We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Spot X

46 Arrawarra Rd, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2456, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spot X
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Spot X
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    11
    3
    12
    9
See reviews for
2
5
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (71)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
French Riviera - Cote d'Azur, France
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was just for 3 days in the Mojo Surf Camp and it was horrible. The best thing at the Mojo Factory is their marketing. Everything looks much better on the pictures than in real. The rooms (tents and cabins) are small, old and dirty. Mojo try to sell the Surf-Spirit but it's a big money-factory. A big business with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coffs Harbour, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spot X is an awesome place to be. I arrived as a beginner and left as a pro! I can call myself Instructor now. Not only the surf is really good also the people and the place itself. I recommend Spot x to everybody who wants to learn surfing and have a great time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woolgoolga, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spot X at Arrawarra is such an awesome spot to be. You are literally living on the beach while you are there. The instructors and staff are really friendly and helpful. The instructors were really patient with my girlfriend who wasnt too comfortable with being in the sea but she really enjoyed the surf lessons. The atmosphere on camp is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've never surfed before but managed to stand on my board several times with the help of the patient and great instructors! It's a great atmosphere and all the staff are very friendly and helpful! The food is good and the portions are big! Rooms are well equipped with their own bathrooms, plug sockets and air con/heater! Would definitely recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dan M, General Manager at Spot X, responded to this review

Hi Danitoast, Thanks for taking the time to review Spot X, its always great to hear from people that love and appreciate what we do. Thats awesome you got to experience the waves and stand up a few times, you will be ripping in no time. Enjoy the rest of your travels and keep surfing. More 

Ettalong Beach, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Such a chilled place with a positive fun vibe and friendly, helpful staff . I stayed here for the second time this year and can't get enough of the brilliant secluded location with many uncrowded quality surf breaks . Having previously stayed in Tipi style accommodation for my first trip during summer ; loved the camp style feel, enjoying the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dan M, General Manager at Spot X, responded to this review

Hi MaddisonC90, Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us, awesome to have have you come back and visit for a second time and love what we are doing. Keep enjoying life, im sure we will see you again. Safe travels. More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spot X Surf Camp was our first stop when travelling up the East Coast but we are ruling it out completely. We arrived at 6am, after a 10 hour bus journey, and were briefly shown around the camp. Our first impression wasn't great but we thought we'd give it a chance. There isn't much positive feedback we could give... The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dan M, General Manager at Spot X, responded to this review

Hi Maddi, Thanks for taking the time to review the product and share your experience. I can see that yourself and Ben traveled through Spot X on a 2 day surf and stay on Sunday the 19th April arriving at camp on the 5.45am bus from Syd. Your package includes Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accommodation and a surf lesson. Some accommodation... More 

Siggiewi, null, Malta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We just had a 2 nights trip, they were great but could have been better. The toilets/showers were very dirty and the water pressure in the showers were horrible. Since we only booked for a 2 night stay we had only 2 morning lessons (which we knew about), however in our second lesson we spent an hour or so playing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dan M, General Manager at Spot X, responded to this review

Hi Christine, Thanks for taking the time to review the camp. Im glad you had a good time at camp and enjoyed the food and the vibe. I will pass on the feedback to the surf school regarding the time spend on the beach, I know they like to stretch and warm up prior to getting in the water, but... More 

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

We found this place because it fitted in with our travels. Firstly because of the stupid bus times we arrived her at 4am and was shown around the area and was told we could probably check in around 10-11am so we waited in a room with sofas which are dirty and old and fell asleep are a couple hours at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dan M, General Manager at Spot X, responded to this review

Hi Jordan, Thanks for taking the time to share your views on the camp. Unfortunately I cannot control the bus times and arrivals. We do offer a free shuttle to pick up and drop off to cater for these late hours.. Like any Hostel or Hotel we are subject to availability and check in and check out times. I do... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

My partner and I booked mojo surf due to it being advertised everywhere and it fitted in with our plans travelling to go from Sydney to Cairns. I was really looking forward to learn to surf and the whole idea of it being on a quiet beach off the busy tourist beaches sounded great. However everything was disappointing unfortunately. Firstly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dan M, General Manager at Spot X, responded to this review

Hi Skillzy1992, I am sorry to hear about your disappointment with the camp. When guests arrive at 4am, agents will advise them that they will need to wait until check in which is at 2pm. Where at all possible when guests arrive at this time if I have a bed then I will always put you in it, however on... More 

Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

Spot X was by far the best location Ive been to in Australia. The set up of the camp is great. The rooms are like containers so not the full on tent camping anyways. The nights by the bond fire were my favourite. You can always only hope for someone bringing a guitar. Thanks to the staff for the bottle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dan M, General Manager at Spot X, responded to this review

Hi Animei, Thanks for taking the time to write a review, glad you had a great time and look forward to seeing you again when you return. Safe travels More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities