We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 25 Palenque accommodations

Yaxkin Hostel

Prolongacion Av. Hidalgo esquina 5ta poniente norte Num 1 | Zona ecoturistica la Canada, Palenque 29960, Mexico
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Yaxkin Hostel to your Saves list
Yaxkin Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
53%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
azz21 Brisbane
  • Reviews (104)
  • Photos (58)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (5)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    27
    26
    13
    10
See reviews for
4
33
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I arrived at this hostel having walked from the bus station in over 30C with a very big back pack, and I was very hot and red. The receptionist was exceptionally rude to be when I arrived name cause I was hot and red and was joking around with another member of staff about it. Felt very uncomfortable, and it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As others have mentioned this hostel seems a bit more like a hotel. Service wasn't particularly great when I arrived dripping wet from the rain and stood at reception where the two staff just stared at me for a minute or two without asking me anything, probably because of the language barrier. Rooms and bathrooms were clean, though I the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Genoa, Italy
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

The hostel seems very interesting. I stayed 1 night, the room was small with a small window. The price was 350pesos. AC is necessary because Palenque is very hot. There is a cafe attached to the hostel which serves good food and a restaurant bar upstairs Only for 1 night. www.donatoaquaro.net

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This hostel seems more like a hotel ? It's nice reception and kitchen give it a homely feel. The staff don't speak English,so communicating can be awkward. No free breakfast,instead an expensive cafe is adjacent to the hostel ! Tours can be booked at over inflated prices,so go into town and book. Dorms are spacious and showers are warm.

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Missed the combis back to the reserve to camp and decided to stay in town. Should have just paid the taxi to go back. El Yaxkin looks like it could be a great spot, but I value my health and safety over amenities and bedbugs are an absolute terror and easily transportable. I laid down to rest and felt itchy.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
yaxkin1, Propietario at Yaxkin Hostel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear about the experience you had at our hostel. We know how serious this matter is and request an opportunity to explain. When initially notified of the potential issue in one of our rooms, we immediately blocked, treated, and renovated the room in question, and the 3 adjoining rooms; installing new wooden ceilings, disposing of and... More

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We were travelling with a group on a tour and my partner and I booked a private room. This was clean, had a massive bed and the air-con and bathroom were great. There is a cafe attached to the hostel which serves good food and a restaurant bar upstairs. Some if our guys were in a shared room above us.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kleve, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

For our base we went to Yaxkin Hostel in Palenque. It is a nice hostel with dorm options. There is a nice cafee in front. The kitchen is amazing and there is a bbq avaidble. What was really nice. The only thing is their staf is a helpfull guy. But it take a long time to check in or being... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Recently stayed at Yaxkin Hostel in Palenque, and enjoyed it immensely. The staff were young and eager, which made up for some of their inexperience - nothing big, just little things here and there. Stayed in the 8-bed dorm, 130pesos a night, there are private rooms available as well. It was clean, quiet, had lockers, the main reception area and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in a private room. Thought it was a good little budget place to get to the ruins from. There was a kitchen, nice garden and a parrot. Unfortunately we woke up early to catch a bus on the 2nd morning and found our bed and mosquito net crawling with bed bugs. We had thought we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
yaxkin1, Propietario at Yaxkin Hostel, responded to this review

Our commitment to our clients is to ensure that they enjoy each stay, and to address and resolve any potential issue when given the opportunity. First and foremost, we would like to extend our sincerest apology that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay, and due to the early departure time, our lack of opportunity to properly address your... More

Gerlingen, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I stayed at Yaxkin for two nights in December 2013 iun a private room. yaxkin Hostel is located in a quiet Hostel/Hotel-Zone, a few minutes from the city centre (which is not worth visiting). The Hostel apparently lost my reservation from Hostelworld.com, which was quite an unpleasent experience. After talking to the recepionists, they offered me to stay alone in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Yaxkin Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Yaxkin Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yaxkin Hostel

Address: Prolongacion Av. Hidalgo esquina 5ta poniente norte Num 1 | Zona ecoturistica la Canada, Palenque 29960, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Palenque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Yaxkin Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yaxkin Hotel Palenque

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Number of rooms
17

See which rooms travelers prefer