We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Palm House

Certificate of Excellence
10 Oxford Street | Upper Wynberg, Wynberg 7800, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Palm House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    32
    19
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
11
2
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (58)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Cape Town
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I returned to Palm House for a 1 day business conference on the 14th August. The staff were warm and welcoming and the service was slick. Lunch was delicious and well presented. Life Kingsbury Hospital's Management Team will definitely be back in the future! Well done!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

The Palm House hotel is truly a unique and wonderful place to stay. We stayed here on an emergency trip to South Africa to see our mother in hospital and they staff were not only accommodating but went out of their way to assist us. The rooms are very spacious with all the mod cons you would need and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PalmHouse, General Manager at Palm House, responded to this review

Dear Kathleen B, Thank you for your positive review. I am delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations and hope your mother has made a full recovery. Yours in hospitality Shaun Lawrence More 

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

We travelled to CT for a school sporting trip. The location was excellent. Staff were very accommodating, helpful and friendly. Facilities slightly shabby but more than adequate for our needs. We had a downstairs room next to the reception and noise did travel from reception and bar area. Very good value for money.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PalmHouse, General Manager at Palm House, responded to this review

Dear 581leannem, Thank you for your review and hope to see you again in the future. Regards Shaun Lawrence More 

Cape Town
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

I attended a conference from the 15th - 20th March and was once again impressed with the excellent faciilites, delicious food and professional staff. The room was clean and comfortable, I will definitely be back again. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
PalmHouse, General Manager at Palm House, responded to this review

Dear Mike G, Thank you for your review. We appreciate your positive comments. Take care and will look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards Shaun Lawrence More 

Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

A very warm welcome ,and helpful staff........A map was printed out for us with directions to the nearest shopping centre. Room 5 was spacious and looked out over the front garden and drive.Two of the handles on the chest of drawers fell off and the hook from the bathroom door had broken off and found in a drawer!The bathroom needed... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
PalmHouse, General Manager at Palm House, responded to this review

Dear David B, Thank you for your review. I am pleased you had a pleasant stay with us. Keep well. Shaun Lawrence More 

Harare, Zimbabwe
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Generally good but feel it has gone down a bit since our last visit in 2009. The whole place is looking a little tired and is need of some maintenance. The mosquitoes were bad in our room. We felt the staff were disinterested in doing any work - for example we had to go looking for the waitress for breakfast,... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
PalmHouse, General Manager at Palm House, responded to this review

Dear Lynnec413, Thank you for your review. I apologize that you feel the service standard has dropped since your last visit. We take all reviews seriously whether they be positive or negative. Your comments have been noted and they will be addressed. Sincerely Shaun Lawrence General Manager More 

Cologne, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Was absolutely great since it was wonderful estate, super general manager who helped with restaurants etc wonderful balcony with view, and garden , it was quite and the trip downtown was just 10-15 min

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
PalmHouse, General Manager at Palm House, responded to this review

Dear Gabriele867, Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear that you had a memorable stay with us especially that you were celebrating your wedding anniversary in South Africa. I wish you and your family a FANTASTIC 2015! See you all soon Shaun Lawrence General Manager More 

Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

We were received very well on arrival. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. We were checked in properly and everything was thoroughly explained as was the case over the phone when the booking was done. The surrounding area is quite pleasant and the guest house is very neat both outside and inside. The rooms are very neat and up... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
PalmHouse, General Manager at Palm House, responded to this review

Dear Mr Kobue, Thank you for taking the time to compile a positive review. At Palm House we strive for service excellence and I am please you were well taken care of. I wish you well for the year ahead and hope to see you all soon. Regards Shaun Lawrence General Manager More 

Sussex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Really not much to recommend the Palm House, unless September is not the best choice and may improve in the season. Facilities nothing like the advertising, practically a one man band from arrival at the gates through to leaving somewhat disappointed for the first time after many previous visits to South Africa.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PalmHouse, General Manager at Palm House, responded to this review

Dear David E, Thank you for your review. I apologize that we did not meet and exceed your high expectations and wish you well for the year ahead. Regards Shaun Lawrence General Manager More 

Amanzimtoti, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Staff looked after us very well, nothing was too much trouble. The view of the back of Table Mountain from the comfort of our bed was an absolute treat. Guests arriving late was a little annoying as they woke us up but then it was possibly due to the location of our room.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
PalmHouse, General Manager at Palm House, responded to this review

Dear LynnE, Thank you for your review. I am pleased you had a pleasant stay with us and I wish you a joyous festive season and year ahead. Regards Shaun Lawrence More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
6:37
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wynberg
1.5 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newlands
4.5 of 5 stars 794 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highlands Country House
Highlands Country House
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
5.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 6 in Constantia
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Newlands
1.7 mi away
Southern Sun Newlands
Southern Sun Newlands
#2 of 3 in Newlands
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay