We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Tebay hotels

The Old School - Tebay

Tebay, Tebay CA103TP, England
Hotel amenities
The Old School - Tebay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Old School - Tebay to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tebay
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
James G Wirral
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    6
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
5
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (33)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Wirral
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Coming down off the fells on a cool and windy day,I so look forward to a good hot cup of tea.Recent years have seen a welcome resurgence of the good traditional English tea-room.Most of these in places catering for walkers are good,serving good quality tea.But the tea in The Old School is in a class of its own,made just like... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Stopped here briefly in the middle of a short Lake District break. The hosts couldn't have been nicer, more understanding and helpful- with great tips regarding the surroundings and in any other way they could help. The rooms are enormous and very nicely furnished in a classic style while sleeping here turned out to be very quiet- unlike other inns/hotels... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tel aviv
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

we had such a lovely stay! we were lucky to have a very big room. it was vey spacious and cosy and comfortable.skylight windows from which you can look at the sky. very clean. very comfortable big bed. nice bathroom. nice dining room with a very familiar air to it. dinner was great and breakfast too. probably the best home-baked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We had just come back from Ireland where the hospitality was .great The Old school in contrast felt a bit like the marie celeste.I was lookiing for a budget b&b.The Old School offered no tv, no wi-fi, no biscuits in the room , the meet and greet was almost non existent- fair enough if this was budget,but what was on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Leucadia, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Arrived Orton soaking wet. Our host, steve, picked us up at the Chocolate Factory at the appointed time and brought us to Tebay to his B&B. He was very helpful letting us dry our clothes in front of the fire, making us tea and a great dinner. In the morning he drove us back to the trail.

Was this review helpful? Yes
steve d, Owner at The Old School - Tebay, responded to this review

Hi, glad to have been of service. We aim to please even if it is just wringing you out and hanging you up to dry! Hope you enjoyed the rest of the walk. Steve and Jo More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We were booked here by Macs on our C2C walk and were very disappointed to be so far from the lovely village of Orton where we had finished hiking for the day and instead to be located in Tebay several miles away and right on the M6. This may have influenced our feelings about this B and B. The room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
steve d, Owner at The Old School - Tebay, responded to this review

HI, we're sorry you didn't have an ideal stay. In answer to your point about staying in Orton, you are right in that it is a beautiful little village however it has very limited accommodation. With the CtoC being so popular it is very difficult to accommodate everyone which is one of the reasons Macs use The Old school located... More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Having just spent all day walking in over the moors in pouring rain on a coast 2coast walk we ( my wife and dog ) all soaking wet to the skin, literally arrived at near by Orton to be refused refugee in the pub. A call to Jo was meet with an ideal response, she was there to rescue us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
steve d, Owner at The Old School - Tebay, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for the review. It was rather a wet day. Hope the rest of the walk was less damp. Steve and Jo. More

Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very average accommodation. Very over priced compared to the orher six weeks of accommodation we had during our six weeks in England. We had to ask twice for a new roll of toilet paper. Lounge room was messy and did not appear to be cleaned or tidied during our two nights stay. We had intended staying three nights but left... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
steve d, Owner at The Old School - Tebay, responded to this review

Hi Jennifer. Firstly may I say how sorry we are that you were so disappointed. We always try to please our guests and are unhappy when we fail to do that. I will try to run through your complaints one by one but I am unable to place your booking as i cannot remember anyone who left earlier than their... More

cumbria
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

called in for a cuppa after walking up the lovely valley of borrowdale. (the one at tebay) My huband is a coilic and was pleasantly surprised they had a good choice of cakes as their daughter is coilic also. teapot and cups all mismatched china but nothing is better than a cup of tea out of china and with the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
steve d, Owner at The Old School - Tebay, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed the walking and very pleased that you enjoyed your refreshments afterwards. We do like to think of ourselves as welcoming to all customers including those who have specific food requirements and indeed tend to feel our speciality is gluten free foods. More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Just off the main road half way between Kendal and Penrith a great little B&B. Steve and his wife are gracious hosts most knowledgeable and friendly. The breakfast was awesome. With fresh duck eggs provided. The common lounge room was a great place to relax after a great day touring the lakes district. Sure there are stairs but then on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Old School - Tebay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old School - Tebay

Address: Tebay, Tebay CA103TP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Tebay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Old School - Tebay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

1 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay