We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Table View accommodations

SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge

5.0 of 5 Ranch   |   20 Briza Road, Table View 7441, South Africa
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge to your Saves list
SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
90%
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    9
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
7
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Such a chilled out vibe with friendly staff and a very comfortable and clean living area. My boyfriend and I camped here for over a week for the best value in Cape Town.. and would do it again. A little far out of the city center but a nice drive if you have a car.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Was down in Cape Town for a wedding that took place at Blue Peter. SaltyCrax proved to be an acceptable distance from the wedding venue. Was expecting it to be loud with it being a backpackers but was very chilled and peaceful. Everybody was doing their own thing e.g. utilizing the wifi on the premises. This relaxed atmosphere made coming... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A friend and I stayed here on and of for 3 months in a private double room and we loved it! The staff immediately made us feel very welcome and they were very helpfull with everything. From planning trips to and around Cape town, to showing us a good time in Table view. The rooms are nice and clean and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

An eclectic mix of volunteers (mostly Scandinavian), helping out local kids in townships and so on and conventional backpackers and kite surfers. The rooms are nice, the property is secure and the bar rocks - at R14 for a beer and with a plentiful supply of jeager it's difficult for it not to. The staff are friendly and will help... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kuruman, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Saltycrax over charged me, they charge me for 10 beds in the domitry toom which was fine, but only six children sleep there, and in the mean time they booked other geust in on the empty beds of which i already paid.I need my refund of that, because Chanel told me they did book guest in because of its a... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saltycrax B, Manager at SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge, responded to this review

Hi it is unfortunate that you feel this way, however i have emailed you regarding the refund and i do recall us discussing the matter before you left. please can you forward me your banking details so that this may be rectified soonest. i do apologise for any inconvenience caused regards Julian More

Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Very kind staff who went above and beyond to help me out. Location and facilities for a Backpackers are superb too. I would highly recommend it to anybody especially kite surfers that want to be near the action.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Saltycrax B, Manager at SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge, responded to this review

hey always good to know you enjoyed your stay and thanks for sharing see you next week :) Julian More

Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is a great place to stay, I was here for 3 weeks total myself. Great rooms, great staff and nice surroundings! :) I could definitely stay here again if I was in the area. They also have a bar with cheap beer and it's just a two minute walk from the beach and restaurants

Was this review helpful? Yes
Windhoek, Namibia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

close to centre of everything yet quite and peaceful when its time to sleep owner and staff very friendly and helpful always clean and neat and tidy my only tiny complaint was that I struggled with the lock on the gate BEST PLACE TO STAY IN TABLE VIEW

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Best place to stay! A great place to stay, in lovely surroundings. People are really nice, i got some good friends while staying there. After my stay there i was going on an overland tour and needed some good shoes, Freddy (the manager) ended up using 5 hours of his day off to find the exactly shoes that i wanted.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saltycrax B, Manager at SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge, responded to this review

hey thanks for the review, good to know you had a great ti,e with us. hope you still have both shoes safe travels julian More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Great place with awesome staff. Julian went out of his way to ensure we were comfortable and helped us plan our daily outings. There is a chilled atmosphere during the day and at night everyone gathers around and enjoys a cold beer or glass of wine in the bar. The kitchen area is well equipped and makes meal times easy.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge

Also Known As:
SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge Cape Town, South Africa - Table View
Address: 20 Briza Road, Table View 7441, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Table View
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Table View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 4 star accommodation situated close to the beautiful white beaches of Blouberg and the famous Kite beach. We provide affordable accommodation for tourists wanting to visit the Blaauwberg area and have an experience of a lifetime! Our facilities include a Jacuzzi, self catering kitchen, entertainment area etc. We are rolling distance from the beach, restaurants, bars, transport terminals etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.