We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra

2 Marcus Clarke Street, Canberra 2601, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Apartments Capital Tower)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

252 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    63
    106
    41
    31
    11
See reviews for
118
25
6
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (252)
  • Mar-May only
    (64)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (89)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (50)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (49)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed with family for 2 nights. The reception staff were friendly and efficient both when checking in and other times when we needed assistance. We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment which was spacious and clean and included all amenities we required including laundry and kitchen facilities. The apartments are in a great location, easy walking distances to the shops,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were just overnighting with our teenager so really appreciated the extra space in this two bedroom well priced apartment. Looks like all the furnishings (except curtains) have been recently updated. Bathroom and kitchen fresh and clean. Some furniture was scratched and could be replaced - maybe that's next! Linen was lovely also seemed new. We had a view over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

..we were happy with our choice of Capital Towers, Canberra - the Unit we had had a fabulous view of the lake and beyond .. rooms were large enough for a comfortable night for 4 adults plus the added bonus of a full laundry & full kitchen pleased us somewhat - unfortunately their *Free Wifi isn't exactly that - it's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Needed a room for 2 couples for 3 nights. This facility presented well in the advertising materials and web site. Price was a bit high but reasonable at $680, but the view and the location were promising. The reception procedure was efficient and friendly. But the room was tired, 2 dirty towels (I hate to think what was on them),... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Canberra hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

BreakFree Capital Tower situated in the city is close to pretty much everything. The rooms are expansive for a family of four; clean; & perfect as a self contained 2 bed apartment. Perhaps obtaining a room with lake views might be more aesthetically pleasing however the city view room was quiet & enjoyable all the same. Will definitely book in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Apartment booking - roomy and good for families. Have stayed in Breakfree before & they can be hit & miss. The hits were spacious room, good living area, good kitchen & balcony while the misses were grubby furnishings, awkward over bath shower access & needing an overall paint and freshen up in room & hallways. Friendly staff and good location... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at Capital Tower for 7 nights and enjoyed it immensely. We have stayed there numerous times, but it has been some years since we last visited Canberra so were wondering what the hotel would be like now. The initial room we were given was on the third floor on the lake side. The only view it had was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stopped overnight in Canberra on our annual pilgrimage to Perisher for our family snow trip and this year decided to stay at the BreakFree Capital Tower. We arrived late and the reception desk was expecting us which was great and we got an upgrade to a 3 bedroom apartment which was fantastic - our kids got there own bedrooms!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
thomas-captower, Acting Assistant Manager at BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra, responded to this review

Thank you for this review- the staff at BreakFree Capital Tower really appreciate it. We hope to see you again in the near futue and hope you have an even better experience than you did this time.. Kind Regards Grace Penny Acting Assistant Manager More 

Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

I travelled with a family of 10 with three kids - Pros - Great Location, Good security, Decent size rooms, clean. Cons - Expensive, Poor hot water system - hot water ran out after one 15 minute shower which left 9 of us not showered for that particular night and hotel only refunded $100 for two rooms. Travellers - I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
thomas-captower, Acting Assistant Manager at BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. The staff at BreakFree Capital Tower really appreciate any feedback that we are given. We do understand that all the apartments have small hot water systems and sometimes the system does take a little while to heat back up again. We were not made aware until just before you were... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

We had a great stay here in a 3 bedroom apartment. Unfortunately you can't book a lakeside 3 bedroom apartment (you can only do this with the 2 bedroom - ie lakeside or cityside) and we really wanted lakeside. We requested in advance and luckily received a lakeside 3 bedroom apartment, high up with a sensational view. The beds and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
thomas-captower, Acting Assistant Manager at BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra, responded to this review

The staff at BreakFree Capital Tower really appreciate your feedback and would like to thank you for time time you took to write this review. We will definately take your review into condsideration when we update our apartments. As the apartments all have thier own small hot water systems, this does make it difficult to shower 6 people. Management are... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

134 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (90)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.1 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#11 of 54 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 stars 623 reviews
0.1 mi away
QT Canberra
QT Canberra
#10 of 54 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 stars 667 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Canberra
Quest Canberra
#31 of 54 in Canberra
3.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#18 of 54 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 stars 2,607 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
0.9 mi away
Clifton Suites on Northbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay