We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 52 Canberra hotels

BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro

3.5 of 5 Motel   |   27 Dawes Street, Canberra 2604, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
76%
Ranked #8 of 52 hotels in Canberra
A recent review
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    23
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
5
21
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The car park is a nightmare to get in and out of and there is not enough spaces for all guests. Many have to park on the median strip or in the street. The motel rooms are tiny and cramped. The rooms are old and outdated but have been given a quick coat of paint in an attempt to modernise.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
australia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had booked and paid two nights but left after one! Comfortable beds but that was about it. Rooms are noisy - I think we had every single water pipe in the building positioned above our room. As soon as anyone in the motel had a shower we could hear it. Lots of loud music. No re-imbursement offered. Definitely wouldn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Graham V, Owner at BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed that you did not alert us to any problem until you were leaving, the following morning. Anything that disturbs any of our guests is a very real issue for us...as long as we know about it. In this instance we had no opportunity to take any possible remedial action. Our guest information... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We were lucky enough to visit Canberra for a wedding and stay at the lovely Motel Monaro. From a welcome check in to helping us with directions and even providing an umbrella, we were well looked after by the friendly staff. Rooms are very clean and comfortable - not that you will spend a lot of time in them seeing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Graham V, Owner at BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro, responded to this review

Thank you MjWard4. Sounds like you had a great time in Canberra and enjoyed our location and facilities. I will pass on you kind comments to our wonderful staff. Hope we can accommodate you on another trip. Please tell your family and friends about us. Graham More

Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Lovely room, very nice staff, personalised service. By filling out the "your stay... your way" form you could choose whether you wanted a full service, no service, take-away-rubbish-only etc. etc. Also, the "get up and go breakfast" delivered the evening before departure was really a great idea. Staff was ready to give all sort of precious information. There was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Graham V, Owner at BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro, responded to this review

Thanks Cristina for you feedback. We realise we are small, old style motel so we have concentrated on an practical renovation to make our guests comfortable and try to focus on friendly efficient service, such as asking what style of room servicing is required and offering a convenient early breakfast option. Hope the remainder of your trip was a success.... More

Yamba, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

4 nights in Canberra to see Mapping The World, Gold of the Incas and the national capital. The BW Monaro is well located (walk through the back gate to 30+ restaurants in Kingston, OR 10 min by car to galleries and sites, and less to Manuka shops and restaurants) and quiet (a few hundred metres from any main activity). Rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Graham V, Owner at BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro, responded to this review

Thank you FCarroll18. Your review appears to have got us exactly right. We aim to have very clean and comfortable rooms and provide professional, friendly service. We have an excellent location close to the best range of eating establishments and are handy to most attractions, including the National Gallery. It is generally quiet here and usually remains like that thanks... More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

The hotel was situated very close to the Kingston eating area. It was so convinient to walk over to the dinner place after a hard day on a business trip. It was also situated in very quiet area. We slept so well. Comfortable bed, clean bathroom. Microwave was the bonus. We will definately stay here again if we come to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Graham V, Owner at BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro, responded to this review

Thanks Sue for your review. We get many compliments on our beds and bedding, which seem to suit most people. It is often difficult to get a good nights sleep away from home so it is a real win to be able to provide that at a Motel. The inclusion of a microwave in each room plus some crockery, cutlery,... More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Motel is located in Kingston, not quite in the CDB, however bus services are cheap and frequent. Motel was very quiet, the beds (queen and single) very comfortable. Small kitchenette with microwave meant we could do for ourselves and avoid expensive restaurants. Unit was spotlessly clean. The unit had a split system airconditioner which was quiet. The shower was "walk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Graham V, Owner at BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro, responded to this review

Thanks Kevin for the fantastic review. I am so pleased you had an enjoyable experience with us. We try to provide facilities that guests want along with honest friendly service. Little things like free WIFI, the kitchen type facilities (microwave etc) and the redesign of our small bathrooms in our renovation and the inclusion of quality toiletries are appreciated by... More

Brisbane
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

For what it is, this motel is clean and simple. It's a very short walk to some restaurants and the Belgium Beer Cafe. It's quiet location means you'll get some sleep but there can be a little noise from the carpark to the rear of the motel if you have a room that backs onto it. For short stays in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Graham V, Owner at BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro, responded to this review

Thank you DreamensioN for your positive review. Our location is excellent for access to business and tourist destinations as well as a large range of quality restaurants, bars and cafes. I am sorry your mobile phone reception was not better but that is the responsibility of some of our largest corporations. I actually changed my carrier because of poor reception... More

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Motel Monaro provided us with a recently updated, comfortable unit from which we enjoyed our Canberra visit. We didn't need pool or dining options - just a comfy bed with clean and tidy bathroom. Lots of dining options through the back gate at Kingston shopping centre. Friendly, informative reception staff too. We will definitely choose Motel Monaro again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Graham V, Owner at BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro, responded to this review

A great compliment thank you LAD345. As you noted we are a room-only Motel in a great spot. No pool, gym, or in- house restaurant. Being so close to probably the best choice of restaurants and cafes gives our guests a convenient eat and sleep option. By the way.. there is a public pool and a couple of gyms close... More

sydney
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Booked for 3 nights based on location and previous Trip Advisor Reviews. Rooms are modern, clean and well appointed and warm. Rooms are serviced daily. Nice modern bathroom. Showers have good water pressure. We stayed in a room with a Queen and a Single bed. Both beds were extremely comfortable with crisp, clean linen - the sort of beds you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Graham V, Owner at BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro, responded to this review

Thanks Mishy for the glowing review. I think you have noted all the elements we were able to improve with our renovation. Great beds and showers with real water pressure, quality linen, flat screen TV, and kitchen inclusions etc....and we did choose to put the improvement inside the rooms and keep the exterior tidy (and still 60s!!). The location is... More

Been to BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro

Also Known As:
Best Western Kingston
Kingston Best Western
Address: 27 Dawes Street, Canberra 2604, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 52 hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Kingston on the South side of Lake Burley Griffin, just a few minutes from Parliament House, Australian National Gallery, High Court of Australia and the Parliamentary triangle, the ideal location for any visit to Canberra - business or pleasure .The popular Kingston shopping area is just outside the back gate with in excess of thirty excellent restaurants, banks, bars, shops and supermarket. It is a quiet, convenient location close to the major tourist and business areas. Best Western Motel Monaro has a 3+ star rating from the NRMA and all rooms are ensuite with Air conditioners/Heaters, telephone, television, wireless internet, tea/coffee making facilities, toaster and refrigerator. Breakfast is available for service to rooms and ranges from a continental style with juice, cereal, fruit and toast up to a full cooked selection. There are a variety of rooms including single, double, twin and family suites. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.