We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Slaley Hall

| Northumberland, Slaley, Hexham NE47 0BX, England (Formerly De Vere Slaley Hall)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Slaley Hall
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Slaley Hall
Write a Review

1,589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    509
    286
    156
    86
See reviews for
240
807
17
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1589)
  • Mar-May only
    (454)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (359)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (383)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (393)
All months
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My wife and I were married at Slaley Hall 1 year ago and we were invited to celebrate our anniversary at Slaley. We had phoned Slaley prior to our visit and arranged with Simone, an assistant manager, what we would have liked to do during our stay. Upon arrival, Simone was informed that we were there and he came to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Booked a romantic couple of days away for my wedding anniversary. The welcome was pleasant and we upgraded to a chambre unique room. However I had just spent a night at another q hotel in a standard room that was exactly the same.? The facilities were a little disappointing. The jacuzzi was so hot you could not go in despite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Had a two night stay recently with our friends, having stayed here previously ourselves. None of us were disappointed with our stay. Our rooms were clean and tidy, as was the rest of the hotel. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Both breakfast and evening meals were very good. We will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Really enjoyable two night break. Had a couples massage which helped us to get in to relaxation mode. Also enjoyed the pool facilities. Had dinner on first night in Hadrians which was the better meal as we ate in the claret jug on the second night and meal was disappointing and overpriced for what we ate

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
30 hotel reviews
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Visited here with my friend on a Tuesday afternoon following a deal I purchased from Living Social for Afternoon Tea for 2 for £17 (Bargain deal in itself!). I contacted the hotel to book and got a reservation no problem, guy was very friendly and happy to help. On arrival we got parked quite easily and the staff were welcoming... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Cracking weekend, great value. 3 rounds of golf: one on the championship course, 2 nights stay, with 3 course dinner and breakfast for less than £200 each. Breakfast was full and hearty, and the evening meals were excellent. Ox cheek that fell apart, mussels piled high, pork belly with crackling, bream, sea bass and salmon: all impressed. Scallop starter was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Grant M, General Manager at Slaley Hall, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to forward your comments. It is always beneficial to receive such positive feedback and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Slaley Hall. I have passed your comments onto the relevant departments to take the necessary action to address the issues. We look forward to seeing you again in... More 

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited Slaley Hall 2 weeks ago and we had a really nice time. We booked through Secret Escapes who did not send our reservation through so this was a bit embarrassing but the reception staff were great and sorted it out there and then for us. We went to the bar area for lunch and ordered a club sandwich... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Grant M, General Manager at Slaley Hall, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to forward your comments. I am so sorry you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay, I have passed your comments onto the relevant departments to take the necessary action to address the issues. Kind Regards Grant Mckenzie More 

Durham
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As soon as we checked into our room, I was disappointed to find an adjoining door (previous negative experience at other hotel). We were awoken in the early hours by an obnoxious man trying to get into 'his bathroom" via the said door. Other guests called security and he eventually quiet ended down but sadly we were then kept awake... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grant M, General Manager at Slaley Hall, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to forward your comments. I am glad you had a lovely weekend break with us. I am so sorry you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay, I have passed your comments onto the relevant departments to take the necessary action to address the issues. Kind Regards Grant Mckenzie More 

York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

8 of us (4 couples) went to stay here for 24 hours for a golf and spa break. Positives: The hotel rooms were clean. The breakfast was lovely. There was a separate menu alongside the buffet for ordering special dishes such as omelette or kippers (which I had) etc. The swimming pool area was lovely and has a little slide... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grant M, General Manager at Slaley Hall, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to forward your comments. I am so sorry you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay, I have passed your comments onto the relevant departments to take the necessary action to address the issues. I do hope this doesn’t deter you from staying with us in the future. Kind Regards Grant... More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our 1st visit here and we were very impressed. The Hotel and the grounds are amazing. The staff are very welcoming and so helpful. We had afternoon tea in the Dukes Restaurant the décor was beautiful as with the rest of the Hotel. Our waiter was Damaciano and he was excellent at his job he looked after us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

395 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (360)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (104)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (78)
Viewed
View from room (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (109)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question