We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Commercial

4.0 of 5 13 Market Square, St Just TR19 7HE, England
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Commercial
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Commercial
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    55
    14
    9
    8
See reviews for
28
76
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (151)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (60)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (47)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Test Valley
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

okay so it looks a bit chabby chic from the outside but they are in the middle of refurbishment. We were given a warm welcome on checking in, the barstaff/waiters were very obliging, polite chatty, friendly. the food was great, lovely roast dinner for £7.00 good value and a nice pasta dish the following evening.cozy restaurant nicely furnished, nice décor.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am at a loss to explain the many favourable reviews for this hotel, as the room we were allocated, number 3, is without doubt one of the worst rooms I have ever stayed in, and my wife and I use hotels frequently. To say that you could not swing a cat in it is no exaggeration. It was so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review

We do appreciate your comments and are glad that you enjoyed our food and atmosphere downstairs. However, the room in question here is our small budget double which was let for a one night stay for £50.00 which includes a full breakfast. This one night stay was again over our New Year period and this and our small single room... More 

Ludlow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Looking at the photo at the front of this place looks lovely ,but when you turn up its completely different needs a real make over paint peeling of the building. No lift we booked on line well in advanced and was given the smallest room . Downstairs was nice good breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review

We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. Although you booked in advance it was over our New Year period and the only room we let for short one night stays such as yours was our small budget room which is the one you chose on the OTA at £50.00 per night for 2 people including breakfast. At... More 

GLYNDE
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Nothing was too much trouble. Comfortable super-clean warm bedroom. Breakfast was superb with local produce. We visited for the St Just Feast weekend which was one of the best events I have been to, the singing of local mining, fishing any Cornish folk songs was moving beyond words. La Frowda in July also has to be seen to be believed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving us such a fantastic review. We are delighted that keep returning to stay with us. More 

Hatherleigh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Fantastic place to stay. Booked online and my husband had arranged a surprise for when we arrived with Paul. A rose and petals + a bottle of prosecco in the room, made it so special. Thank you so much! Lovely evening meal in the restaurant and breakfast was lovely and relaxed. Room very clean and spacious, enough room to put... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your "mini honeymoon" with us. We try to cater for any special requests that our guests might ask of us in order to make their stay as perfect as possible. Thank you for your fantastic feedback. More 

Cobourg, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Booking made direct with hotel by 'phone, confirmed by email, and with deposit paid of one night's tariff. Better rate secured than with agencies. The hotel has been proudly run by the same family for over a century. Paul is the present inheritor of this legacy. His engaged, no-nonsense style, his shrewd guidance as to the many local landmarks, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback. It is good to be able to show our staff that all their hard work is appreciated. More 

gloucester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend and from the minute we arrived we were made to feel welcome. The rooms were clean with a comfortable bed and the breakfast was fantastic. We had a meal in the restaurant on the first night which was lovely and the even reserved a nice window seat for us. But the thing that makes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us such a glowing review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your weekend stay here at the Commercial. In particular we are glad that you enjoyed mixing in with our great locals who are a huge part of the experience here at our inn. We are very lucky to be able to welcome guests and locals... More 

NC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

We stayed at the Commercial Hote, St. Just for a few days in late September 2014. My wife and daighter had stayed previously a few years ago. This time was also with our eldest son and one of his children. The hotel staff are very friendly and the meals were delicious. There is a large 24/7 free car park a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your meals and overall stay with us and are always glad to welcome returning guests. More 

Ryde
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

We stayed two nights recently whilst visiting the area and after looking at the local competitors we plumped for The Commercial. The room we chose was a double en-suite and whilst the hotel was clean, the breakfast was fantastic and the employees were some of the warmest, friendliest staff of all the hotels we've stayed at, the only thing that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us your thoughts. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and would come again. As with many of these reviews it is very difficult for us to trace comments back to a specific room but in response to your comments about the bathroom smell we have just recently installed a new saniflow system into one... More 

Hayle, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

A very warm welcome on arrival, we were shown all areas re- bar restaurant, garden room. There is a nice outside seating area out back. The room although a clean small double was adequate for our two night stay with a good size en-suite with bath + overhead shower.It was on the side of the building so you could hear... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review

Thank you so much for leaving us such a great review. We couldn't have a better recommendation than your repeat business next year. We notice you have booked for our Lafrowda weekend so you will see us at our absolute busiest. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Commercial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commercial

Address: 13 Market Square, St Just TR19 7HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Just
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Commercial 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Commercial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay