We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Tebay hotels

The Old School - Tebay

Save Saved
You added The Old School - Tebay to your Saves list
Tebay, Tebay CA103TP, England
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (32)
  • Photos (1)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (6)
  • Location
  • More
The Old School - Tebay
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Tebay
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tebay
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    6
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
5
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stopped here briefly in the middle of a short Lake District break. The hosts couldn't have been nicer, more understanding and helpful- with great tips regarding the surroundings and in any other way they could help. The rooms are enormous and very nicely furnished in a classic style while sleeping here turned out to be very quiet- unlike other inns/hotels... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tel aviv
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we had such a lovely stay! we were lucky to have a very big room. it was vey spacious and cosy and comfortable.skylight windows from which you can look at the sky. very clean. very comfortable big bed. nice bathroom. nice dining room with a very familiar air to it. dinner was great and breakfast too. probably the best home-baked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had just come back from Ireland where the hospitality was .great The Old school in contrast felt a bit like the marie celeste.I was lookiing for a budget b&b.The Old School offered no tv, no wi-fi, no biscuits in the room , the meet and greet was almost non existent- fair enough if this was budget,but what was on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leucadia, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Arrived Orton soaking wet. Our host, steve, picked us up at the Chocolate Factory at the appointed time and brought us to Tebay to his B&B. He was very helpful letting us dry our clothes in front of the fire, making us tea and a great dinner. In the morning he drove us back to the trail.

Was this review helpful? Yes
steve d, Owner at The Old School - Tebay, responded to this review

Hi, glad to have been of service. We aim to please even if it is just wringing you out and hanging you up to dry! Hope you enjoyed the rest of the walk. Steve and Jo More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We were booked here by Macs on our C2C walk and were very disappointed to be so far from the lovely village of Orton where we had finished hiking for the day and instead to be located in Tebay several miles away and right on the M6. This may have influenced our feelings about this B and B. The room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
steve d, Owner at The Old School - Tebay, responded to this review

HI, we're sorry you didn't have an ideal stay. In answer to your point about staying in Orton, you are right in that it is a beautiful little village however it has very limited accommodation. With the CtoC being so popular it is very difficult to accommodate everyone which is one of the reasons Macs use The Old school located... More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Having just spent all day walking in over the moors in pouring rain on a coast 2coast walk we ( my wife and dog ) all soaking wet to the skin, literally arrived at near by Orton to be refused refugee in the pub. A call to Jo was meet with an ideal response, she was there to rescue us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
steve d, Owner at The Old School - Tebay, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for the review. It was rather a wet day. Hope the rest of the walk was less damp. Steve and Jo. More

Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very average accommodation. Very over priced compared to the orher six weeks of accommodation we had during our six weeks in England. We had to ask twice for a new roll of toilet paper. Lounge room was messy and did not appear to be cleaned or tidied during our two nights stay. We had intended staying three nights but left... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
steve d, Owner at The Old School - Tebay, responded to this review

Hi Jennifer. Firstly may I say how sorry we are that you were so disappointed. We always try to please our guests and are unhappy when we fail to do that. I will try to run through your complaints one by one but I am unable to place your booking as i cannot remember anyone who left earlier than their... More

cumbria
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

called in for a cuppa after walking up the lovely valley of borrowdale. (the one at tebay) My huband is a coilic and was pleasantly surprised they had a good choice of cakes as their daughter is coilic also. teapot and cups all mismatched china but nothing is better than a cup of tea out of china and with the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
steve d, Owner at The Old School - Tebay, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed the walking and very pleased that you enjoyed your refreshments afterwards. We do like to think of ourselves as welcoming to all customers including those who have specific food requirements and indeed tend to feel our speciality is gluten free foods. More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Just off the main road half way between Kendal and Penrith a great little B&B. Steve and his wife are gracious hosts most knowledgeable and friendly. The breakfast was awesome. With fresh duck eggs provided. The common lounge room was a great place to relax after a great day touring the lakes district. Sure there are stairs but then on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Our one-night stay here was fantastic! The owners are so hospital and accommodating to ensure that you have everything you need for your stay! We found the bedrooms clean, nicely prepared, and exactly as described. The bathroom was in excellent working order and provided powerful, hot water. The breakfast the next day was brilliant and kept us full for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Old School - Tebay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Old School - Tebay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old School - Tebay

Address: Tebay, Tebay CA103TP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Tebay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

1 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Old School, Tebay, is a friendly Tea Room and guest house in the beautiful Eden Valley. Situated between the Lakes and Yorkshire Dales we are ideally located to offer good access to many fantastic locations. With the M6 only minutes away this is a perfect stop off point for the weary traveller. For those wanting a longer stay there are many places to explore from the central location. Accommodation The Old School offers an excellent standard of bed & breakfast accommodation ranging from single through to large family rooms. For the larger group up to 30 people, there is the option of B&B, fully catered or self catering. All our rooms offer tea and coffee facilities and en-suite bathrooms.The tea room is open every day except Tuesday from 10:30 am through to 5 pm. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
8

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Old School - Tebay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer