We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Posada el Moro

2.5 of 5 Av. Javier Rojo Gomez | SM-2, M-5, L-17, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Posada el Moro
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Posada el Moro
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    68
    23
    8
    4
See reviews for
30
109
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (183)
  • Mar-May only
    (61)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (61)
All months
Seattle
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

While diving with Aquanauts we stayed in the town of Puerto Morelos at Posada el Moro. Central and quiet in town [2 blocks from the dive shop and the beach]. Our #14 room was quite large at $83USD/night [2 firm queen beds, full kitchen, 5 gallon fresh water dispenser] and the AC was spectacular [brrr!]. Slight negatives include the water... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Went there for the second time. First, forget about the free WiFi, last year, it was OK, this time, it is just not working at all! Second, their web site says free continental breakfast. Well, after 3 days there, they decided it was not free anymore, even if we payed for the full week in advance. Typical Mexican crooks. Now,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here a couple of months ago, we were here only for 2 nights and that was enough as we did not like. It’s a cheap place but sometimes is better to spend a little bit more and get a better experience… we were outside most of the time. The beds are not comfortable and rooms are small. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PomoElmoro, Owner at Posada el Moro, responded to this review

Dear Jeff C: Thanks for your time writing this review. I am sorry that you waited two months and hold that long your frustration of a bad experience in our hotel. We strive to offer a comfortable experience for our guests. Although, we use better than standard mattresses we have checked all of them for wearing and cleanness. We replaced... More 

Dugspur, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

We booked a one-night stay here on our way to the Grand Mayan in November. We arrived in the afternoon, exhausted and hungry. We checked in, and went down to their restaurant where we were graciously served cervicha and margaritas by our charming waiter, Leo. The room was clean and comfortable, pool and courtyard were lovely. Hotel is very near... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PomoElmoro, Owner at Posada el Moro, responded to this review

Dear Alenaluz: Thanks for your nice review of our hotel. If you check the Youtube and look for happy Puerto Morelos you will see Leo and rest of our staff doing a "fairly good dance" to the song. We all hope to see you again in Posada El Moro for your next vacation. Sincerely, Alejandro Morelos Hotel Posada El Moro More 

Madisonville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

First, I want to say I am hesitant to write this review. Puerto Morelos is a great little town that is starting to grow and a lot of the charm will likely evaporate with the growth. I am not excited to see that happen. My hesitation to recommend Posada el Moro is for the same reasons. I have been staying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

My wife and I were looking for a quiet place on the Caribbean, but near enough to city amenities. We chose the tiny fishing village of Puerto Morelos. I had been here before for diving and knew it was a hidden gem. The first hotel we chose was a disappointment, so we found Posado El Moro and moved. What a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brugherio, Italy
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for four nights. The place is clean and well located next to the main square. The room is spacious (I thought they gave us the junior suite for 900M$/night), AC, fan,fridge, hot water, sofa, wardrobe and a table&chair in the gallery. The style is simple and good looking. At the entrance you can find a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oakland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Puerto Morelos is an interesting place, so close to Cancun and its luxury resorts. Puerto Morelos is totally different, little town, very mexican with is plaza in the center of town, the church and the port...a mix of expas, tourists and locals. Small restaurants and bars and a nice beach ( not as great as Cancun or Tulum but still... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Richmond Hill, Georgia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Can't say enough good things about Hotel Posada el Moro. The staff is friendly and personable. Exceptionally clean and beautiful. The free continental breakfast is fresh fruit, toast and fresh juice. There is a full menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner, or any time you're ready to eat. Rooms are well furnished, comfortable, CLEAN and fresh. We made our hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Love this hotel mostly because of its quiet, clean rooms. Or maybe it's because of the beauty of the plants, flowers, and trees as you walk the grounds. Perhaps it's the lovely little pool area that provides a spot to chill and relax. Whatever it is, we love staying here and it's always difficult to leave.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Posada el Moro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada el Moro

Address: Av. Javier Rojo Gomez | SM-2, M-5, L-17, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada el Moro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Posada el Moro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada El Moro Hotel Puerto Morelos
Posada El Moro Puerto Morelos
Posada El Moro Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos

113 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (113)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (36)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay