We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Slaley hotels

De Vere Slaley Hall

4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Slaley NE47 0BX, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added De Vere Slaley Hall to your Saves list
De Vere Slaley Hall
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
65%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Slaley
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
chrisp1000 High Spen, UK
  • Overview
  • Reviews (1,312)
  • Photos (316)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (276)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

1,312 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    431
    421
    246
    137
    77
See reviews for
192
671
15
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
High Spen, UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Went on a spa break and found a bit of a mixed bag. Hotel is lovely, grounds are lovely. Hotel staff exceptional, very friendly and professional. We were definitely made to feel welcome from all the hotel staff. The food was good, we were on a deal that allowed us to eat from a set menu. There was more than... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here with my hubby for a spa day and we got dinner with the package. The spa treatment was lovely (I'll review that separately) and our room was nice. It was very basic but comfortable. We didn't have a great view and it did need updating as the window was a little loose but - hey, I wasn't there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

After having a bad experience at another De Vere hotel this year I was slightly worried about booking the say at this property through Secret Escapes- but it was in an area I was about to visit and seemed a good deal. Firstly -as others may have said - car park uphill walk to hotel - but there is valet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here in august for just 1night as a special deal. Place is so big and I understand lots to do. Room was nice. Staff was friendly and helpful. You need to drop luggage off first as its a bit of a walk to car park if you cannot walk far. I didn't think that was a problem for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Hotel great, but spa needs updating. Changing rooms are well past their best with dated shower curtains, rusting poles and blocked sinks. Limited seating and beds around pool and the loungers again looked a little grubby. Service at spa coffee bar also hit n miss. Sadly came away feeling disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I booked this hotel for two nights dinner bed and breakfast through secret escapes. We were impressed with the hotel appearance and the staff were very helpful. Our room was a standard room which it was, but with ample space, clean both in bedroom and bathroom. What I found less than impressive was the staff in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

My husband and I stayed in room 212 chambre unique facing the golf course. Check in was quick and efficient. The receptionist Rachel was very friendly and welcoming. The room was lovely, clean and very spacious. Definitely worth booking one of these rooms. The bar area is lovely with plenty of choice of seating and the bar staff were very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kirknewton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Is there a more visually stunning course in the UK than the Hunting at Slaley Hall? It is a feast for the eyes, and a glorious challenge. It's little brother, the Priestman, is pretty testing too, but the Huntings visuals set it apart. And both courses are in superb condition, as are the gardens and walks through the estate. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grant M, General Manager at De Vere Slaley Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your visit, in particular the golf courses and the grounds. We will be looking forward to welcoming you back in May. Best Regards, Grant McKenzie More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It just all looks a bit tired a and jaded and like no one cares. Chipped paint on doors, loo roll holders that fall apart, broken 'noodles' in the swimming pool. Whilst not individually deal breakers the lack of attention to detail is a concern for them. We went on a spa break which included spa treatments, dinner, bed and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grant M, General Manager at De Vere Slaley Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed to read you were not entirely happy with your visit and I apologise for our failings on this occasion. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at grant.mckenzie@devere-hotels.com should you wish to discuss your visit further. Best Regards, Grant McKenzie More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What an enjoyable stay we had at slaley hall, everyone was really friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The room was really comfortable, the food was delicious and the spa was amazing! Would love to stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grant M, General Manager at De Vere Slaley Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely comment. I hope you can come back to stay at Slaley Hall again soon. Best Regards Grant McKenzie More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage De Vere Slaley Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to De Vere Slaley Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Slaley Hall

Address: Slaley NE47 0BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Slaley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Slaley Hall 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your De Vere Slaley Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Slaley Hall Hotel Hexham
De Vere Slaley Hall Hexham
Slaley Hall
Hall Hotel Slaley
Hall Slaley

316 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (282)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (86)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (56)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Not 100, not 500 but 1000 acres of Northumberland moorland and forest play home to this magnificent, elegant Edwardian mansion. That the interiors are almost as dramatic as the exterior says it all. This is very old world grandeur with a modern twist. Bask in the warmth of the reception you receive on arrival, dine at Hadrian's Brasserie, or at the Duke's Grill. Indulge with a Vichy water spa treatment or just flop in the fantastic indoor pool. The great outdoors doesn’t get much greater. After a bracing country walk in the wilds, or round on our championship golf course, retire to the Claret Jug and the 19th Bar for a stiff brandy. Surely you deserve it ? ... more   less 
Number of rooms
142

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of De Vere Slaley Hall and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
22 days ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from De Vere Slaley Hall staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer