We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Slaley hotels

De Vere Slaley Hall

4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Slaley NE47 0BX, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added De Vere Slaley Hall to your Saves list
De Vere Slaley Hall
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
65%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Slaley
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Prologus Kirknewton, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (1,304)
  • Photos (316)
  • Location
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (276)
  • More
true
Write a Review

1,304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    429
    418
    243
    137
    77
See reviews for
192
666
14
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kirknewton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Is there a more visually stunning course in the UK than the Hunting at Slaley Hall? It is a feast for the eyes, and a glorious challenge. It's little brother, the Priestman, is pretty testing too, but the Huntings visuals set it apart. And both courses are in superb condition, as are the gardens and walks through the estate. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grant M, General Manager at De Vere Slaley Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your visit, in particular the golf courses and the grounds. We will be looking forward to welcoming you back in May. Best Regards, Grant McKenzie More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It just all looks a bit tired a and jaded and like no one cares. Chipped paint on doors, loo roll holders that fall apart, broken 'noodles' in the swimming pool. Whilst not individually deal breakers the lack of attention to detail is a concern for them. We went on a spa break which included spa treatments, dinner, bed and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grant M, General Manager at De Vere Slaley Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed to read you were not entirely happy with your visit and I apologise for our failings on this occasion. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at grant.mckenzie@devere-hotels.com should you wish to discuss your visit further. Best Regards, Grant McKenzie More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

What an enjoyable stay we had at slaley hall, everyone was really friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The room was really comfortable, the food was delicious and the spa was amazing! Would love to stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grant M, General Manager at De Vere Slaley Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely comment. I hope you can come back to stay at Slaley Hall again soon. Best Regards Grant McKenzie More

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Had a wonderful spa day with a 55min massage followed by afternoon tea. The staff were very attentive particularly our waiter Damaciano, who went out of his way to make sure we had a pleasant afternoon. The only bugbear was the cost of the food at the spa bar...£25 for 4 snacks was a bit too expensive, but it didn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grant M, General Manager at De Vere Slaley Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you had an enjoyable day and I hope to welcome you back to Slaley Hall soon. Best Regards, Grant McKenzie More

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have been going to Slaley Hall for several years as part of our Summer holidays. Grounds are lovely, staff in the main are hard working and friendly. The Claret jug restaurant is however a real issue for us. We popped in on the spur of the moment as you do when on holiday - the place was empty. When... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Grant M, General Manager at De Vere Slaley Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I will be investigating this matter within the Claret Jug, but if you would like to discuss your experience further please do not hesitate to contact the restaurant manager at olivia.hope@devere-hotels.com. Thank you again for bringing this to my attention, and I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Best Regards,... More

Sowerby Bridge
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We are just about to complete a five day stay at Slaley Hall which is a De Vere hotel.My 84 year old mother was ill after the first night and all the following day and the hotel were extremely supportive and helpful. The rooms are simply furnished but the beds are comfortable and clean and the bathrooms are spacious with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grant M, General Manager at De Vere Slaley Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I am sorry to hear about your mother, I do hope that she is feeling better now. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I do hope that we can welcome you back again soon. Best Regards, Grant McKenzie More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My friend and I have just returned from a lovely afternoon spa treat that we purchased online, which entitled us to a 25 minute treatment in the spa, use of the facilities and a mezze platter with a glass of Prosecco. The waiter (Damaciano De Souza) in the afternoon tea area where we were served couldn't have been any more... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grant M, General Manager at De Vere Slaley Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is wonderful to hear that you had such a nice day, I do hope we get to welcome you back soon for an overnight stay. Best Regards, Grant McKenzie More

Haltwhistle, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Today was my first experience at Slaley Hall, and it was amazing! We arrived there and had our spa treatment for the three of us there the hot stone massages went down a treat! This was followed by an amazing chilled out day with full use of the facilities. The day was topped off with the most amazing afternoon tea,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Grant M, General Manager at De Vere Slaley Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad that you enjoyed your day and we hope to see you again soon. Best Regards, Grant McKenzie More

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for one night in a Chambre Unique to celebrate my husbands birthday. First impressions were good, the public rooms are beautifully decorated and the room seemed nice. Our evening was however ruined by issues in the restaurant. We had chosen to eat in the Claret Jug based on the menu and the description of "sophisticated bistro". As it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Grant M, General Manager at De Vere Slaley Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay although I apologise that you feel let down by your evening dining experience. Please feel free to contact the Claret Jug Manager via email olivia.hope@devere-hotels.com should you wish to discuss further. I am disappointed to read that you would not return to Slaley Hall and... More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have been to slaley hall about four or five times, but this time I found the deal on the app living social.. 109 pound for two people you get a 55 minute treatment and access to spa facilities followed by afternoon tea, well worth the money the afternoon tea was a lot bigger than I expected plenty for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grant M, General Manager at De Vere Slaley Hall, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review! we are pleased you had such a great time and enjoyed your treatments and afternoon tea. We hope to see you again soon! Grant Mckenzie More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage De Vere Slaley Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to De Vere Slaley Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Slaley Hall

Address: Slaley NE47 0BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Slaley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Slaley Hall 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Tingo so you can book your De Vere Slaley Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Slaley Hall Hotel Hexham
De Vere Slaley Hall Hexham
Slaley Hall
Hall Hotel Slaley
Hall Slaley

316 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (282)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (86)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (56)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Not 100, not 500 but 1000 acres of Northumberland moorland and forest play home to this magnificent, elegant Edwardian mansion. That the interiors are almost as dramatic as the exterior says it all. This is very old world grandeur with a modern twist. Bask in the warmth of the reception you receive on arrival, dine at Hadrian's Brasserie, or at the Duke's Grill. Indulge with a Vichy water spa treatment or just flop in the fantastic indoor pool. The great outdoors doesn’t get much greater. After a bracing country walk in the wilds, or round on our championship golf course, retire to the Claret Jug and the 19th Bar for a stiff brandy. Surely you deserve it ? ... more   less 
Number of rooms
142

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of De Vere Slaley Hall and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
17 days ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from De Vere Slaley Hall staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer