We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Commercial

Certificate of Excellence
13 Market Square, St Just TR19 7HE, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Commercial
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

189 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    84
    69
    19
    9
    8
See reviews for
34
98
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (189)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (82)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (47)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Lymington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Making the pilgrimage down to Lands End to kick start the R A B cycle event and although unable to stay in this hotel, Michelle has been a star , not only sourcing an alternative but listing things to see and do. A true professional and a credit to The Commercial and the hospitality industry

Was this review helpful? Yes
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving such kind comments. We try our best to help where we can. It is a bit old fashioned perhaps but we were brought up with the ethos " treat people how you yourself would like to be treated". More 

Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here with 3 friends for one night as we had tickets for the Minack Theatre. Its in a great location right on the square and there is a free car park with ample parking very close by. The staff here are fantastic, so friendly and helpful , nothing is too much trouble. We asked if it was possible to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review

Thank you for positive and comprehensive review you have left for us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your short stay with us. We are indeed ideally situated for The famous Minack Theatre. It seems that you totally appreciate what we are doing here at our inn. We are not a hotel but we try to be the best we... More 

Accrington, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here at The commercial hotel for 2 nights, the location in St. Just, was lovely the hotel was in a square were there was a chip shop, post office, butchers & other shops & a couple of pubs. My room was a small double which was overlooking the square with nice view, it was light, clean & comfortable, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a comprehensive and positive review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your short stay with us. Our small double room is situated on our second floor reached by 2 flights of 15 steps. This room is only let for overnight budget stays as a double or for longer as sole occupancy... More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very dated decor and a bit run down generally. The staff were pleasant and the room was clean. However the pub toilets really stank and the pub area was pretty grotty. Having read other reviews we decided to have an evening meal but sadly it was a let down, absolutely no taste at all, so we ate out for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving an entirely inappropriate review. Your comments about our decor and cleanliness are just quite plainly ridiculous. If this was truly the case we would not have held an accreditation of 4 star inn accommodation via VisitBritain for the past 8 years. This accreditation takes into account our breakfast, lunch & evening dinner menus, hospitality, interior &... More 

Bribie Island, Australia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 699 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hard to judge. A "4" on this tour but a "3" overall - based on all the hotels we've stayed in. Set in a glorious little town in Cornwall - St Just. A great centre for exploring Lands End, Penzance, St Ives etc. Wicked stairs - could do with a "dumb waiter" - such an easy answer. No car parking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. Sorry to have missed our Australian guests but the chance of going to Edgbaston to see England give the Aussies a good hiding in the 3 third Ashes test was far too good to miss! I did cook your breakfast on the first morning before I left! I am delighted that you really enjoyed the food... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Most everything was fine (except the shower drain that didn't work). The breakfast was very good - well prepared. The room was clean and well put together (I think we had the worst room in the place - at the front - but it was still fine). Avoid the battered fish at dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I believe that you booked and stayed in our SMALL DOUBLE which to quote your review was "clean and well put together". It is our smallest room but it is also let at a budget tariff to reflect this. Had we known you had difficulties with the shower we could have sorted it immediately as... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

if you want a great place to stay in great surroundings & very local to the sights that Cornwall has to ofter then look no further this Hotel ticks all the boxes I'm well travelled & I cant find one bad thing to say about thisHotel it's very clean a very comfortable bed the owners are very nice & friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us such a fantastic review. You obviously totally get what we are about here at the Commercial. We are a family run inn offering great food and warm Cornish hospitality at all times. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future. More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were very warmly welcomed by one of the owners, Paul who showed us around before carrying our luggage up to our bedroom for us. The bedroom although fairly small (number 9) was pretty and had everything provided to ensure a very comfortable stay. The en suite bathroom had a very efficient and large corner walk in shower, and yet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review

Wow thanks for the great review! We are so delighted that you really enjoyed your short stay with us. Thank you for taking the time also to leave such a comprehensive review of our inn as a whole. Our crab and lobster is amazing isn't it?! It is landed in a little cove only 3/4 of a mile from our... More 

Simcoe, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Upon arrival, very tired and footsore from walking the SouthWest Coast path from Zennor, we were greeted by a very friendly young man who gave us a tour of the hotel and showed us up to our room (warning - no lifts here - stairs with a somewhat awkward door at a landing turn). The double room was fine -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a positive and comprehensive review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here at our inn. More 

Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

This was a very positive experience. You are spot on the the city centre with pubs and restaurants just around you when stepping out of the door. The feeling of being in the middle of Cornwall local life is amazing and we had a great stay here. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant and it was presented well, tasted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review

Thank you for your very positive review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your overnight stay with us. We can have no better recommendation than guests saying they would return! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Just
0.6 mi away
Cape Cornwall Golf & Leisure
3.3 mi away
Old Success Inn
Old Success Inn
#1 of 1 in Sennen Cove
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
4.3 mi away
Land's End Hotel
Land's End Hotel
#1 of 1 in Land's End
4.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 stars 516 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#7 of 9 in St Just
3.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
0.7 mi away
YHA Land's End
YHA Land's End
#2 of 6 in St Just
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay