We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 52 Canberra hotels

Embassy Motel

4.0 of 5 Motel   |   Hopetoun Circuit | P.O. Box 9042, Canberra 2600, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Embassy Motel to your Saves list
Embassy Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
18%
Ranked #47 of 52 Hotels in Canberra
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    4
    1
    9
See reviews for
2
4
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (16)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I used to stay here on most of my trips to Canberra, mostly for the convenience and location (and certainly not the service - the fella behind the front desk has certainly earned his reputation here). Disappointing to hear it's been torn down, especially given the excessive cost of most similar quality motels around town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glenbrook
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

It's quite amazing. There, on the corner of Adelaide Avenue and Hopetoun Circuit, has been the iconic EMBASSY HOTEL, the vevue of at least 50 years of trysts and liasons. Now, on the same corner, in the same place, is a pile of bricks! They've demolished it! I wanted a souvenir, but I didn't see it going!. Ahhhh well.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

I recently stayed at the Embassy Motel and had a fine experience until the last day. It was clean, conveniently located, and the staff were friendly. The night before I checked out I needed to purchase internet access. It didn't work the first or second time I tried with the front office and on my third visit the manager had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ecully, France
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

We stayed two nights in the Embassy motel. On the plus side, the room had an excellent bedding. That was much appreciated. There was quite some room available and you didn't feel confined to a small closet. And the location was really convenient with a short drive to Manukau and the capitol hill. Otherwise, the room itself was antique. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
michael5961, Manager at Embassy Motel, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that the bedding was satisfactory and which is an important part of the stay. I understand your comments about the bathrooms which are not modern by any means but are still functional however I was a bit surprised that you deem the room to be antique when the furnishings in all the rooms were replaced... More

melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

That bloke at the desk should be sacked or if he's the owner, should sell up, because he's in the wrong job. Maybe factory work, where he doesn't encounter people is his calling. Rudest bloke i ever met.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2009

Well located in the faceless Canberra urban wilderness, the Embassy Motel gave me a good night's sleep after a rather odd night next door at a local football club bistro. The (much discussed) man at the Embassy front desk was not effusive, neither was he rude - he was a just bit reserved, I guess. Not a crime... The room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
michael5961, Manager at Embassy Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the pleasant comments which are probably more in line with what we, and "that bloke", really are like! It is amazing the difference when obviously you have travelled with an open mind and have a better understanding of how a stay at any hotel can be rewarding when you treat motel staff in such a pleasant manner..... More

London
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2009

I had a problem with a neighbour making noise. When I asked to move rooms, the owner responded with suspicion and surliness bordering on hostility.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2008

I don't normally read or write reviews, but felt compelled to do so this instance. We were charged for drinks from the minibar THAT WE DID NOT CONSUME. It was our fault that we didn't insist on checking the minibar in the presence of the manager "Michael" at check out. We were not notified, but instead only found the charge... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NSW
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2008

My worst Motel experience ever was at the Embassy Motel in Canberra, Australia. The management were heartless, uncooperative and inconsiderate people who made our lives miserable. I have stayed in some dodgy places in my time and I would rate all of them above the Embassy Motel in Canberra due to issues with customer service from the owner himself. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sydney
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2008

In a word: yuck! Very seedy motel with some dodgy clientele (I was watching tv - not loudly - at 9pm at night and someone kept banging on the adjoining wall - quite scary!). Carpet was stained and linen and doona well past their best. Pillows were horribly old and lumpy. Several huntsmen spiders in the bathroom, despite the window... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Do you own or manage Embassy Motel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Embassy Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Motel

Address: Hopetoun Circuit | P.O. Box 9042, Canberra 2600, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Embassy Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Hotel Canberra
Embassy Motel Canberra

3 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Embassy Motel