We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Plantation Backpackers

88 Grafton Street, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Plantation Backpackers
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Plantation Backpackers
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    4
    6
    6
See reviews for
1
4
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (23)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

i think the backpackers at the plantation hotel is very clean i love the beds very private and the nice balcony i go there every new years 3 years runnen now i enjoy it my name is leslie smith keep up the good work hayden and ill seeya on the 31st mate

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hayden R, Manager at Plantation Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey Leslie, Thanks for the feedback - we really appreciate it. Looking forward to seeing you over the New Year! Regards, Hayden Ryan Accommodation Manager Plantation Backpackers More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Las minute one night booking as first choice hostel was full. Room dirty- sink not clean and dusty, decor dated, corridor carpets dated and dirty. Bed clean and ok and price ok. Part of hostel closed for renovation so will hopefully improve. Restaurant downstairs ok for quick meal. Served its purpose for one night. Parking on street only if you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hayden R, Manager at Plantation Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Helen, Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience with us – it is good to hear about your experience (whether it was positive or negative) as we are under new management and are constantly looking for ways to improve. I’m disappointed to hear that the cleanliness of the venue wasn’t up to your standards –... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms were like prison cells! Down to the bars in the window! We arrived to a lecture from the guy in reception about the rules! Rules are needed but put them on a piece of paper and let us read them don't speak to us like we are 5! The food in the adjoining restaurant was decent but the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hayden R, Manager at Plantation Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Christopher, We're very disappointed to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us - however we appreciate the feedback as it helps us improve our offering. Please email me - hayden@plantationhotel.com.au - with some more information about your stay and I'll look into this for you. Regards, Hayden Ryan Accommodation Manager Plantation Backpackers More 

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The place was nice enough. I never felt uncomfortable and everything I needed was close by. Parking is round the corner and involves a little walk so don't have too much stuff. Close to shops for dinner or go downstairs as that was cheap and good food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

When I arrived at 6am they let me in and let me sleep in the TV room even though they didn't open until 9 and I couldn't check in until 12. Staff were really friendly (if a little slow) and the downstairs bar area was really nice. No issues with cleanliness as far as I was concerned (perhaps because I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights in a 4 bed dorm. The backpackers is situated on top of a nightclub so if you're unlucky enough to stay here on the weekend (as I was) then you better hope you are a heavy sleeper as the bass will be pounding into the early hours! The beds themselves were reasonably comfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Filthy - very sub Australian standard, especially for price. Noisy, poor ventilation, I wish I had visited this site before booking. Staff tried hard to be friendly. A central location and has potential to be much better simply by cleaning

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the plantation backpackers for one night. It was kind of an emergency, so we could handle the horrible conditions for one night, but I'd never stay there again. When we came into the room, there was the bin, dirty by some brown stuff (I don't wanna know what it was!) under the window, which was probably broken.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I was recommended this for a cheap overnight stay whilst on a trip to Brisbane. Needless to say that I wish I had chosen to stay at a proper motel further back from the highway. It's noisy, poorly serviced and I even had the indignity of being supplied with 'new' towels which actually had skid marks on them from a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here in late 2012 and we were dissappointed! The website and flyers at other hostels promised free welcome drinks, TV and games room (with Wii and a lot of channels) and kitchen. The drinks were not given since they had stopped with that 2 months earlier and when we said it still said so on their webpage, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Plantation Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Backpackers

Address: 88 Grafton Street, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Plantation Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay