorizer to our carpets to ensure they are smelling fresh. We also sanitize our carpets on a regular basis with a commercial cleaner/sanitizer and have a... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

You don't expect an amazing room for 80 dollars, but neither do you expect a week's worth of scum round the sink, crap all over the floor, and someone else's pubes on the bed. Room was revolting so we asked for another, which was equally as rough. Do yourself a favour and hit one of the motels 20 yards down... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hayden R, Manager at Plantation Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Jason, I am very disappointed to hear of your experience. We aim for a high standard of cleanliness, and what you've experienced isn't good enough. Please send an email to hayden@plantationhotel.com.au with details of your stay (what date you arrived, what room you were allocated) so I can investigate this further. Regards, Hayden Ryan Accommodation Manager Plantation Backpackers More 

New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

i think the backpackers at the plantation hotel is very clean i love the beds very private and the nice balcony i go there every new years 3 years runnen now i enjoy it my name is leslie smith keep up the good work hayden and ill seeya on the 31st mate

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hayden R, Manager at Plantation Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey Leslie, Thanks for the feedback - we really appreciate it. Looking forward to seeing you over the New Year! Regards, Hayden Ryan Accommodation Manager Plantation Backpackers More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

Las minute one night booking as first choice hostel was full. Room dirty- sink not clean and dusty, decor dated, corridor carpets dated and dirty. Bed clean and ok and price ok. Part of hostel closed for renovation so will hopefully improve. Restaurant downstairs ok for quick meal. Served its purpose for one night. Parking on street only if you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hayden R, Manager at Plantation Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Helen, Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience with us – it is good to hear about your experience (whether it was positive or negative) as we are under new management and are constantly looking for ways to improve. I’m disappointed to hear that the cleanliness of the venue wasn’t up to your standards –... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

The rooms were like prison cells! Down to the bars in the window! We arrived to a lecture from the guy in reception about the rules! Rules are needed but put them on a piece of paper and let us read them don't speak to us like we are 5! The food in the adjoining restaurant was decent but the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hayden R, Manager at Plantation Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Christopher, We're very disappointed to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us - however we appreciate the feedback as it helps us improve our offering. Please email me - hayden@plantationhotel.com.au - with some more information about your stay and I'll look into this for you. Regards, Hayden Ryan Accommodation Manager Plantation Backpackers More 

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

The place was nice enough. I never felt uncomfortable and everything I needed was close by. Parking is round the corner and involves a little walk so don't have too much stuff. Close to shops for dinner or go downstairs as that was cheap and good food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

When I arrived at 6am they let me in and let me sleep in the TV room even though they didn't open until 9 and I couldn't check in until 12. Staff were really friendly (if a little slow) and the downstairs bar area was really nice. No issues with cleanliness as far as I was concerned (perhaps because I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights in a 4 bed dorm. The backpackers is situated on top of a nightclub so if you're unlucky enough to stay here on the weekend (as I was) then you better hope you are a heavy sleeper as the bass will be pounding into the early hours! The beds themselves were reasonably comfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hayden R, Manager at Plantation Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for leaving us feedback regarding your stay. Plantation Backpackers is under new management since your stay, and we use reviews like yours to work out what needs to be improved. Since your stay, we have implemented strict cleaning processes: Every morning, we apply an odour neutralizer and deodorizer to our carpets to ensure they are smelling fresh. We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Plantation Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Backpackers

Address: 88 Grafton Street, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Plantation Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay