We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Spot X

46 Arrawarra Rd, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2456, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spot X
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Spot X
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    10
    3
    11
    9
See reviews for
2
5
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (66)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Spot X Surf Camp was our first stop when travelling up the East Coast but we are ruling it out completely. We arrived at 6am, after a 10 hour bus journey, and were briefly shown around the camp. Our first impression wasn't great but we thought we'd give it a chance. There isn't much positive feedback we could give... The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Siggiewi, null, Malta
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We just had a 2 nights trip, they were great but could have been better. The toilets/showers were very dirty and the water pressure in the showers were horrible. Since we only booked for a 2 night stay we had only 2 morning lessons (which we knew about), however in our second lesson we spent an hour or so playing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dan M, General Manager at Spot X, responded to this review

Hi Christine, Thanks for taking the time to review the camp. Im glad you had a good time at camp and enjoyed the food and the vibe. I will pass on the feedback to the surf school regarding the time spend on the beach, I know they like to stretch and warm up prior to getting in the water, but... More 

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

We found this place because it fitted in with our travels. Firstly because of the stupid bus times we arrived her at 4am and was shown around the area and was told we could probably check in around 10-11am so we waited in a room with sofas which are dirty and old and fell asleep are a couple hours at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dan M, General Manager at Spot X, responded to this review

Hi Jordan, Thanks for taking the time to share your views on the camp. Unfortunately I cannot control the bus times and arrivals. We do offer a free shuttle to pick up and drop off to cater for these late hours.. Like any Hostel or Hotel we are subject to availability and check in and check out times. I do... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

My partner and I booked mojo surf due to it being advertised everywhere and it fitted in with our plans travelling to go from Sydney to Cairns. I was really looking forward to learn to surf and the whole idea of it being on a quiet beach off the busy tourist beaches sounded great. However everything was disappointing unfortunately. Firstly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dan M, General Manager at Spot X, responded to this review

Hi Skillzy1992, I am sorry to hear about your disappointment with the camp. When guests arrive at 4am, agents will advise them that they will need to wait until check in which is at 2pm. Where at all possible when guests arrive at this time if I have a bed then I will always put you in it, however on... More 

Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

Spot X was by far the best location Ive been to in Australia. The set up of the camp is great. The rooms are like containers so not the full on tent camping anyways. The nights by the bond fire were my favourite. You can always only hope for someone bringing a guitar. Thanks to the staff for the bottle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dan M, General Manager at Spot X, responded to this review

Hi Animei, Thanks for taking the time to write a review, glad you had a great time and look forward to seeing you again when you return. Safe travels More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

I stayed at Mojo Surf Camp Spot X from the 23rd to 28th December. To start off, on arrival from the Premier Bus in Woolgoolga I was promised a pick up, as discussed earlier with the girl at reception. When I actually arrived there, nobody was there to pick me up so I called the night manager who said a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dan M, General Manager at Spot X, responded to this review

Hi KRL2015, Im really sorry about the experience you had with the free shuttle that we provide to pick up passengers from the bus stop in Woolgoolga. This is not cool and something I take very seriously as safety is my number one concern with all my customers here at Spot X. I do recall my night manager advising me... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

I went to Spot X to attend a 1 month academy course to learn how to surf. I fell in love with the camp immediately and changed my course to a 3 month program and also started working there. Not only are the surf lessons amazing, all the coaches in the academy are Australians and have been surfing for their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dan M, General Manager at Spot X, responded to this review

Melons, Thanks for a great review showing the inside of one of our programs. Its a testament to the program that you extended from 1 month to 3 months and now changed your life. Its also great seeing you guys develop through the program and create opportunities for yourselves to work and live the dream here in Aust. We love... More 

Cammeray, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

I went with my fiancée (almost wife), this was our first stop in our trip after having driven almost 9 hours from Sydney. We were exhausted when we arrived late at night, and right away when we arrived we were welcomed by the night manager, who not only was very nice , but explained to us where to go, how... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dan M, General Manager at Spot X, responded to this review

Hey Guys, Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I am glad you had an amazing time with your almost wife and hope that you guys enjoy the rest of your adventure in aus. Thanks again for letting us know about your trip and take care for the rest of your travels. Keep surfing and living the dream. More 

Bangkok
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights last year and thoroughly enjoyed it. Was picked up from Sydney and dropped off in Byron Bay and both buses were reasonably new and had air con etc. My stay was amazing, we had surf lessons twice a day and the social aspect was good as well! The quality of teaching was good, we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dan M, General Manager at Spot X, responded to this review

Hey Alex, Thanks for taking the time out to review our product thats great. Super stoked that you had a great time, look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Aus. Take care and keep surfing. More 

Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Great surf instructors, great food, great people. We spent a week here in april/may and it was the highlight of our time in australia! We miss it so much! If you want to learn how to surf, and/or have a great time- Go to spot X!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dan M, General Manager at Spot X, responded to this review

Thanks Tonje sounds like you guys had an epic time. Im so happy that we could be the highlight of your trip, its great feedback as this is what we strive for with every client to stand out and give them the best time while travelling aus. Enjoy the rest of your trip and make sure you keep surfing. yewww More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question