We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Palm House

10 Oxford Street | Upper Wynberg, Wynberg 7800, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palm House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Palm House
Add Your Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    18
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
11
2
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (54)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A very warm welcome ,and helpful staff........A map was printed out for us with directions to the nearest shopping centre. Room 5 was spacious and looked out over the front garden and drive.Two of the handles on the chest of drawers fell off and the hook from the bathroom door had broken off and found in a drawer!The bathroom needed... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
PalmHouse, General Manager at Palm House, responded to this review

Dear David B, Thank you for your review. I am pleased you had a pleasant stay with us. Keep well. Shaun Lawrence More 

Harare, Zimbabwe
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Generally good but feel it has gone down a bit since our last visit in 2009. The whole place is looking a little tired and is need of some maintenance. The mosquitoes were bad in our room. We felt the staff were disinterested in doing any work - for example we had to go looking for the waitress for breakfast,... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
PalmHouse, General Manager at Palm House, responded to this review

Dear Lynnec413, Thank you for your review. I apologize that you feel the service standard has dropped since your last visit. We take all reviews seriously whether they be positive or negative. Your comments have been noted and they will be addressed. Sincerely Shaun Lawrence General Manager More 

Cologne, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Was absolutely great since it was wonderful estate, super general manager who helped with restaurants etc wonderful balcony with view, and garden , it was quite and the trip downtown was just 10-15 min

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
PalmHouse, General Manager at Palm House, responded to this review

Dear Gabriele867, Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear that you had a memorable stay with us especially that you were celebrating your wedding anniversary in South Africa. I wish you and your family a FANTASTIC 2015! See you all soon Shaun Lawrence General Manager More 

Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

We were received very well on arrival. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. We were checked in properly and everything was thoroughly explained as was the case over the phone when the booking was done. The surrounding area is quite pleasant and the guest house is very neat both outside and inside. The rooms are very neat and up... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
PalmHouse, General Manager at Palm House, responded to this review

Dear Mr Kobue, Thank you for taking the time to compile a positive review. At Palm House we strive for service excellence and I am please you were well taken care of. I wish you well for the year ahead and hope to see you all soon. Regards Shaun Lawrence General Manager More 

Sussex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Really not much to recommend the Palm House, unless September is not the best choice and may improve in the season. Facilities nothing like the advertising, practically a one man band from arrival at the gates through to leaving somewhat disappointed for the first time after many previous visits to South Africa.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PalmHouse, General Manager at Palm House, responded to this review

Dear David E, Thank you for your review. I apologize that we did not meet and exceed your high expectations and wish you well for the year ahead. Regards Shaun Lawrence General Manager More 

Amanzimtoti, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Staff looked after us very well, nothing was too much trouble. The view of the back of Table Mountain from the comfort of our bed was an absolute treat. Guests arriving late was a little annoying as they woke us up but then it was possibly due to the location of our room.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
PalmHouse, General Manager at Palm House, responded to this review

Dear LynnE, Thank you for your review. I am pleased you had a pleasant stay with us and I wish you a joyous festive season and year ahead. Regards Shaun Lawrence More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

We are a family of 3, our son is 18 months old. We found that the family cottage was a bit small and the bathroom was very small. I must admit we were somewhat disappointed with the size of the cottage. My son still drinks a bottle and we were unable to warm his milk - you should consider having... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
PalmHouse, General Manager at Palm House, responded to this review

Dear 482SHIREENC, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the size of the Family Cottage. We are unfortunately not a self-catering establishment and therefore the rooms are not equipped with appliances. Regarding the smell in the room, two weeks prior to your arrival a guest had left a towel on the... More 

Cairo
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Very friendly staff and spacious, clean rooms! The neighborhood is safe, allowing for safe afternoon walks and great location as well; can walk to nearby restaurants and malls easily. The food is OK as well.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
PalmHouse, General Manager at Palm House, responded to this review

Dear Masa A, Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope to see you again in the near future. Regards Shaun Lawrence General Manager More 

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Peaceful atmosphere. Room service excellent. Rooms are very spacious. Staff were friendly and assisted eagerly when help was required. I can and will recommend Palm House to all who needs accommodation in that area.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
PalmHouse, General Manager at Palm House, responded to this review

Dear Adelaide577, I am delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay at Palm House. Please spread the word as marketing through word of mouth is a powerful tool. We hope to see you soon in the near future. Regards Shaun Lawrence General Manager More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Apart from the spacious rooms and comfortable beds, the staff are a joy! Although I didn't make use of the dinner facility while I was there, the breakfasts are fantastic. It's been a while since I had proper free range eggs, and the omelette on Sunday morning was light and delicious. Well done, all :)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
PalmHouse, General Manager at Palm House, responded to this review

Dear Patrick, Thank you for your positive review. I am pleased that my staff made you feel at home and I trust your conference with us was a success. I wish you well and we hope to see you again in the future. Regards Shaun Lawrence General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
6:37
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question