We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Upton Bishop B&Bs / inns

May Hill View

Save
You added May Hill View to your Saves list
Lower Rylands, Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye HR9 7UA, England
Hotel amenities
May Hill View
Ranked #1 of 1 Upton Bishop B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Upton Bishop
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (27)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at May Hill View for two nights in April. We chose it because of its location and because it was advertised as having a lovely pool. Unfortunately we were quite disappointed in our stay for several reasons: 1. The pool. Myself being pregnant and with a toddler, we were really looking forward to using it. BE WARNED: Unfortunately... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
LadyLarge, Owner at May Hill View, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a long report... If is always helpful to have different opinions however, just to clarify .... 1. The pool is usually between 28/30 degrees but I notice you chose not to swim. A small one off charge is made to cover running costs as the accommodation tariff does not include use... More 

London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed in May Hill View last weekend and were so fortunate with temperatures of 20 degrees - and we thoroughly enjoyed walking in the meadow with Elaine's (the owner) adorable dogs Coco and Louis. This time we spent an enjoyable afternoon biking in the forest which is a 10 minute drive away, and enjoyed walks in th surrounding countryside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LadyLarge, Owner at May Hill View, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review.... More 

Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Spacious apartment with splendid views of the countryside. Well equipped.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Thank you for your review of May Hill View.... Hope to see you again on your next trip to this beautiful area. More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

A really lovely flat in a beautiful part of the country. Elaine made us feel very welcome and was very accommodating to our needs with a young baby. Having access to the pool and hottub was a welcomed treat even though there was a small surcharge. Would definitely recommend to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Thank you for your review of May Hill View... It was a pleasure to meet you both and your beautiful little girl. More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the self catering bit of this place. The absolutely undisputed best thing is the super luxurious pool and hot tub facilities. They cost £7.50 pp (2012) for your stay but well worth it. Fab warm 10m pool with toys and raindrop showers for afterwards. Hot tub outdoors with gorgeous view. Could have sat there all day and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LadyLarge, Owner at May Hill View, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing May Hill View for your weekend getaway and for your review. So happy to hear you enjoyed the pool and hot tub ... The facilities are always so very popular! More 

cambridge
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We had a wonderful time at May Hill View over the Easter holidays. Consistent with the other reviews, I can report that Elaine was very welcoming, and our two children rapidly made friends with her dogs and were happy roaming around her large garden, swinging on the swing and kicking a ball around. The flat is small but fine for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LadyLarge, Owner at May Hill View, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of May Hill View... and for sending the lovely photograph of your daughter swinging under the cherry blossom in the garden. More 

Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We recently had a long weekend (3 nights) at May Hill View to celebrate a special birthday and found both the location and accommodation perfect for our requirements. Three adults and my sisters dog "Blue" stayed in the flat and my daughter and son in law stayed in the bed and breakfast in the house. We found May Hill View... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LadyLarge, Owner at May Hill View, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind comments. It was a pleasure to have you all staying at May Hill View for the special birthday weekend and you were so lucky with the weather too! Hopefully you will have some lovely photos of ducks in the hot tub and maybe even a Houdini style story to tell!!! Would be a delight... More 

Worcestershire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Lovely welcome from the very friendly owner Cottage is very tiny, but spotless and well looked after Lovely shower room with electric shower. Unlimited heating Steep stairs up to cottage. Kitchen is only a side of the lounge, a lot, lot smaller than it looks on the pics TV is tiny, we had to move the sofa to within a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LadyLarge, Owner at May Hill View, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review on your stay at May Hill View. I like to encourage both B&B and Self Catering guests to give feedback – preferably whilst here giving me opportunity to address any issues immediately – but also post visit as in your case which then enables future guests to make their own judgement... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed for 1 night during half term week as we wanted to see the Severn bore and chose May Hill View as it was recommended by a link from the Severn Bore website. Great place to stay, Elaine goes out of her way to make you feel welcome and the accommodation is very clean, pleasant and quaint. We were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LadyLarge, Owner at May Hill View, responded to this review

Thank you Russell for taking the time to write such lovely comments in your review of May Hill View. A short visit as you say-but it was a pleasure to meet you all.... Hopefully you may return one day - you still have to try the hot tub!! Best wishes More 

Liskeard, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights in the self catering option. We had a fun packed week of adventures and loved coming back to our home for the week. Elaine was very welcoming and gave us everything we wanted. The location was great for walking our collie 'Rolo' with an average 15 minutes drive to the forestry commission.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LadyLarge, Owner at May Hill View, responded to this review

Thank you for the review - so glad you and Rolo enjoyed your stay here. ps The earring - found in the Jacuzzi - is on its way !! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to May Hill View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May Hill View

Address: Lower Rylands, Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye HR9 7UA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Upton Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

18 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay