We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Big Sur Lodge

47225 Highway One, Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park, Big Sur, CA 93920
Big Sur Lodge
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    93
    155
    76
    34
    37
See reviews for
124
147
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (395)
  • Mar-May only
    (102)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (132)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (92)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (69)
All months
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
714 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

So I needed a coffee for the ride to San Francisco. I ordered an ice latte. The girl asked me what size so I ordered a medium. She made the latte and I said I ordered an ice latte. She says that only comes in large. The problem here is that she's running the ice cream and cafe but doesn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You will be dealing with state employees. If you arrive before the 4:00 check in time, too bad! No one checks in early. We got there at 2:00 and had to wait until 4:00 to check in and even then our room was't ready! There was also a heat wave and the room was very hot. We had to put... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest_Services_Inc, Guest Relations Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this review

Phy145- We are sorry if the service, check in time, and weather were not what you expected. Weather in Big Sur can be hot at times, and especially in August, so we are glad to hear that you had a fan in your room to help with the unexpected heat wave. As far as ants go, we hope that you... More 

Travelers are raving about these Big Sur hotels

San Francisco, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I wouldn't recommend this for anyone unless there are no better options available in the area. It's overpriced, in my opinion. The buildings are outdated and the service and aesthetics don't live up the the standards one would expect at this price range. In an area with spectacular views, the cabin architecture and location are poorly situated to take advantage... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest_Services_Inc, Guest Relations Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this review

Heather D-Thank you for staying at Big Sur Lodge. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the swimming pool and the spectacular views. We apologize if the service and aesthetics did not live up to your standards and expectations. We strive to please each and every guest. More 

Longboat Key, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For just $400 per night, you too can stay in a dated room with no AC that will be about 85 degrees when you enter, and after calling down to the front desk, beg for a fan, which may or may not come. they say they don't offer Wifi, because they want you to unplug, but the truth is Wifi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest_Services_Inc, Guest Relations Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this review

rodder645- We are very sorry that the accommodations and pricing at Big Sur Lodge did not meet your expectations and needs. Wi-Fi is an elective amenity at Big Sur Lodge because the majority of the guests do prefer to be unplugged from technology so as to maximize their outdoor experiences while on vacation here. We thank you for trying Big... More 

Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
222 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped at the store with a gift shop and restaurant inside just to purchase a Big Sur ornament which was around $25. They have snacks and drinks if your looking for quick snack along the PCH and a restroom. We looked around the redwoods and continued on.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest_Services_Inc, Guest Relations Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this review

JMRow-Thank you for stopping by the Big Sur Lodge Gift Shop and Restaurant along your road trip on the Pacific Coast Highway. We are happy to hear that you found an ornament that you liked! Thank you for recommending us to other travelers. Please stop by to see us again soon! More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful place, lodges very basic but scenery stunning. Maintenance not great - the pool is green and nobody seems to be fixing it! Not great for the kids to play in. Worth a visit though, breakfast is good although service in restaurant is a bit slow and finishes early.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Guest_Services_Inc, Guest Relations Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this review

Jraff101-Thank you for staying at Big Sur Lodge. We are happy that you liked the beautiful setting and enjoyed breakfast in our Restaurant. Our swimming pool is cleaned regularly and we hope you visit us again soon. More 

Minneapolis
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Okay, it's in Pfieffer State Park. The location is great. But come on, at $300+ per night you'd think they could invest a little in the rooms. Ours was a queen/twin (that was all that was available) which was a nice setup for a family of three. However, as others have noted, the rooms are quite basic. But they could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Guest_Services_Inc, Guest Relations Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this review

traveldiveski-Thank you for including Big Sur Lodge on your vacation down the California coast. We are glad that you liked our location in Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park and enjoyed dining in our Restaurant. We are sorry if the room condition and prices did not meet your expectations. Anytime you stay with us, please feel free to reach out to... More 

Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our family of five stayed here for 2 days on our travels through Big Sur. Yes, many people say that it is expensive, and it is. But unless you're camping, everything is. This is Big Sur, after all, with limited lodging, so really what do you expect? It's all about supply and demand, and with the lodging sold out for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest_Services_Inc, Guest Relations Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this review

AmishLou-Thank you for your lovely review! We are glad that you liked your room, your deck, the restaurant, the ice cream shop, your check in experience with Deborah, the hiking trails and our location in Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park. We look to seeing you and your family on your next visit. Please come see us again soon. More 

Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had to stay here for a friend's wedding. I was surprised that the rooms cost over $200, but like I said, I had to stay here. Check in is at 4pm and I tried to check in at 2:15pm but the front desk lady said 'no.' I pleaded with her for an earlier check in because I had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guest_Services_Inc, Guest Relations Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this review

ForrestHarper-Thank you for staying with us for your friend’s wedding weekend. We hope that your friend’s wedding was enjoyable. We are sorry that the pricing and room details did not meet your expectations. Check in is at 4 pm and check out is at 11 am. Big Sur Lodge has 62 rooms. Housekeeping cleans all rooms upon check out. On... More 

Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Expensive for what you really get. -I had terrible allergies; the carpet wasn't clean. -It was incredible hot in the room when we arrived and there was no air conditioner! But you have a fireplace.... ;) -Rude (really rude) staff. -Cellphone does not work there and they CHARGE $20 /DAY to use wi-fi. Can you believe that? you can find... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Guest_Services_Inc, Guest Relations Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this review

Emilia-We are disappointed to read your review. Please know that “rude staff” is totally unacceptable to us and we apologize for any unprofessionalism you experienced. We are sorry that the room and restaurant did not meet your needs and that your cell phone service did not work in this setting. A courtesy telephone is available at our Front Desk. Should... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

127 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (107)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
21.0 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,285 reviews
22.1 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 467 reviews
19.7 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 446 reviews
20.9 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#20 of 23 in Carmel
3.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities