We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Barlaston B&Bs / inns

The Upper House

The Green, Barlaston ST12 9AE, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Upper House to your Saves list
The Upper House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
88%
Ranked #1 of 1 Barlaston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Andrew W Essex, England
  • Overview
  • Reviews (110)
  • Photos (28)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (20)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    27
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
30
34
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location is fantastic and very tranquil. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The service was slow but the food was worth waiting for. It has very poor mobile reception and therefore the frer wifi suffers accordingly. But the location is to die for it used to be a house owned by the Wedgwood family!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was lucky enough to be given a voucher for my birthday at The Upper House for afternoon tea for two. We managed to reserve the table in the morning for the same afternoon. The weather was hot and sunny so we arrived early to have a look at the gardens and surrounding areas. Although not large the gardens are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Alex M, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review

Hi GJackson123 Thank you so much for your review. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us. We hope to see you again soon! Best Wishes Alex More

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Hotel is set in gorgeous grounds and the décor is fitting for area and style of hotel. We checked in OK and the room was lovely. I went to have a shower before we went for dinner and the shower is in fact a mixer tap!! Turned it on and there was no pressure at all, I attempted to wash... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex M, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We apologise again for the problems you experienced with the plumbing and glad we got a chance to discuss these on the Monday! Thank you so much for all of your positive comments, they are appreciated and I will be sure to pass them over to the team!... More

Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Dining whilst viewing the sunset over the green fields from our place by the large window in the dining room was a real treat. The hotel has some quirky features that result, naturally, from its age and the fact that it was originally a family mansion. The friendly staff were happy to accommodate our request to change to a room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
staffs
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

just had afternoon tea here at the upper house nice building lovely gardens we were shown to a lounge area while we waited .waitress brought us the menu we chose the Wedgwood tea although there are several options with just cakes and no sandwiches . our sandwiches were very nice and a good selection .there are quite a lot of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex M, General Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review

Hi freda g We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us. Thank you so much for your lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! with Best Wishes Alex More

England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We were a party of 15 for our wedding lunch. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, we were given sole use of the conservatory which was just the right size for our party. The room was set out perfectly with chair covers etc. This was all done at no extra cost and the use of the room was not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alex M, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting The Upper House and giving us a fantastic review. We really enjoyed helping you celebrate your special day and your decorations in the room looked beautiful. I will make sure I pass on comments to our staff about how much you enjoyed your wedding lunch, hope to see you again soon! More

Stoke on Trent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Food was good but we had a poor service . Good/polite waitress staff but not serving at the standard expected at a fine setting. Poor Bar Manager with very bad people skills, we spent over £320 but were treated like scum by the bar manager. Would not return or recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex M, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We regret that your experience with us was not what you had hoped for. We have discussed and addressed the issues that you have highlighted and we sincerely apologise for your bad experience. Kind regards Alex More

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The house was built by the Wedgwood family and is set in very fine grounds. From the comfortable lounge and the dining room, there are spectacular uninterrupted views of the garden and across countryside. You can see why it's so popular for weddings. We had a neat but rather small upper floor room with a dormer window, and unfortunately you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alex M, General Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review

Hi SXDave Thank you kindly for your review following your stay at The Upper House. We have looked into your very valued points and have made many changes to the room accordingly. We do hope that you visit us again. Thank you again for your help. With warm regards Alex More

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed one evening at the The Upper House in Barlaston. It was a joint celebration of anniversary and birthday and so looked for a hotel considered slightly more upmarket and to the top end of our budget. We stayed on the Tuesday night and got their mid afternoon. The receptionists throughout the stay weren't overly friendly until it came... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex M, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review

Dear Toni217 Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Upper House. We have looked into all of the points you made and have made changes where possible. We sincerely apologise for not being able to provide you with the stay you had expected. We have passed on your kind comments to the relevant staff. Please... More

Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Had a great mid week break at the upper house, friendly and helpful staff. Food is top class, fresh and local. Room was clean and comfortable with a great view of the countryside. Location good for the potteries. Would highly recommend , a real treat.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alex M, General Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review

Hi PeterF Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Upper House, we hope to see you again soon! With warm regards Alex More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Upper House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Upper House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upper House

Address: The Green, Barlaston ST12 9AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Barlaston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Upper House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Upper House Hotel Barlaston

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Number of rooms
22

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer