We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Church Spa

High Street | East Markham, Newark-on-Trent, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newark-on-Trent
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Church Spa
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    32
    2
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
14
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (38)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Beautiful building. Spoilt by lack of attention to detail. Pool side dirty. Shower mouldy. Pool ladder coming away. No cushions put out on the loungers. We felt uncomfortable as if we were there at the owners sufferance. On arrival we were given hot cloths perfumed with lavender . Lovely except the cloth was stained. Went down hill from there. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were part of a hen party. I totally agree with aloevera285 "Ambivalent" spot on, i said the same. Im really sorry but either Rachel the owner has a split personality or some advisors have had 'a different experience'!! She made all 15 of us feel very uncomfortable, she said we could take food use ovens and fridge then complained... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A beautiful building with amazing facilities that are of the highest quality and cleanliness. Church spa has all the makings of a relaxing retreat, however the atmosphere was unfortunately not conducive to relaxation. I felt "on edge" for a significant proportion of my stay, due to the strong sense of being an intruder in someone else's house. I had been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My fiancé and I visited Church Spa last night and we could not have had a warmer welcome from the owner Rachel. The building is beautiful and immaculate throughout, you can really see how much effort the owners have put in to it. Having exclusive use of the whole venue was amazing, the experience was complete luxury from start to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mexborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

Spent a relaxing Sunday morning at Chuch Spa. So relaxing. Superb facilities. Total exclusivity. Well looked after by Rachel who served us with complimentary drinks on arrival, bath robes and sheets and lunch. Can't wait to be back, possibly for an overnight stay as the rooms are beautiful. Without doubt, Church Spa will be a regular retreat for us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

We wanted to spend a few days in the UK before travelling where we could relax and read all the cards from guests and just relive our day. We had seen Church Spa on four in a bed but the show does not do this place justice! This place is the perfect balance of traditional and modern, and you are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

My husband and i visited church spa yesterday evening for the three hour spa. This place is stunning , beautiful and so relaxing. Its amazing that you have all of the pool, jacuzzi and steam room all to yourself. The church itself is so luxurious and you feel in your own world. If you have children and cannot always go... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

If you want something special and unique then this is the treat for you. A beautifully converted church - exclusively yours. The ultimate for a truly relaxing treat. Thank you Rachel. Will highly recommend and definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I don't usually write these reviews but often read them before booking. Having read the review by trippygirl who gave her 1 star rating, I wasn't sure about booking and only took the plunge after a recommendation from a colleague. This place is WONDERFUL! I felt nothing but welcome and the finish of this venue is top notch with Harrods... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
ChurchSpa, Director at Church Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your Church Spa experience. Your lovely comments are greatly appreciated, Thank you. We always strive for excellence. We look forward to welcoming you and your family to Church Spa over the festive Christmas period. Yours Truly Rachel @ Church Spa Director More 

shepshed, leicestershire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

There are few words for such an amazing place and host. Rachel truly was the hostess with the mostess, nothing was too much trouble for her throughout our stay. We arrived as a surprise for my best friends birthday and the church has been transformed into something truly magical. We spent the rainy morning relaxing in the pool, steam room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ChurchSpa, Owner at Church Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your Church Spa experience. It a pleasure to receive lovely comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your wonderful day. We look forward to welcoming you back to Church Spa. Yours Truly Rachel @ Church Spa Director More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newark-on-Trent
13.8 mi away
Clumber Park Hotel and Spa
Clumber Park Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Clumber Park
3.5 of 5 stars 864 reviews
22.9 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newark
Premier Inn Newark
#4 of 7 in Newark-on-Trent
4.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Hilton Nottingham
Hilton Nottingham
#40 of 56 in Nottingham
3.0 of 5 stars 1,374 reviews
24.4 mi away
Eastwood Hall
Eastwood Hall
#1 of 1 in Eastwood
3.5 of 5 stars 705 reviews
6.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bentley Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities