We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wilmot House

Church Walk | Dunham on Trent, Newark-on-Trent NG22 0TX, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wilmot House
Why TripAdvisor?
  • Lowest prices from 200+ sites
  • 1.5 million hotels and accommodations
  • 225 million reviews and opinions
Save
You added Wilmot House to your Saves list

At a glance

87%
Positive reviews?

HOTEL PHOTOS

Wilmot House
Professional photos

BROWSE NEARBY

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Check In Check Out
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}
    Add Photo Write a Review

    31 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

    Rate and write a review
    Roll over, then click to rate
      Click to rate
    Traveler rating
      21
      6
      1
      1
      2
    See reviews for
    5
    14
    1
    4
    Rating summary
    • Location
      4.5 of 5 stars
    • Sleep Quality
      4.5 of 5 stars
    • Rooms
      4.5 of 5 stars
    • Service
      4.5 of 5 stars
    • Value
      4.5 of 5 stars
    • Cleanliness
      4.5 of 5 stars
    Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
    Date | Rating
    • English first
    • Any
    English first
    • All months
      (31)
    • Mar-May only
      (8)
    • Jun-Aug only
      (16)
    • Sep-Nov only
      (5)
    • Dec-Feb only
      (2)
    All months
    Level Contributor
    16 reviews
    11 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

    We stayed at Wilmot House on our way up north. The room was lovely and clean. The breakfast was superb and Susan and her husband were very welcoming. Her husband even helped me park my very large trailer in their car park. I will certainly use Wilmot House again when in that area. I cannot understand the recent negative comments,... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    rochdale,lancs
    Level Contributor
    25 reviews
    7 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
    3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

    Susan a wonderful attentive helpful host.cooked breakfast was good. Was a little odd to have to pick up key from pub. Found the place to be rather dirty in places long term grime in bathroom and dust throughout

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Level Contributor
    10 reviews
    3 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    Stayed here one night at on our way over to Norfolk. We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. We were offered as pot of tea as we were a little early and told about the pub down the road were we could get food. Our two dogs were made very welcome . the room was... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    Hobart, Australia
    Level Contributor
    17 reviews
    4 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    We had a very good stay at this B & B on the Nottingham/Lincolnshire border. The location was handy for Lincoln and Nottingham's attraction including Sherwood Forest. The hosts could not have been more helpful. The Breakfast was well cooked with endless plunger coffee available. The bed was comfortable, and the facilities good for a House of this vintage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes 1
    Level Contributor
    22 reviews
    6 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
    1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

    Booked a room at Wilmot house but due to unforeseen circumstances I couldn't make it. Had a very rude and offensive phone call from the hoteliers. I would've been happy to pay for my room but after being told "to go f*** myself" well they certainly can.

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    susandossor, Owner at Wilmot House, responded to this review

    I apologise for my uncharacteristic outburst. However, we had been advised that arrival would be around 9- 10 pm and we waited up until midnight. No call was received the following day with any explanation or apology and I was unable to take payment under my cancellation policy as the card was not validated at the time of reservation. More 

    Sunderland, United Kingdom
    Level Contributor
    3 reviews
    3 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
    1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2015

    On the surface this establishment looked clean and welcoming. After having the misfortune to spend one night in this BB we realised how very unclean it actually was. There was dust that you could happily write your name in on a multitude of surfaces and cobwebs that reached from ceiling to floor. The shower was extremely unsanitary and toilet basin... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    susandossor, Owner at Wilmot House, responded to this review

    I was very upset to read your review after your recent stay at our Bed & Breakfast. As explained on your arrival we were undertaking major alterations for the comfort of future guests. Despite our very best attempts, it as difficult to control the amount of dust and dirt generated by this work. On reflection it would maybe have been... More 

    Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
    Level Contributor
    22 reviews
    5 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

    Room clean, a warm welcome awaited us but felt that they rushed our breakfast as they wanted to go shopping. A good overnight stay if going further south. Room on front of house so was disturbed by traffic noise,

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    Keighley, United Kingdom
    Level Contributor
    7 reviews
    6 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

    This place is an absolute gem Set in the middle of a quiet village The rooms are lovely and the beds are very comfortable Breakfast there was lots of choice and the hosts were very friendly. The place was spotless and unbelievably quiet being so close to a through road Brilliant place to stay would go back again without hesitation

    Was this review helpful? Yes 1
    Level Contributor
    17 reviews
    13 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

    I stayed her for 2 nights while exhibiting at the Waddington Air Show 2014. The owner Sue was really friendly, the B&B is well maintained, clean and is a great place to stay. Would stay here again and would definitely recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes 1
    Level Contributor
    5 reviews
    3 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

    We arrived at wilmot house as a 1/2 way stop on our way home,having been to Ipswich to visit relatives & been very disappointed with our room at the best western hoptel,the claydon hotel,Ipswich. what a delighjt to be greeted by our convivial hosts & not forgetting Molly,their dog who said Hi to us & approved us too! cannot fault... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

    4 photos of this hotel

    Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

    Viewed
    All traveler photos (1)
    Viewed
    Other (1)

    Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

    Viewed
    All management photos (3)
    Viewed
    Room/suite (2)
    Viewed
    Other (1)
    Check In Check Out
    Show Prices
    Hotels you might also like...
    Also consider these accommodations in or near Newark-on-Trent
    11.7 mi away
    Premier Inn Newark
    Premier Inn Newark
    #4 of 7 in Newark-on-Trent
    4.0 of 5 stars 310 reviews
    13.0 mi away
    Millgate House Hotel
    Millgate House Hotel
    #5 of 7 in Newark-on-Trent
    4.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
    13.2 mi away
    The Grange Hotel
    The Grange Hotel
    #1 of 7 in Newark-on-Trent
    4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    13.1 mi away
    BEST WESTERN Deincourt Hotel
    BEST WESTERN Deincourt Hotel
    #7 of 7 in Newark-on-Trent
    3.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
    7.9 mi away
    The Staunton Arms
    The Staunton Arms
    #9 of 37 in Newark-on-Trent
    5.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
    13.5 mi away
    Willow Tree Cottages
    Willow Tree Cottages
    #19 of 37 in Newark-on-Trent
    4.5 of 5 stars 20 reviews
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

    Amenities

    Enter dates for best prices
    Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
    Price Your Stay