We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Heritage Lodge & Spa

Certificate of Excellence
Lot 236 / R96 Turpentine Rd, Diwan, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
Hotel amenities
Heritage Lodge & Spa
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
djauckland Auckland Region, New Zealand
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    22
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
50
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (115)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We only stayed 1 night , however it was the best nights sleep of our holiday away , not only that but it was the only time we saw a Cassowary in the wild, came walking right past our cabin, there were also turtles and fish in the crystal clear water stream. It is literally in the middle of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Perth, WA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We are so glad that we stayed here for two nights instead of just coming to Cape Trib on a daytrip. It was like entering another world. The cabins are perfect, with insect netting on the windows to keep the insects out. The cabins are a couple of minutes walk from the foyer, where umbrellas are available that you can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is immersed in the tropical rainforest of Daintree. The property includes a creek where you can bath in the morning with no fear of crocodiles. Roooms are nice and quiet. The reataurant is delicious. The staff is very kind.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

Wow. What a find. Only weeks after retirement and looking forward to time travelling Australia, I was struck down with a debilitating illness. After a few months of treatment my family organised a week in the daintree to recoup and reflect. I can hardly put into words the sense of peace I found at the lodge , amongst the oldest... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015 via mobile

This hotel was good as the restaurant was fab, it was clean and spacious and the staff were friendly. It was low season so a lot of places are shut at this time of year - so it's good to have a nice place to eat close to home. The staff were good at making recommendations for things to do.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
heritagelodge, Owner at Heritage Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and it's great that you enjoyed your stay with us. The restaurant is very special overlooking Cooper Creek and we are so fortunate to have our Chef Andrew produce such wonderful meals. It is the quiet season but with that comes the amazing storms and plenty of rain. Seeing the water... More 

Lane Cove, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

WOW! Thankyou Vicki for your amazing hospitality & magnificent stay at Heritage Lodge & Spa. My family & I thoroughly enjoyed your scrumptious breakfast & fantastic candlelight dinners, whilst sitting on the gorgeous deck, surrounded by the richness of the rainforest, overlooking Cooper Creek....it was pure bliss. Cabin was well equipped, extremely comfortable & set in a lush, tranquil environment.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
heritagelodge, Owner at Heritage Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

I hope your trip was safe and uneventful back home. As wonderful as it is to have such a great review, it is not only what the resort can offer but what the guests bring to the rainforest and it was a real delight to have you stay with us. Some guests might enjoy their stay but others such as... More 

Port Douglas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

We stayed at Heritage Lodge for three nights and didn't want to leave. The amount of birdlife is outstanding and I saw my first Cassowary! The surrounding rainforest just blew my mind away. The creek was a highlight, crystal clear water and a perfect way to cool off after sightseeing all day. Candelit dinner at the restaurant was amazing with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
heritagelodge, Owner at Heritage Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

I am so glad you were able to see your fist cassowary. Such an amazing prehistoric looking animal and so fearless. I never tire of seeing them and am in awe of such a magestic bird. I havent seen many over the last few months and wonder if it has been because of the lack of rain that we had... More 

Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

We were so looking forward to ths experience based on other reviews-we were so underwhelmed unfortunately : no water in the creek ( that can't be helped and nature takes it's course ) , there are many things that could have been dealt with....there is no spa, there were no night time walks , the walks through the rainforest were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
heritagelodge, Owner at Heritage Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Dear David. I am terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and I can fully understand your frustration with the works being carried out on the property, Unfortunately the car ports were being installed and it was a rush by the insurance Co. to have it done before Christmas. We had been waiting for this work... More 

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

Beautiful resort in a unique location. Caring staff and lovely owners. Plenty of wildlife: musky rat kangaroos (cute things really), Barney the bandicoot, cassowaries down the road, ulysses butterflies, turtles.. Recommend it to anyone. We had a memorable stay in the rainforest and hopefully we ll come back someday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

My husband and I spent a night at the Heritage Lodge and Spa near the end of our time in Australia. What a gorgeous little resort in an absolutely stunning location. The rainforest is like nothing we'd experienced before. We immediately felt incredibly relaxed on arrival at the resort. Our cabin was lovely - very quiet and we slept incredibly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities