We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Coach House

Certificate of Excellence
12 Market Square, Potton SG19 2NP, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Coach House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    68
    22
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
25
31
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (98)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (36)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Uckfield
Level Contributor
164 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My son and I stayed here for one night while attending the car show at Little Gransden. Thank goodness it was only one night! My room backed onto the baby changing room which also had a door in it which was used by staff. At various times this door was thrown open banging the wall behind the bed with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were visiting the area for a wedding (at South Farm) and The Coach House was one of the hotels suggested by the venue. The hotel's website was informative, well designed and created a good first impression so we booked a room. As we wanted to change before the wedding we contacted the hotel and the staff were able to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clophill
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited here tonight with family, the building and decor is really nice, however we were placed in a nice room but it was a little bit too quiet and lacked atmosphere. The staff were enthusiastic and friendly but there was a certain lack of sharpness to the speed and attention of service. Food was nicely presented but some of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisWoodcraft, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review

Hey, thanks for taking the time to review us. We're delighted with your compliments about our hotel and our staff. However, we're disappointed that your experience of the food and service was lesser than we'd normally expect. Your feedback will be passed on as we try to avoid a repeat of your experience. More 

UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is a real little gem, located as it is in a fairly obscure but quite pretty little town (large village?) called Potton which is maybe 10 miles from Cambridge. It's been superbly renovated throughout - the interior designer clearly knows what they're doing. It's an interesting combination of modern and 'ancient' - it's an old building with room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisWoodcraft, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review

Thanks for the review! Yes, Potton is a small town despite many people thinking it's a village! Thank you for all of the compliments regarding the interior design, although we can't take credit for the lintels! The road noise is an occasional issue, but it tends to be quiet. However, I'd advise that if you stay with us again to... More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for 4 nights and have to say that this hotel is excellent. I had room 104 which is a single room but there was more than enough space and the bathroom was very nice. The restaurant food and staff are top quality (beware no food served on a Sunday night) If you are in the are of Potton... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisWoodcraft, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! It's excellent to read that you enjoyed your stay so much! We appreciate people taking the time to write positive reviews, as often people think TripAdvisor is only there for when things go wrong! More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our second overnight stay at The Coach House as we couldn't find anywhere as nice nearer Cambridge. The rooms are very comfortable and stylish (beds are heavenly), the reception was very welcoming and helpful, and the food was perfect for us as it wasn't too salty and they could prepare a plain meal for my mother. I would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisWoodcraft, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review

Hey, thanks for the review! We're glad you enjoyed everything so much and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Cambridge! More 

England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Easy to find and with a large car park at the rear. Our room was on the second floor and as it's a very old building, there's no lift, so if you have limited mobility this could be a problem. Staff did offer to take up one of our cases - but I had to drag the other up! Room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

I stayed here recently for one night on business. On arrival greeted very warmly and told where I could park. The room was excellent. Very clean and nicely decorated and very clean. The meal I had was fantastic and beautifully cooked. Nice freshly cooked breakfast as well. Highly recommended with nice staff and a nice location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisWoodcraft, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us, we appreciate the effort and appreciate your kind words even more! Hopefully your business will bring you back here again or failing that, you'll find another reason to visit us! More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

Situated in the square with ample parking to the rear. We occupied a large double bedroom in the front of the hotel on the second floor. The room was beautifully furnished in an eclectic style. The weather was warm so we left the windows ajar for the night. The front outside drinking area was quite noisy with voices travelling far... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisWoodcraft, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and restaurant. Also, I'd like to thank you for your kind words about our hotel rooms, staff and food. We can only apologise for the situation with the wine and can assure you that this isn't something that happens often. However, it sounds like the situation was resolved to your... More 

Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015

This is a lovely hotel with excellent and friendly staff, and decorated to high standards. The room was lovely, but..... if want to actually get any sleep don't stay in the front of the hotel, which overlooks the market square - or better described as a race track! Apart from a lull of traffic in the early hours, the traffic... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChrisWoodcraft, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and thank you for all of your kind words about our staff and building. It's always a pleasure to hear that our staff are performing excellently! I'm sincerely disappointed by the circumstances that led to your poor night's sleep and can assure you that this is far from the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potton
9.2 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#6 of 16 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 stars 431 reviews
6.2 mi away
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wyboston
4.0 of 5 stars 583 reviews
12.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bedford South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#7 of 16 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 stars 1,072 reviews
6.4 mi away
Premier Inn St Neots A1 / Wyboston
0.1 mi away
The Potton Nest Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay