We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Onetangi B&Bs / inns

Onetangi Beach Apartments

4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   5-7 Fourth Avenue | Onetangi Beach, Onetangi, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Onetangi Beach Apartments
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Onetangi Beach Apartments to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 1 Onetangi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Margaret J
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    44
    11
    9
    1
See reviews for
27
40
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (108)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Two types of apartments, The Strand are much classier than the older ones. In the older one the shower was very difficult to attain the correct temperature, also no view. Those that stayed in The Strand apartments were very happy. Would stay here again

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at Onetangi Beach Apartments for 2 nights in February 2015 for a wedding on Waiheke Island. The apartment was great, clean and tidy and the welcome we got from the girl on reception was delightful. However, for the price per night it would have been nice to have had say, a newspaper in the morning or even a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
onetanibeach, Manager at Onetangi Beach Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you very much we are very happy you had a wonderful stay with us and great time on Waiheke Island. Our rates are very much dictated by the accommodation market on Waiheke, but we will check your room for those items mentioned above and either add or up-date those items. Kind Regards and Thanks for posting! More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location. Downstairs unit in what looked the older block. Friendly host and welcome..thank you Lyn...Plenty of hot water; no aircon but you get what you pay for and still comfortable in the middle of a hot summer. Rooms clean and well serviced. Mugs were soiled after dishwasher cleaning so maybe that needs a look at. Reasonably priced for Waiheke... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I should have paid more attention to trip advisor feedback. We experienced the same disappointment with initial room. Complex has older apartments called Onetangi and newer apartments called the Stand. Beachfront, 2 bedd in Onetangi was NOT beachfront. Broken remote for TV, no air con, stuffy rooms, broken hot water system, broken jug, washing machine shrunk our clothes by switching... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

We stayed here for a family birthday. Was very disappointed. The rooms were poorly kept (dirty floors, walls and bathroom). Dishes dirty looked as though they had been used and put back in cupboards and drawers without any washing. No air conditioning and rooms were stifling hot due to poor natural air flow. To top it off, the room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015 via mobile

Nice place, very close to the beach and two restaurants wish made it a very pleasant stay. But there is no air conditioning or fan and it was a very hot night so not comfortable. Note that the wifi is normally charged for ($10/d) but we were told we could have it for free as it wasn't very reliable. However... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
onetanibeach, Manager at Onetangi Beach Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Andrew, Thank you for your feed-back and I am happy you had great weather - it has been a gorgeoiuos summer so far! My apologies you didn't have a fan in your room, the beachfront apartments all have fans and the Strand apartments. The courtyard apartments don't ALL have fans but are available on request from reception. Our WiFi,... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

We stayed in the Onetangi Beach Apartments for a family birthday. Overall, the apartment we stayed in provided a very generous amount of space with a great view of the water and a lovely balcony to enjoy the view from. The complex is right across the road from the beach, and walking distance to cafes, so it's a great location.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Suva, Fiji
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

We enjoyed a lot our stay at Onetangi beach apartments. I agree with other reviewers that the rooms would benefit from some renovation, but the facilities provide a good value for Waiheke standards - and given the amazing location. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Bed was comfortable and the kitchen well equipped. Would definitely consider staying again should we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

Can't beat the location, so close to the beach and two options for dining out as well as kitchen facilities in the apartment. Very comfortable bed and decent pillows. Only glitch was no access to the All Blacks game on SKY. I am sure after half of our group complained (we had booked 7 apartments) that won't happen again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
onetanibeach, Manager at Onetangi Beach Apartments, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for your review. You are correct - we hope this never happens again and we were terribly embarrased by it. SKY did say it was a technical error on their behalf, so I trust it will not be made again. More 

principal@campbellsbay.school.nz
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

Excellent location in terms of beach access and close to a couple of okay cafés - bars. A 15 minute drive from the ferry - not a cheap taxi ride but it is on the bus route. Room was a bit dated - could generally have done with a spruce up. Not many Sky channels and no access to All... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
onetanibeach, Manager at Onetangi Beach Apartments, responded to this review

Hi there, My sincere apologies you and some other members of your group missed the All Blacks game this past weekend! We have no idea what happened I'm afraid. SKY explanied it was a technical error but that was all. Some of our apartments are currently under-going a bit of a revamp, including new paint and a new kitchen in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Onetangi Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onetangi Beach Apartments

Address: 5-7 Fourth Avenue | Onetangi Beach, Onetangi, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island > Onetangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Onetangi Beach Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Onetangi Beach Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onetangi Beach Apartments Hotel Waiheke Island

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay