We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Commercial

4.0 of 5 13 Market Square, St Just TR19 7HE, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Commercial
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Commercial
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    58
    14
    9
    8
See reviews for
28
79
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (155)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (60)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (47)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars NEW

My husband and I stayed here in October as we were doing some sightseeing and wanted a nice place to rest after a days walking. We weren't disappointed! We ate in the restaurant on night one and thoroughly enjoyed our steaks which were cooked to perfection. The room was comfortable, possibly a bit basic but nevertheless, comfortable. The breakfast was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed to break up my trip to the Isles of Scilly & I cannot recommend this hotel enough. Although I stayed in one of the smaller rooms. It was advertised as such and it was reflected in the price. The bed was comfortable & the shower was clean powerful, very powerful! Breakfast was served in a lovely breakfast/meeting room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Plymouth
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is in a great location in St Just, right on the town square but you aren't disturbed by any noise. The restaurant is lovely, we ate in the conservatively which was airy and spacious. Great breakfast, plenty of juice, fruit, cereals, yoghurts to help your self to and then they take your order for cooked breakfast, plenty of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving us such a glowing review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the process of re-carpeting throughout upstairs as well redecorating all of the rooms and hallways. Room 9 & 10 are earmarked for new en-suite rooms at the beginning of March. everyone is lined up and ready to go on... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

We were walking the south west coast path, so after a day's walking we found the room (booked for us by a walking company) was fine. The powerful shower was most welcome. The room was big enough for us to spread our damp walking clothes to dry. There was no view as the window was filled with frosted glass, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your short overnight stay with us. A short 2 minute lift to Cape Cornwall we feel is the least we can do for our guests if it helps them in any way. More 

Test Valley
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

okay so it looks a bit chabby chic from the outside but they are in the middle of refurbishment. We were given a warm welcome on checking in, the barstaff/waiters were very obliging, polite chatty, friendly. the food was great, lovely roast dinner for £7.00 good value and a nice pasta dish the following evening.cozy restaurant nicely furnished, nice décor.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us such a positive and comprehensive review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us despite all of the renovation work going on upstairs. St Just is a great place to stay when walking this part of the coastline and many many people come back year after year. Thanks again. More 

France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

I am at a loss to explain the many favourable reviews for this hotel, as the room we were allocated, number 3, is without doubt one of the worst rooms I have ever stayed in, and my wife and I use hotels frequently. To say that you could not swing a cat in it is no exaggeration. It was so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review

We do appreciate your comments and are glad that you enjoyed our food and atmosphere downstairs. However, the room in question here is our small budget double which was let for a one night stay for £50.00 which includes a full breakfast. This one night stay was again over our New Year period and this and our small single room... More 

Ludlow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Looking at the photo at the front of this place looks lovely ,but when you turn up its completely different needs a real make over paint peeling of the building. No lift we booked on line well in advanced and was given the smallest room . Downstairs was nice good breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review

We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. Although you booked in advance it was over our New Year period and the only room we let for short one night stays such as yours was our small budget room which is the one you chose on the OTA at £50.00 per night for 2 people including breakfast. At... More 

GLYNDE
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Nothing was too much trouble. Comfortable super-clean warm bedroom. Breakfast was superb with local produce. We visited for the St Just Feast weekend which was one of the best events I have been to, the singing of local mining, fishing any Cornish folk songs was moving beyond words. La Frowda in July also has to be seen to be believed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving us such a fantastic review. We are delighted that keep returning to stay with us. More 

Hatherleigh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Fantastic place to stay. Booked online and my husband had arranged a surprise for when we arrived with Paul. A rose and petals + a bottle of prosecco in the room, made it so special. Thank you so much! Lovely evening meal in the restaurant and breakfast was lovely and relaxed. Room very clean and spacious, enough room to put... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your "mini honeymoon" with us. We try to cater for any special requests that our guests might ask of us in order to make their stay as perfect as possible. Thank you for your fantastic feedback. More 

Cobourg, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Booking made direct with hotel by 'phone, confirmed by email, and with deposit paid of one night's tariff. Better rate secured than with agencies. The hotel has been proudly run by the same family for over a century. Paul is the present inheritor of this legacy. His engaged, no-nonsense style, his shrewd guidance as to the many local landmarks, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback. It is good to be able to show our staff that all their hard work is appreciated. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Commercial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commercial

Address: 13 Market Square, St Just TR19 7HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Just
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Commercial 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Commercial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay