We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 52 Canberra hotels

Canberra Carotel Motel & Caravan Park

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Aspinall & Zelling Streets, Canberra 2602, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Canberra Carotel Motel & Caravan Park to your Saves list
Canberra Carotel Motel & Caravan Park
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
37%
Ranked #37 of 52 hotels in Canberra
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Wendy T
  • Reviews (58)
  • Photos (12)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (15)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    14
    13
    11
See reviews for
15
10
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Staff are nice and good environment. Stay here for couple time. love this park. I am camping there. In the cold morning, I would like to have some hot water to make coffee. But i wouldn't found any camp kitchen.Toilet and shower is clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert H, Manager at Canberra Carotel Motel & Caravan Park, responded to this review

So pleased you enjoyed our camping area . We are aware that we don't have a Camp Kitchen but we do have a laundry in the Camping area with power supplied to assist in making your hot drink for next time. More

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was very impressed with the Carotel Motel. The staff were friendly and efficient. They made sure everyones needs were met. Rooms were basic but very clean and warm. Not much more could be expected for the cost. If the school does a visit again I am sure they will look at Carotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert H, Manager at Canberra Carotel Motel & Caravan Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feed back. We have been specializing with the school accommodation market for a long periode of time and believe we do have a great team of staff who are very experineced with catering for the children and teachers needs. It was a delight that you found the rooms clean and warm for your stay. We... More

Ulladulla, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a great stay in the Spa Villas, we had a group of 15 and we fit easily and perfectly in to the Spa Villas. The Kids loved the bunks and so did a couple of the adults. It was beautiful and clean. The aircon was perfect (hit -4 over night). Beds were comfortable. Kids a ball kicking the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert H, Manager at Canberra Carotel Motel & Caravan Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive response. It was great that you and your family enjoyed staying in our spa villas, they are ideal for family accommodation. So pleased the children enjoyed kicking a ball in the open space and that you found the location and our staff to your liking. We would love to be able to assit you again... More

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed here on two occasions as campers on unpowered sites. As we had had such an easy time with our first stay, it was an obvious choice for our second stay as a quick stop-over on our second trip. We checked in late with no booking and had many sites to choose from, which was very convenient, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert H, Manager at Canberra Carotel Motel & Caravan Park, responded to this review

It is great that you enjoyed your stay camping with us. We have done some major work on the amenities block in the last 12 months and most guests have appreciated that. So please you found our convenience store to your liking. We look forward to assisting you again when next in town. More

Hay, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From the time our son went to Canberra for work we have been travelling to Canberra two or three times a year ! Not being wealthy we found the Carotel from reviews on the web and tourist brochures ! We have been staying there ever since EXCEPT on tha rare occasion when it has been booked out ! Then we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Robert H, Manager at Canberra Carotel Motel & Caravan Park, responded to this review

Dear Lynne, Ian & Harry, What a pleasure to receive your positive comments. We are delighted that you have enjoyed staying in a variety of our room types and have been more than pleased with them and our staff. On your next stay with us please ask the staff for an extra milk and inform them that I said it... More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here earlier in the year when I stopped off on the way to the snowy mountains. Although rooms appeared to be clean and cozy, the beds were very uncomfortable and were surrounded by dust. I sneezed consistently throughout the nights and woke up several times due to dust in my throat. I would definitely not recommend this hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert H, Manager at Canberra Carotel Motel & Caravan Park, responded to this review

We have new Sealy beds throughout the Motel and most guests have been more than happy with them.If we had been informed about the particular mattress we would have been happy to replace it for you. In reference to your comment about the dust in the room we haven't received a complaint from any other guest that I am aware... More

West Wyalong, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Regarding motel room number 105 We were most unhappy with the sensor light/exhaust fan in the bathroom/toilet. During each of our showers the light & exhaust fan cut out or prematurely timed out at least three times resulting in complete darkness and were very difficult to reactivate from behind the shower curtain. I think the build-up of steam in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert H, Manager at Canberra Carotel Motel & Caravan Park, responded to this review

Thank you for informing us about the sensor light/exhaust fan problem. I have contacted our electrician to have the problem fixed. We are pleased that you were otherwise quite happy with the Motel Room accommodation. More

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

My 11 year old daughter stayed at this motel just recently. This is her review. I went here on a school camp. It wasn't nice. Our bathroom stank, and the water in the tap and shower was only cold. There was a bunk that didn't look very safe without something around it to stop people falling out. The food was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Robert H, Manager at Canberra Carotel Motel & Caravan Park, responded to this review

It is dissapointing to learn that your daughter didn't enjoy her stay with us as the majority of school groups are very pleased with our over all school packages. More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Beds very uncomfortable, old and sunken in the middle. Don't expect a good night sleep. Family cabin, small lounge and dinner table really doesn't really suit a family or a group of people. Heating good especially for winter. service and after hours service excellent. Location good, we cycled to burley griffin and then around, great cycle paths

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert H, Manager at Canberra Carotel Motel & Caravan Park, responded to this review

We are disappointed to hear that your bed was uncomfortable and we apologise for that. On making the beds we check for any faulty mattresses and replace them but must have missed yours. It is very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed the bike ways Canberra has on offer and that the service and cleanliness of the rooms was to... More

Moruya, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The Carotel offers a clean, well priced option for staying in Canberra - especially for a large family. Yes, its outdated (rooms, bathrooms, gardens etc) and the ambiance is somewhat lacking, but the rooms are clean and warm, the staff very friendly and helpful, the linen is fresh and crispy, beds are comfortable, the TV in our room was modern... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Robert H, Manager at Canberra Carotel Motel & Caravan Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive response . We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. You may not be aware that we have recently commenced a refurbishment programme with the view of updating various rooms. Please request an updated room when next staying with us and experience the improvement. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Canberra Carotel Motel & Caravan Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Canberra Carotel Motel & Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canberra Carotel Motel & Caravan Park

Address: Corner Aspinall & Zelling Streets, Canberra 2602, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Canberra Carotel Motel & Caravan Park 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Canberra Carotel Motel & Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Canberra Carotel Motel/ Caravan Park which is situated on an undulating 20 acres in a rural setting,located just 6 klms north of Canberra's main shopping hub and idealy located to numerous major attractions.We offer a variety of accommodation catering for individuals through to large groups. We offer facilities for camping, caravaning,staying in motel rooms,cabins,units or villas.We also have two seperate self catering blocks that sleep up to 12 guests in individual rooms.Our large,dedicated and experienced team of staff is eager to assist in making your stay as enjoyable as possible ... more   less 
Number of rooms
131

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer