We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Treebones Resort

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hotel website
71895 Highway #1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Special Offer
It's easy to be GREEN!
Treebones Resort
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    163
    44
    24
    14
See reviews for
67
351
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (565)
  • Mar-May only
    (129)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (171)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (165)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (100)
All months
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I came to Treebones for the first time back in 2010 or 11. It was one of the best vacations I've ever had (and I travel frequently). Obviously, they made the best use of the land that they could, but knowing this, if you're looking for a more serene and quiet experience, make sure you check out the map of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had an overall great stay here. We booked late, so were only able to secure a campsite. The sites are beautiful, and we enjoyed the first night of camping. However, due to a heavy storm coming the next day, I asked if there were any cancellations for yurts, and luckily there was. We stayed in a yurt our second... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MrsTreebones, Owner at Treebones Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent visit, so glad to hear you loved the accommodations, amazing views and location and glad you plan to visit again :) Yes! it's true, readers take note: "Come ready to UNPLUG!" (as we say on our website).... with the boundless Pacific Ocean in front and thousands of acres of coastal wilderness beside and behind -... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's really not fair to compare Treebones to traditional accommodations. The surroundings are absolutely stunning, but you knew that - this is Big Sur. Like many others, the first time I stayed a few years ago, when I was travelling with my mom and my 8-year old daughter, I balked at the idea of spending 250+ dollars on a "room"... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
MrsTreebones, Owner at Treebones Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your extensive review! you care! and your input will be helpful to others. Thank you for acknowledging the 'human touch' here..yes! we are a family and twenty two other employees who live here and work to offer a unique, off-the-grid glamping experience to travelers...we love what we do! Please visit us again. More 

Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited Treebones on a girls trip in March 2015. Two moms and 2 daughters. What a cool concept for accommodations - very unique experience and boasts tremendous views of the Pacific. Exceptional sushi bar - especially eating outdoors and watching for whales....and an all-around fun glamping experience. Nice pool area and cute gift shop. Really enjoyed looking at the stars... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Treebones, Manager at Treebones Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us a try. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the sushi bar, unique accommodations, and, of course, our spectacular views. We want to assure you that we are listening to your feedback, and are constantly making changes and improvements to better meet the needs of our guests. It is good for inquiring guests to consider... More 

Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First of all, Treebones has an absolutely beautiful view, high up over the Pacific, which in itself may be worth the price of admission. It's a very peaceful location, and at night the stars are incredibly clear and beautiful. I like the concept of the place as well--the yurts are cool, and I like that the place is eco-friendly. On... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MrsTreebones, Owner at Treebones Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for highlighting the great ocean views (we love it too!), the stars at night, the Eco-friendly intentions around all that we do. Yes! You caught us! we are vested in youth and have been training and employing some that are inexperienced at restaurant service. As owners who care about the 'next generation' it is a delicate balance -... More 

watsugirl
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here last night. For an expensive place , the service was terrible, the room had dried throw up just outside the door and the help was rude to uninterested. Breakfasts as awful With so many places to stay inBigSurin this price range, opt out of this one.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
MrsTreebones, Owner at Treebones Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us a try. Our glamping venue was not really your thing. ....we did try our best to make you happy! best wishes! More 

Berkeley, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Its a great concept hotel with the Yurts and its sustainable water and electricity..the grounds and the yurts are all lovely and well kept..but for $300 a night I expect a decent mattress. This mattress in room 11 was really uncomfortable, we complained after the first night and was told 'noted' well thats nice but dont you think at that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MrsTreebones, Owner at Treebones Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your appreciation for our Eco-sustainability and i am so glad you enjoyed the grounds and view. Your comment about our uncomfortable bed was 'more than noted'. ...we have on order all new mattresses..it takes a while to reach us! Happy travels. More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

I am totally in love with Treebones and already started spreading the love. We came here during Valentine's day weekend and this place was absolutely perfect in every way. Everything here is so magical, pure, and cozy. It was a complete zen compared to the city life we are used to. I know everyone raves about the yurts but we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Jose, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

What a great place!!! My wife picked Treebones for our annual Thanksgiving get away. One of the best we have ever done! Yurts were very comfortable, staff friendly and knowledgeable of the area. Sushi bar was to VERY good. Views, hiking were all great. We will go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

TreeBones is right in the heart of the Big Sur coast. Its draw is about 20-or-so yurts and some very quirky features like a constructed raised wooden cove which does totally look like a nest. Big Sur in general ain't cheap as there are so few accommodations allowed in the park, and its right on the best part of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Sushi bar(14)
  • Very nice(3)
  • Very clean(3)
  • Hot tub(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

450 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (444)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
View from room (51)
Viewed
Room/suite (67)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (89)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
2:40
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (197)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question