We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old School - Tebay

Tebay, Tebay CA103TP, England
Hotel amenities
The Old School - Tebay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tebay
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Judeshots United Kingdom
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    7
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
5
11
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (35)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I needed to find somewhere not too far from home, easy to drive to and that would accommodate the dog too. This I found at The Old School for a reasonable price. The place itself feels a little like a former youth hostel, although a little more luxurious than that. The room was nice – well furnished and warm. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

A great friendly B&B, easy access off M6, nice and quiet location. A few different routes to get to the lakes, Kendel quite close. Nice pub up the road for food. Local walks available as well. Thank you Jo and Steve

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wirral
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

Coming down off the fells on a cool and windy day,I so look forward to a good hot cup of tea.Recent years have seen a welcome resurgence of the good traditional English tea-room.Most of these in places catering for walkers are good,serving good quality tea.But the tea in The Old School is in a class of its own,made just like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Stopped here briefly in the middle of a short Lake District break. The hosts couldn't have been nicer, more understanding and helpful- with great tips regarding the surroundings and in any other way they could help. The rooms are enormous and very nicely furnished in a classic style while sleeping here turned out to be very quiet- unlike other inns/hotels... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tel aviv
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

we had such a lovely stay! we were lucky to have a very big room. it was vey spacious and cosy and comfortable.skylight windows from which you can look at the sky. very clean. very comfortable big bed. nice bathroom. nice dining room with a very familiar air to it. dinner was great and breakfast too. probably the best home-baked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We had just come back from Ireland where the hospitality was .great The Old school in contrast felt a bit like the marie celeste.I was lookiing for a budget b&b.The Old School offered no tv, no wi-fi, no biscuits in the room , the meet and greet was almost non existent- fair enough if this was budget,but what was on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Leucadia, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Arrived Orton soaking wet. Our host, steve, picked us up at the Chocolate Factory at the appointed time and brought us to Tebay to his B&B. He was very helpful letting us dry our clothes in front of the fire, making us tea and a great dinner. In the morning he drove us back to the trail.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
steve d, Owner at The Old School - Tebay, responded to this review

Hi, glad to have been of service. We aim to please even if it is just wringing you out and hanging you up to dry! Hope you enjoyed the rest of the walk. Steve and Jo More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We were booked here by Macs on our C2C walk and were very disappointed to be so far from the lovely village of Orton where we had finished hiking for the day and instead to be located in Tebay several miles away and right on the M6. This may have influenced our feelings about this B and B. The room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
steve d, Owner at The Old School - Tebay, responded to this review

HI, we're sorry you didn't have an ideal stay. In answer to your point about staying in Orton, you are right in that it is a beautiful little village however it has very limited accommodation. With the CtoC being so popular it is very difficult to accommodate everyone which is one of the reasons Macs use The Old school located... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Having just spent all day walking in over the moors in pouring rain on a coast 2coast walk we ( my wife and dog ) all soaking wet to the skin, literally arrived at near by Orton to be refused refugee in the pub. A call to Jo was meet with an ideal response, she was there to rescue us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
steve d, Owner at The Old School - Tebay, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for the review. It was rather a wet day. Hope the rest of the walk was less damp. Steve and Jo. More 

Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very average accommodation. Very over priced compared to the orher six weeks of accommodation we had during our six weeks in England. We had to ask twice for a new roll of toilet paper. Lounge room was messy and did not appear to be cleaned or tidied during our two nights stay. We had intended staying three nights but left... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
steve d, Owner at The Old School - Tebay, responded to this review

Hi Jennifer. Firstly may I say how sorry we are that you were so disappointed. We always try to please our guests and are unhappy when we fail to do that. I will try to run through your complaints one by one but I am unable to place your booking as i cannot remember anyone who left earlier than their... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay