We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ibis Budget Canberra

Hotel website
15 Tay Street | Antill Street, Watson, Canberra 2602, Australia (Formerly Formule 1 )
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Ibis Budget Canberra
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

289 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    31
    102
    83
    34
    39
See reviews for
77
84
45
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (289)
  • Mar-May only
    (85)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (71)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (62)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (71)
All months
Melbourne
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The heater didn't work in the middle of winter. Only 2tv channels work. At 9pm at night they knocked on my door and asked me to move my car as it was in a managers space . It was freezing and pouring rain .

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
IbisBudgetCanberra, General Manager at Ibis Budget Canberra, responded to this review

Hi joserB834OV Thank you so much for your review. It is always good to receive feedback of any kind, because it enables us to improve our services and know what is going on in our rooms if we are not told physically over our reception desk. Just a couple of things i'd like to address directly from your review. There... More 

Travelers are raving about these Canberra hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Bed was comfortable and heating adequate for the room size. Affordable buffet style breakfast. Shower and toilet facilities could be upgraded. The bar fridge was not turned on when we arrived, so had to wait for it to reach an appropriate temperature.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
IbisBudgetCanberra, General Manager at Ibis Budget Canberra, responded to this review

Hi madeleinem1988 Thank you so much for your review. I am glad to read you found the bed comfortable and that your heating worked well. We often get many compliments about our beds, and it is so important that the majority of our guests sleep well during their stay. I apologise for the bar fridge not being turned on before... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here one night, looked fairly booked out and popular. Nice and quiet and reception staff were friendly. Must admit I was a bit worried as I have not stayed budget hotels in Australia (excluding hostels) and it seemed the prior reviews were fairly split - half said it was good and half said it wasn't clean etc. I found... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IbisBudgetCanberra, General Manager at Ibis Budget Canberra, responded to this review

Hi Katie O Thank you so much for your review! Im really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel adequate for your needs. Yes, we are a "no frills" hotel but we do provide a few extra special touches for our guests to enjoy. I really appreciate you giving our budget hotel a go, it... More 

Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The general condition of the hotel was ok for its market segment, however when comparing to other (Sydney Airpot,Melbourne CIty, Sao Paolo) Ibis Budget, former Formule 1 I must say that I was disappointed, - Extremely compact rooms, the smallest and less comfortable among the branch. - Toilet pod style was a big down side, my mother had some trouble... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IbisBudgetCanberra, General Manager at Ibis Budget Canberra, responded to this review

Hi ddflach Thank you for your review. We always welcome feedback of any type as it is always a good way to find out what changes need to be made or how we can improve our services. Unfortunately it is difficult to match hotels that are in the same brand - especially in different countries - against those stayed in... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

prompt service, nice and helpful staff, clean and tidy rooms. bathroom was ordinary but usable. bed was comfortable, amenities were clean , parking a breeze. Staff were lovely to chat to , great tidy and clean rooms. Would definitely stay again, thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IbisBudgetCanberra, General Manager at Ibis Budget Canberra, responded to this review

Hi Lee E Thank you so much for your review. Its always a delight to read reviews that mention the staff and level of service received during guest stays. We pride ourselves on great customer service and cleanliness, im so glad to read you experienced both whilst you were here. I do look forward to having you back with us... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

Cheapest hotel I've ever stayed in (think cheap with a capital "C"). Room was clean and warm. Shower cubicle thing reminiscent of a porta potty. No way to keep water from going everywhere, including all over toilet floor, so you just gotta hope you don't need toilet anytime soon after shower, unless you brought your gum boots. No cupboard space.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IbisBudgetCanberra, General Manager at Ibis Budget Canberra, responded to this review

Hi Joe V Thank you for your review. Its sad to read that the experience you had with us was not a positive one. Our hotel does not suit everyones needs, but we try our best to ensure the majority of our guests have a positive stay, im sorry this was not the case for you. We are a budget... More 

Blue Haven, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

Firstly I disagree with a previous review written by Jit C (below) as the best budget they have stayed in. This has been my worst. I would have to say the Ibis in Wickham (Newcastle) would have to be one of the best & I use it as a benchmark to compare all others. I stayed here with 2 kids... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IbisBudgetCanberra, General Manager at Ibis Budget Canberra, responded to this review

Hi RovingRiffy Thank you for your review. It is important to note that we are an "Ibis Budget" hotel, and not an "Ibis" as you have indicated your benchmark property in regards to setting a standard is Ibis Wickham. It would be difficult for our hotel to be compared to an "Ibis" because the design, layout, star rating and what... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

the staff were very friendly and helpful but the room itself was horrible. the room was tiny, the angle of the tiny TV made it very difficult to watch from anywhere, the shower was filthy, the toilet smelt like it hadn't been cleaned in weeks and to top things off my card (key) wouldn't let me in my room twice.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
IbisBudgetCanberra, General Manager at Ibis Budget Canberra, responded to this review

Hi Wayne S Thank you so much for your review. It really disappoints me to read about all the issues you had during your stay with us - especially in regards to your bathroom cleanliness and room key problems. Let me assure you, I will be taking the cleanliness concerns up with my housekeeping supervisor and housekeepers directly, it is... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
4.9 mi away
University House
University House
#16 of 54 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
8.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Canberra Narrabundah
0.3 mi away
Canberra Carotel Motel & Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Dickson
Quality Hotel Dickson
#13 of 54 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
3.0 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#4 of 54 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 stars 869 reviews
3.7 mi away
Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay