We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Table View accommodations

SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge

5.0 of 5 Ranch   |   20 Briza Road, Table View 7441, South Africa
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge to your Saves list
SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
91%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 weeks ago
David K Gig Harbor, Washington
  • Overview
  • Reviews (49)
  • Photos (27)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (9)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    10
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
7
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Great hostel to stay at! The staff is very helpful and welcoming. They make it very easy to plan excursions for the weekends. I booked a wine tour, shark cage diving, garden route tour, and cape point tour all through SaltyCrax and it was so easy!!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

SaltyCrax is incredible. It is literally a home away from home. The people who work there are so friendly and helpful with suggestions of what to do if you need advice. They will book trips for you and help arrange transportation if you need it! They treat all their guests like family! Salties is just a short walk away from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This place is amazing! if you enter its as if you are in a jungle! the people are really friendly, and the area is beautiful! The place is just pretty far away from the cape town city center (about half an hour drive by car). But it is definitely worth going to this backpackers! they arrange all kinds of trips... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. John's, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

At the time of my visit (August 2011), Saltycrax had the BEST people working there, I can't stress this enough!!!! They go above and beyond to make you feel at home. The owners sometimes will even take you out to show you local places (like Critters, a restaurant/bar down by the beach) and throw parties on occasion you can attend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We recently rocked 4 days of awesomeness at Salty Crax! Cant recommend the place enough, great staff, chilled vibes when needed, craziness when party time came. Miss you Constable, Wifey & Fat Trevor.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Such a chilled out vibe with friendly staff and a very comfortable and clean living area. My boyfriend and I camped here for over a week for the best value in Cape Town.. and would do it again. A little far out of the city center but a nice drive if you have a car.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Was down in Cape Town for a wedding that took place at Blue Peter. SaltyCrax proved to be an acceptable distance from the wedding venue. Was expecting it to be loud with it being a backpackers but was very chilled and peaceful. Everybody was doing their own thing e.g. utilizing the wifi on the premises. This relaxed atmosphere made coming... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

A friend and I stayed here on and of for 3 months in a private double room and we loved it! The staff immediately made us feel very welcome and they were very helpfull with everything. From planning trips to and around Cape town, to showing us a good time in Table view. The rooms are nice and clean and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

An eclectic mix of volunteers (mostly Scandinavian), helping out local kids in townships and so on and conventional backpackers and kite surfers. The rooms are nice, the property is secure and the bar rocks - at R14 for a beer and with a plentiful supply of jeager it's difficult for it not to. The staff are friendly and will help... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kuruman, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Saltycrax over charged me, they charge me for 10 beds in the domitry toom which was fine, but only six children sleep there, and in the mean time they booked other geust in on the empty beds of which i already paid.I need my refund of that, because Chanel told me they did book guest in because of its a... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saltycrax B, Manager at SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge, responded to this review

Hi it is unfortunate that you feel this way, however i have emailed you regarding the refund and i do recall us discussing the matter before you left. please can you forward me your banking details so that this may be rectified soonest. i do apologise for any inconvenience caused regards Julian More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge

Address: 20 Briza Road, Table View 7441, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Table View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge Cape Town, South Africa - Table View

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
1:30
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
1:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We offer 4 star accommodation situated close to the beautiful white beaches of Blouberg and the famous Kite beach. We provide affordable accommodation for tourists wanting to visit the Blaauwberg area and have an experience of a lifetime! Our facilities include a Jacuzzi, self catering kitchen, entertainment area etc. We are rolling distance from the beach, restaurants, bars, transport terminals etc. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
30

See which rooms travelers prefer